We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A city centre gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We loved this hotel.Easy walk into the centre and very good facilities.Interesting buiding with a superb lift !
The manager was excellent as were all the staff.He though was totally on the ball and did everything he could to make the stay enjoyable.We ate in and both breakfast and dinner were good.
Rooms were clean and roomy.It was a pleasure to wind down here after a long flight.
Auckland we were less keen on.Take the boat to Devenport.Charming area with excellent dining and shops.Naval museum also worth a visit for those interested in WW1 and 2.Small but fascinating.
During our time in NZ we stayed in 3 chain hotels.Scenic, Rydges ,and Millennium.
Scenic was the best.Less corporate and more relaxing and friendly

Roger and Sara Mitchell

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is a great discovery. It is bright and airy. They made good use of the office building features when they turned this into a hotel. The staff are wonderful. The appliances and beds are first class. Be prepared for very noisy kids at night, but the noise does drift off as the night goes on. This hotel is in the heart of things, across from city hall, and we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach30Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arrived at hotel around 1.30am after flight from UK. Check in was quick and simple which was what we wanted. Room clean and spacious, bed excellent.
Easy to walk down into town. Lovely staff at breakfast which was perfectly cooked and reasonably priced for a hotel.
Some noise from street one night but surprisingly quiet location as our room overlooked the main street. We did have windows open too.
Stayed for 2 nights before collecting hire car

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTKT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for three nights in a standard studio on business - the rooms are a great layout, with the bedroom having double doors so you can seal off the kitchen/sitting area, modern furniture and fittings. The kitchenette had a microwave and a dish drawer so everything you need if you don't fancy eating out. Whilst the room was clean, it could have done with a quick dust just to spruce it up a bit.
My room was on the front and I have to say I did find it noisy on two out of the three nights I stayed - the disadvantage of a pretty art deco building is the lack of double glazing - however my colleagues had rooms on the back and they said they had a great nights sleep. There was very little noise from other residents so the sound proofing must be good.
The location is great - bang in the centre of town and just across the road from the civic - over all not a bad stay just take your ear plugs !

Room Tip: Try and get one at the back so you're not on Queen Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 day stay at the Scenic Hotel Auckland, great for my meetings as I was only a few blocks away from my meeting venues. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. However note to those who have trouble sleeping with noise around, it does get a little noisy especially during the weekend. Because of its great location I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kainga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for a couple of nights. Hotel is located centrally and has a nice atmosphere.
The rooms have a nice layout where the bedroom feels quite seperate from 'lounge'.
Rooms really modern, and it was nice to be able to open the windows!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandybfahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I found this Hotel to be in a good location decent price.
The reception were very friendly and so helpfull.
Rooms we're clean and had very thing you needed to look after your self.
The only thing missing for me was not having an area out side to be able to sit out in but don't let that stop you staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackos49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
832 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £79 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing