We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Used as a quick overnight stop in Auckland. Its very central location served us well and the Airbus stops right outside. Staff were polite, the room big and well equipped. Don't expect a 'scenic' view, though. Rooms aren't ready before 2pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissSunshine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment, not only does the airport bus stop outside but there is also a 'citylink' bus every few minutes that costs 50 cents and will have you down at the waterfront in just minutes. Excepting a few very busy days we accommodate the vast majority of early check ins we do prioritise those off long international flights. Thank you for your kind comments.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    452
    166
    49
    28
See reviews for
107
419
95
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having landed in Auckland from San Francisco, we arrived at the Scenic Hotel very early. Realising our room probably wouldn't be ready, we were prepared to leave our cases and head down to the Quayside. The reception staff could not have been more helpful, with advice about where to go and also promising to get the room ready as soon as possible. We returned to the hotel at 11am, having had breakfast down at the quayside. Our room was ready and our cases had already been taken up. Our room overlooked the main street, which later in the evening proved to be a bit noisy. In the kitchen area there was a microwave just in case you wanted to eat in as well as a fridge and the usual utensils. There was a double bed and a single, the double being separated from the lounge area by folding doors. The shower room was adequate. This was our base for 4 days as we had 2 full day trips booked for the Hobbiton Experience and the Coromandel Peninsular. One evening we had a couple of bottled beers which were rather expensive. On our final morning we had a lovely breakfast. Staff were exceptional, but the decor could do with a spruce up.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Main Street can be quite noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyposhpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments particularly around early check in, our team have focused on accommodating early check ins particularly those coming off long international flights so it's good to get some feedback.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is outdated and needs a makeover. It was just ok for the price and room, great for the location and very nice people at the front desk! We had a nice room, just outdated and extremely noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to comment. I am sorry you found the property to be outdated and noisy and thank you for your kind comment about our staff.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here before on my own before and found the place fine.Booking a so called twin room was quite a different experince. Room was small and pokey, TV on a table by the wall but to watch it you would have had to sit on the floor or the sink bench . Oh there was a very small table and chairs that looked like it had come out of a childrens playhouse that was just inside the door and almost on top of the small single bed .Got off to a bad stay when they insisted that the room be paid for on arrival and still swiped my credit card for incidentals . They can and need to do better than this as this lets down the great sevice we got in the bar and dinning room .

Room Tip: Ask what is meant by a twin Room( Shouldnt be a room they squeeze a single bed into)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to comment. I am sorry you were disappointed with that twin room layout. I understand your sentiment, because the heritage building is triangular in shape some rooms have quite quirky shapes. Twin rooms are in high demand particularly at week-ends but we are carefully monitoring feedback on that particlar layout even though there is only one on each floor. Your feedback is welcome, appreciated and useful in that regard.
Kind regards, Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Enjoyed my stay in a suite; standard of interior fitout is unremarkable but acceptable.
The kitchen fit-out was below expectation for a room advertising that capability.
Charging to use the lobby internet is not great, as this is usually free these days.
What influenced me to mark them as very good was the staff, who were very helpful in recommending restaurants, arranging cabs, handling bags, extra blanket, late check out, vallet parking etc.
Queen Street is noisy so ask for a room on the other side if one is available; especially Saturday night with club opposite.
Location is excellent as all the good shops are within a few minutes walk

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback it is most appreciated. Our wifi offering is always under review these days, Our current 1 hour free per day and just $10 for 24 hours seems generally acceptable. Thank you for your kind comments about our service team.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stay in this hotel a few times. As always room is super clean, staff is super helpful and friendly. Definitely coming back !!
The beds are amazing and the toiletries are fantastic.
Thank you to Jordan and his team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for such encouraging comments.
kind regards, Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have now found the hotel that I will be coming back to!
Me and my friend had a girls weekend and an absolute blast. The staff were always friendly and smiling which is rare being a younger age. The prejudice that comes along with being a younger customer is generally made very aware when I have booked in at other hotels however the lovely lady that was on the reception desk late Anzac Friday afternoon (unfortunately I didn't get her name) was very welcoming, friendly and made us feel comfortable.
The room was spacious, clean and a great layout. I've paid a lot more for rooms at 'higher end' hotels on the viaduct that didn't even come close to the quality and comfort of the studio apartment at The Scenic. Plus the Valet parking was cheap, quick and easy!
Me and my family all have upcoming events in Auckland throughout the year and after my recent stay we will all be booking our accommodation here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing