We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Bombay, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were very happy with everything about this Hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly on arrival and only too happy to answer our questions and help out. Although the rooms could do with a bit of a maintenance tidy up (ie window latches need tending to and the wardrobe door needs tending to). The room was very clean and comfortable and the provisions supplied were of good quality and sufficient. We would definitely recommend, and have done already, this hotel as a good place to stay in Auckland. We were also very impressed with the Valet parking service and the rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereseTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for commenting, we really appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    453
    166
    49
    28
See reviews for
107
419
95
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very much enjoyed the layout to the room, and the atmosphere inside the room was great! Food and drink were average, nothing to write home about but certainly nothing to complain about either provided you enjoy whats on offer - menu could be a little more extensive.Parking is a pain here, to even unload you have to fight for a park or park in the bus stop, some of the hallway interior is old, reception staff know their job well, resturant staff vary with some not even knowing what type of bourbon was on shelf, or what fish of the day was. But I would come back, and possibly eat out after catching a Taxi to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karepa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to comment with encouraging remarks
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Scenic Hotel, staying in Room 711 on the Queen St side. The decor and furnishings were in very good order, except the melamine - it's time for that to be replaced. The space around the double bed in the separate bedroom was tight but just about ok. The bathroom was spacious and the shower worked a treat. For me, a good shower is vital for a good stay!
The original aluminium windows are ok and add a bit of charm, if a bit draughty, but I think they should be restored. The room was very practical, with couch and armchair, occasional table and dining table. We also got a good view of the Sky Tower from our room. Our stay offered good value for money at $139 for 3 adults on wotif. We had cooked breakfast at the MLC Cafe which we very much enjoyed. We had no issues with the valet parking and was reasonably priced at $20 for the night. All in all it was a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingkiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you, we appreciate your generous comments.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is well situated to be a base to attend events - just over the road from the Auckland Town Hall, near the Aotea Centre, Civic Theatre, Auckland Art Gallery and more! With good spacious rooms, and friendly staff, I have stayed here before, and will again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

it was a nice surprise to find I had been given a large room with mini kitchen, lounge furniture plus work table after booking a small studio at a bargain price on Booking.com. The bed was amazingly comfortable - there was a soft fluffy underlay on the mattress, very snuggly. The room was nicely furnished and really clean. I loved the position with Aotea Square and the Civic over the road. The only drawback was the carpet which had worn badly from bedroom into bathroom - there were sharp bits exposed (maybe the staples holding carpet down?) and I had to put the bathmat over the door entry to protect my feet. You got one hour free wiFi each day - such a shame as meant I had to wander down the road to café to work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked a studio double room via Agoda. Room rate was good value at $NZ129 compared to other 4 star Auckland hotels. Hotel location is excellent for business trips being at the top end of Queen St and with easy motorway access. I arrived at 5pm in a car with no obvious place to park. There is in fact a loading zone for the hotel immediately after the bus stop (which finishes by the hotels front doors). This area is marked out with the same yellow road markings as the bus stop so on first glance in rush hour traffic it looks like a no go zone. Staff (front of house and restaurant) were professional and helpful. For an extra $20 they parked the car for the night.
The building is dated and the infrastructure is tired. That said the hotel was clean and tidy. My room was on the 8th floor. Unfortunately it was facing a construction site where they were pile drilling from 7am to 6:30pm, no way that single glazed windows could keep that noise out. The upside was little street noise during the night. The room had a good sized lounge, kitchenette in the passageway, large bathroom, with a rather odd almost cupboard space for the standard size double bed. While the bathroom had space the shower cubicle was one of those space saving corner types which can be claustrophobic for large people and definitely a challenge if you drop the soap! The basin water pressure was barely sufficient to keep a blade razor clean.
The kitchen fridge had been switched off long enough for it to have de-iced into a wet puddle in the bottom tray. I'm guessing that was an accident probably due to the power switch being unmarked and in the same switch cluster as the electric jug.
The hotel was a good price, clean, and good staff ... but has a dowdy and tired vibe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
566 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in total, 2 on arrival in Auckland and 1 en route to Bay of Island 2 weeks later.
The hotel is in an iconic Art Deco building and is very well located - the airport express bus stops right outside. All main attractions and eateries are all within walking distance.
The rooms are compact but well equipped. The shower worked very well and the products provided of high quality.
Our first stay was mid-week and as we always travel with earplugs the street noise was just about acceptable. However, our second stay was on a Saturday night and even with earplugs the noise from the street prevented us from sleeping. I mentioned this on check out and the receptionist said there were plans to install double glazing in the future. I would have marked the hotel higher but for this problem.
Also on our second stay there was a problem with water supply and we were without water for an hour and without hot water for a bit longer. As recompense the hotel provided us with complimentary breakfast the next morning.
The hotel offer valet parking for $20 but here is a tip if you are staying on a Saturday night several parking meters around the hotel offer free parking from 6pm on Saturday and all day Sunday. Just check the meters they will have this clearly stated on them.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may suffer less street noise but take ear plugs anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to comment, I am sure others will find your comments useful.
kind regards Ken
ps not only does the Airport Express stop right outside there is also a very good inner city bus service that can get you to the waterfront and other places of interest for just 50 cents
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing