We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, spacious room, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
new zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good location, spacious room, friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

At the top of Queen Street, opposite Tanuki's Cave (great Japanese food!). Bus stop to airport directly outside; bus stop to britomart across the road.

Easy check in/check out process. I had a 'lightwell' room so no view but perfect if you are out all day. Layout of the room was a bit odd, so every evening I rearranged the furniture to watch TV. Bathroom is pretty tiny and not really much space for women to store their makeup, toiletries, GHD's etc.

Staff were friendly and polite. I rang down to Reception to borrow an iphone charger but they didn't have one which was kind of suprising but no big deal.

Would definitely stay again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, the Lightwell rooms are great value if you don't need a view.
We agree, Tanuki's is great fun and food...........Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    461
    171
    50
    29
See reviews for
108
425
96
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Picked it for the location and for that it was great, our preferred restaurant and the comedy club for which we were booked right across the road. A stay at the hotel nearly an equivalent cost to that of a taxi from our home out West to the city and back which is why we opted to stay, a nite out. A nice enough room and amenities and efficient pleasant staff but as it turned out the room was above a night club which when the partrons spilled out onto the street (all the time to smoke I gather) were vocal till 5.30am. Then it didn't help the local big ben clock chimmed nearly every hour form around 7am making for the worst nite sleep in sometime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_Liza0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Sorry you were disturbed by street noise and the Town Hall Clock, it does as you mention kick off with its first chime at 7am. Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a good stay the only hassle is filling out a review like this one that requires two hundred characters minimum. Not many reviews get the check boxes I filled out so in future my first comment of 'easy no hassle stay' should actually be enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Lester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment, most appreciated, kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed at the Scenic hotel several times and are always pleased in our selection. We consider the hotel to be great value for money. The shoppers delight which we have purchased several times is particularly great value. The welcome is always warm and the beds are always comfortable. The location of the hotel is second to none especially if you are planning
such activities as a night at the opera, the civic, catching the bus to an AB test, or any other Auckland activity. The Scenic is our first choice when visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichVirg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and shared your comments, many thanks, kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel rooms and beds are comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms on the Queen Street side can be a bit noisy, but I guess that's what you expect in the middle of the city. I stay here every time I'm on business in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to review, Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice hotel for the price and especially considering the location. Staff were also very helpful and pleasant. Was tidy and clean, and overall pleasant to stay in.

Also support the Kakapo Recovery which is a great cause, and any hotel with kakapos in the reception is a great tick in my book. Missed out on enjoying the 'Sirocco Sundae' due to time, will definitely try it next time though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review, we love helping kakapo recovery it's our favourite thing.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Scenic Hotel met my needs while staying in Auckland on business. The room was tidy and clean. Suggestion that the shower could do with an upgrade, water trickled out. Didn't enjoy the breakfast or dinner, but the service was friendly and timely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breen1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for reviewing, sorry about your shower, they are always hot and powerful so we are not sure what happened in your case, sorry though. Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing