We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Rotorua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stay at this hotel quite often. Really convenient on Queen Street and excellent value for money. Rooms are a good size and good condition. Check in & out efficient and friendly. There is a good variety for breakfast. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotoruaWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for your generous comments and taking the trouble to post a review.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    469
    172
    50
    32
See reviews for
109
433
98
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great room for price and very friendly reception team that exceeded my expectation. I will certainly look to stay at the hotel again. I was traveling alone this trip and only wanted a small room. Will look at it again next time wanting to be in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing, our Lightwell rooms are really good value and very comfortable if you do not require a view. Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had to move room as air conditioning not working at all and the next room we were allocated was just as bad. I woke in the middle of the night with the worst headache (felt it was too late to request yet another room change!) We felt hot and uncomfortable the next morning and still with a headache as room so hot.. Told reception on checking out who said would look into it, but I seriously think the aircnditioning needs a huge revamp. This is a shame as it definitely effects my rating of this hotel.

Service other than that was generally good, but we would not be in a hurry to return.

This is my second stay with a Scenic Hotel having stayed in scenic Hotel in Tonga only last month, so was a quite disappointed with the room.

Other than that the platter for dinner and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Check that airconditioning working properly before going to bed at night as would be hard to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment. I'm unsure why you did not switch off the air con if it was too hot but anyway I apologise that you had a problem with it. We have an expensive comprehensive maintenance contract so it's disappointing for us to have you experience this issue.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel, I have to say the service by the staff and Scenic have been awesome, I actually checked in earlier than expected and they were nice enough to let me check in to my hotel room in the morning even though check in is usually 2pm, not to mention getting upgraded!
The rooms were clean and well maintained, each day the room was cleaned by the great housekeeping staff at Scenic, dishes washed, fresh towels.
My room was facing bustling Queen Street, so you do get the odd city noises from the traffic below, but that usually dies down later in the night.
I visit Auckland CBD a few times each year so I think I have finally found my "Home away from home" Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kainga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you.
kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed last saturday night for just the one night, Hotel was great, nice friendly helpful staff, valet parking - great package price (shoppers package) inc breakfast and valet parking overnight. Room was nice and spacious, a few things looked a little tired - some furniture and damaged basin in bathroom but everything worked well, and im only being picky - very comfy bed and all was clean and tidy. perfect for one night stay, we were above a bar on the wakefield st side and it was very very noisy in the early hours of the night (3 am wake up!) Im sure this would not be the case other nights of the week, and to be honest for the convenience of staying on queen street you have to expect night noise on a saturday. For the price we paid I was very impressed with this hotel and would stay again. Great restaurant for breakfast and dinner menu looked good, will eat there next time.

Room Tip: higher floor probably would have less noise and being on queen st side better possibly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments please accept my apology that you were disturbed by noise, this should not happen and I have reported it to the local authority, there are strict rules about noise disturbances after 10pm.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our stay at scenic Auckland was only for one night but in that single night we experienced the friendliest customer service. Great value with the shoppers delight special and a delicious buffet breakfast in the morning! The only downside was that we had planned a night out at the viaduct and had to make the lengthy walk down queestreet. But this can be avoided by the many man bikes, busses or taxis. All in all 9/10

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loratheexplorer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you, so pleased you enjoy your stay. As well as the airport bus stopping right outside our door there is a very frequent bus service to the waterfront.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

At downtown location with easy accessing to airport bus at front entrance, good spaceous room and clean very helpful team service if you asked for. A great valued of quality room for business or family stayed in city.

Room Tip: Airport bus stopped in front of Hotel entrance, very convenient accessing check in., rooms are space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review.
kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing