We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close and convenient to central Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close and convenient to central Auckland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

My partner and I booked this hotel on lastminute.com. I have to say, the pictures on-line give a different impression, as the façade of the building is a little tired, although inside, and the rooms, are perfectly fine. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the valet parking was very quick and efficient, and not overly pricey. The room itself was excellent, with an equipped kitchenette which we found very useful. Room service was handy after getting back at an ungodly hour of the morning, and although there was a problem with the food, this was rectified with a free meal at the restaurant in a genuine attempt to make amends. We had just got off the plane from London and driven straight to the hotel, which was very easy to find on Queen Street, and the very comfortable bed was welcoming after such a journey. Make sure you pack your shower get however, as the free little organic containers (which we loved) don't seem to be replaced! Bear in mind however, that the local authority seems to enjoy emptying skips behind the hotel early mornings - they were close to having kitchenette items fired at them out of the window, although nothing you can fault the hotel for! I had an opportunity to use the fitness equipment, which, whilst just a few items in a tiny room, was perfectly adequate and gave me an opportunity to stretch my legs! For a stress free stay in Auckland, good price and bang in the central city, we can recommend this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Condolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    453
    166
    49
    28
See reviews for
107
419
95
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Very convenient location, within walking distance of the Sky Tower and the central area. Room was clean and had kitchen facilities. Staff was very friendly and responded to email quickly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I stayed at the Scenic hotel for 6 nights in Feb 2011. My room was spacious with a separate lounge area. Hotel was very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated a short walk from the sky tower and 20 mins walk down Queen Street to the Harbour front.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

I've never had such a bad experience that ive taken the time to write one of these reviews.

We booked the penthouse for a low key hens night, we called "3 times" prior to the date to check we had the right room as it was essential we had the space.
We get there - and nope, we had the wrong room. it was too small for us we ended up going out - not a good start to what should be a fun night.
we tried to change, but the hotel was booked out and the room we actually booked was "given" to someone else because their room was mucked up as well!! go figure!

anyway we try to get on with the night...the toilet is broken! we call reception 3 times to have it fixed...yup you probably guessed it - no one came! dun duuuun!

now here goes the grand finale....the next morning we had a domestic flight to catch at midday, so needed to leave by 11 at the latest. my sis in law was at the desk by 10am asked for our car (valet service) ...this was what i call "ask #1"
we come down from our room 20 min later, no car - this is when "ask #2" happens.
2 cars that arent ours pull up, here goes "ask #3" and they assure us its coming!
at about 1050 we're angry! after expressing our frustration with the female behind the desk she discovers something baffling! - our keys were behind the desk the whooole time! nope - noone was ever getting our car!
so finally by the time we get the car and keep to the speed limit to the airport, we miss the flight check in time by 6 minutes!!!! (if you know jetstar, you know they dont make exceptions to late travellers)
we tried for weeks to get some sort of compensation from Scenic, the manager was in no way helpful at all! in the end said he couldnt do anything for us!

digusting service, incompetent staff and management is just bottom of the barrell hopeless.

Lesson learnt - DONT EVER STAY HERE

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank huta02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

The hotel looks like nothing special from the outside but once inside, great reception, excellent spacious modern rooms. The toiletries are top quality and lots of extra little touches. Only rated the sleep quality as poor as we had a fire alarm at 2am and had to evacuate (false alarm)! Well handled by the hotel and we'd rather be safe than sorry! The hotel provided complimentary fresh muffins and scones the next morning which was a really nice gesture. The location is great for central Auckland and i would definitlely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

The location of this hotel is very good. Right in the heart of Auckland.

The rooms however could be a part of the movie Gullivers Travels. Everything is made for dwarfs.

Also pretty noisy from the streets. There were parties until 4am.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Bought a "Take a break" package from the hotel website that cost was NZD199.

It included "choice of Villa Maria Sauvignon Blanc or Pinot Noir on arrival" - we decided to have the wine for dinner. At dinner time, the waitress told us we had a choice of a Sauv Blanc or Chardonnay. We told her we wanted a red to pair it with our food but she said those were the only choices. After some discussion, she finally gave us a bottle of red

"$80 in-house food credit" - we had the roast pork, and char-grilled eye fillet. The pork was not tender, the eye fillet was. Unfortunately, both dishes had the same sauce poured over it with bok choy, kumara chips, fibrous parsnip scattered all over.

"late checkout of 2pm" - when we checked out, the front desk staff wanted to charge us for an extra fee until we pointed out that our package included a late check out.

The reasonable-sized room faced the back street and therefore, was quiet. The glasses in the bathroom had lip marks on it. The mattress was comfortable and pillows were soft.

The air-conditioning in the fitness center didn't work. Therefore, it was hot & stuffy to work out in that room.

We just couldn't help but notice a really bad stench (stale urine) in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookeatdrinktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing