We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here last weekend to go to a concert and included a shopping weekend. Had a lovely refurbished room on the 10th floor, with a view over some of the city. Staff were very approachable and helpful. They suggested a day spa we could go to which was just lovely. The hotel was beautiful, with an atrium bar on one level which served the most delicious butter chicken pizza! Staff showed us a tunnel which runs from the hotel basement straight through to Aotea Square - only took a couple of mins to get there. Three hours free internet access each day available. All in all, a beautiful hotel in a great location. Would definitely stay here again if I go back to Auckland.

Room Tip: Based on reading Trip Advisor reviews before I booked, I requested a 10th floor room - up very high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    1,745
    487
    151
    70
See reviews for
704
1,662
264
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Reasonably Central, Quite location, good sized rooms.
Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here a total of 6 nights before, during and after a tour. They were very helpful in helping us locate our missing luggage and repeatedly contacting the airline to update us with progress reports. The renovated rooms were lovely. The older ones were nice. The bathrooms were lovely and large. They advertise having safes in the rooms in the literature but it is apparently only some of the newer rooms that have them.
We had some lovely meals in the restaurant, although prices (as with all meals in hotel in New Zealand) were pricey.
The pool was unavailable most of the time we stayed there, but I believe they finally got it open again.
The only complaint I would have is about the internet access. They advertise free access in the "business centre". There were only three computers in there at the time I was there, and two of them were not working. So there was often a line of people waiting to use them. Also there seemed to be some issues with the 15 minute logins that they handed out. Sometimes they did not work properly and people had to keep running back to the reception desk to get them extended or to get help. So it was somewhat of a frustrating experience.
The staff was great though, very friendly and helpful and very glad when they were able to work out problem situations..
Excellent location--walking distance to a lot of sights

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I can't believe this - I have to ring up to get a special code for three hours' internet use every time I want to use the internet. And they don't always answer the phone. This is 2012, people! And I have to get a separate code for each device... apparently you're only allowed three hours total in any day, as well.

I could go on about other issues, but that's enough moaning for one day. Suffice to say I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We first stayed here 12 years ago but last month (March) was the first time since it was rebranded as The Rendezvous. We had booked last minute online and arrived a few hours later.
Our work involves frequent travel, mostly domestic, so we experience a variety of travel accommodation and we have to say The Rendezvous was an absolute pleasure to stay in.
Pros:
Service – from the genuine welcome by ?Esay at check in who patiently looked for a room that suited our needs (quiet, spacious, nice views) to the friendly professional porter who trekked through the hotel with our luggage as we switched from one room to another.
Staff were customer driven – great can do attitude – nothing was too much trouble.
Price – variety of prices and packages. We opted for the best available rate which was the same as a cold damp noisy roadside motel in Orewa that we stayed in the previous night! I know where I'd rather stay!
Room – Fabulous clean modern spacious room with floor to ceiling windows (you can open one of them too for real air) 2 double beds, flat screen TV, well stocked mini bar with decent prices and good selection of teas & coffee.
We were on 11th floor, with views to the SE. The bathroom was big and sparkling with separate shower and bath, granite sink tops, complimentary shampoo and so on, even had one of those quaint pull out washing lines above the bath – cute! No noise from the street or hotel guests – had best nights sleep with the most comfortable hotel beds we’ve had in a long while.
Parking – super convenient self parking ($15 daily) in undercover park building that had interconnecting door into the hotel lobby.
Perfect location – steps away from CBD activities, shopping and restaurants etc.
Meals – Buffet breakfast $31 pricey but we decided to stay another night and invite some friends to join us for my birthday! The buffet table had great variety of food was constantly being replenished and waiters very attentive.
We ate both nights in the Japanese restaurant – fabulous food and service – the bento boxes are hard to beat.
Unfortunately we were pretty busy working too so never even got a chance to check out the pool & gym but will do next time.
Cons:
Bacon not very nice but the guests still eat it!
Once you figure out the Wi-Fi use its OK, its still 3 hours free daily with new code from front desk issued each day. Or use an iPhone so that hotel internet use is a thing of the past!

Overall the Rendezvous do a fine job – sure you can’t please everyone – but when you travel about and put up with accommodations that really make you want to wrinkle up your nose, it’s good to know that there is a Hotel like the Rendezvous that is able to offer a good experience. We will be staying again – friends have already stayed on our recommendation and hope to stay again too.

Room Tip: 11th floor on south side very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baliliz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was my third trip to Auckland and I selected this place. Very close to all the places i had left to see. The service was great and helpful.

Room Tip: There is a several walk ways to the hotel- so very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yippeimgoinngonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed for two nights. We arrived at 8:00 am and they told us our room would be ready by 1pm, and they stored our luggage. We arrived back at 1pm and the room was ready as promised but it was a smoking room. They switched us no problem to a non-smoking room.

They have a peculiar system with the Internet where you ask them for a wifi code and they give it to you for free for 3 hours. There does not seem to be a limit on how many codes you can get, it is just annoying because you have to go to reception each time. However, the free Internet was highly appreciated :-)

The hotel room was about the size of a 'normal' hotel room in the US. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel over similarly priced nearby hotels was the excellent bathroom with a full shower and a separate bath tub. It was really nice especially after our trans-Pacific flight.

The hotel was easy walking distance from everything in the CBD and we even walked to Mt. Eden from our hotel which is well worth the trip on a nice day.

We enjoyed the pool and fitness center as well.

Room Tip: Ask for as high as possible for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing