We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a Rendezvous which was Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ravenshoe, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We had a Rendezvous which was Grand”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Our second visit to this hotel, we enjoyed our first visit just on a year ago and enjoyed our last visit even more...this is a lovely comfortable hotel...we had an Executive Suite again...spacious clean and very comfortable...
The staff are excellent right through this hotel down to Kevin the Doorman who always has a welcoming smile and is a bit of an icon...so essential in this world where persoanl service tends be something of the past.
The downside...the view from our suite was of planters with dead plants and a glimpse of the city, restoration work is going on, it all takes time, we hardly sat and stared out the windows all day...oh and those lucky enough to have a Balcony Suite...never saw a soul sitting out there either, lets get real, it is a lovely hotel with friendly staff and we cannot wait until we return later in 2013, thank you Rendezvous for a very pleasant stay...
The Club Lounge was our biggest disapointment, superb view but service and Canapes were almost non existant and very ordinary...not good when an employee says she does not know what she is doing...sorry!
Of course we recommend this hotel, we love it...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allan_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear allan_don,

Thank you for your return patronage to Rendezvous Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write your review on your most recent experience. Our Suites are some of the very best in the city and after the recent renovation have really lifted, the feature we have focussed much of our energies on is our team and we are very pleased that you found them excellent and friendly. Kevin our Doorman has been with us for many years, you are right when you describe him as an icon, he loves seeing our regular guests and new guests coming into the hotel. We really look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand in 2013, please do send us a note and we can ensure you are placed in a Balcony Suite, we trust you will like the changes we have made in Club Lounge following yours and the other reviewer above feedback on canapés.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    1,782
    495
    154
    72
See reviews for
715
1,704
268
979
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Nice staff and friendly service, had issues with room keys late at night and had to go back down to reception to get them sorted, a very eco friendly hotel, requires room key for lights/power operation. Worst thing was the view as we were put in a room facing the datacom building

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shariza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Shariza

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel and for choosing us on your recent visit to Auckland. We were pleased that you found our team friendly; they will be delighted to read your comment. I would like to apologise to you for the inconvenience with the room keys, cell phones and other static devices can at times remove the encoding. I note your comments on the view, this is our quietest side of the hotel away from any road, should you be with us again please do mention this and our team can accommodate a City View.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 6 times this year already, it is great for my needs, try not to get a twin room though as there is no work desk which makes it more difficult for business workers. Cleaniess is good and recent refurb is very nice. Pool is a little bit on the cool side and a spa pool would be a good improvement! Other than that a fantastic hotel and i will be back!

Would be nice if they recognise frequent guests though, you think that after many times year they would recognise your details particuallly when most visits were 5+ days

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZL_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear guesswho1100,

Thank you very much for your regular patronage of Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we realise you have a choice and do wish to value your custom. Frankly I am embarrassed that we have not picked up on your 6 stays already this year, obviously our reservations and front desk teams have missed the mark as far as this is concerned and I wish to apologise. Thank you also for taking the time to write this review which highlight the fact that we have failed to recognise you, thank you also for your comments on our refurbished rooms. Recently we did have some issues with our pool being too cold, I can now confirm the temperature is at a minimum 28 degrees which is considered the benchmark for comfort.

Thank you once again and I would respectfully request that you email: reservations.auckland@rendezvoushotels.com with a request to forward to me and I can ensure we link your profiles and place notes with regard to any special requests.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I regularly stay here for business and its fantastic!
This hotel has a charming character leftover from a past era.The hotel is positioned in great location near Queen Street and a short walk to Sky City.

The rooms are large with nice decor and good facilities conducive to late night work preparing for the next day. The beds are firm. The bathrooms are large.

The staff are professional yet friendly in the service delivery.
The lifts have interesting characteristics.

Room Tip: Rooms near the street offer sirens and traffic rumble
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korimako10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Korimako10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read your comments with regard to the Hotel’s feel and our facilities. I will post this review on our feedback wall for the whole team to see, they will be very proud of your service comments.
I am also delighted to inform you that our front elevators are being totally refurbished, these works are extensive and as such will take another month at least, guest still have the benefit of four other guest elevators.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a hotel I often pick if visiting Auckland. The hotel seems to have been built the wrong way around with the glass fronted lobby getting the best views instead of many of the rooms. Its good value on wotif. The staff at check in were friendly but when asked for the nearest gas station to top up my rental car before returning it they had to ask around and the fourth person gave me some vague directions. There seems to be a doorman sometimes but not when I arrived. The hotel is a little dated three lifts not working and the escalator in the lobby also out of order. The room was nice quite modern and there is an indoor warm lap pool and a large sundeck on the fourth floor. Would stay again.

Room Tip: A room with 29 is quiet and away from the main wings though the view is not the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixstarsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear sixstarsnz,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that this is the Hotel you often pick when staying in Auckland. The Hotel was built to showcase the huge lobby and flood this with all day sun, if the rooms were facing this way, they would be hot indeed, and at least all of the hotel guests can see the fantastic views that are on show. I have taken your comment with regard to instructions to the nearest gas station to our Front Office Manager who has ensured that we have printed “Google” maps on hand which will direct any future guests, thank you for bringing this to our attention, it will assist future guests. I am delighted to report that the escalator is now fixed with parts at last coming from Germany. We are also undergoing a major lift refurbishment of two guest elevators; this still does leave 5 available for guest use. I am also pleased you enjoyed our warm swimming lap pool and sundeck. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We got a great deal on wotif for a balcony suite room. The balcony was huge as was the room and the bed! The staff were very nice when we checked in and the room was clean. In hindsight we should have made better use of the complementary drinks and canapes in the club lounge but we will be back so will next time...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomccurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear jomccurdy,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that our Team looked after you and that you enjoyed one of four Balcony Suites. I believe they are probably our best suites at over 68sq meters, and further highlighted by the private balcony and Huge Californian King Bed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon and having you spend some more time in our Club Lounge.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stay last weekend here and was a great place. Staff were outstanding. We stay here with a group of 50 odd people and the staff were so helpful. Great location also been right at the top of town but nice and quiet. Rooms were very nice and would stay there again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear paul_teddy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read your positive feedback. We will post your review on our Team Noticeboard for everyone to see. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing