We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable business hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here recently for a conference and was pleased the location, the comfort of the rooms, the food catered to our event, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

It was easy to take the ExpressBus from the airport to Queen Street and walk two blocks to the hotel (for $16 rather than the $80 a taxi would have cost). You can also arrange a shuttle to and from the hotel for $28 each way if you're more comfortable with that. From the hotel, it's an easy walk to the harbor where you can find lots of restaurants, ferries to nearby destinations, and downtown museums and events.

It's also a short walk from the hotel to "K Street" (as it's popularly called) with inexpensive restaurants, funky shops, and interesting people.

The Rendezvous was a very good business hotel. Our group had negotiated free Internet access during our stay (otherwise, I believe you have to pay--check with the hotel for that detail), and there's a business center as well. There's also a lovely pool and exercise room as well.

I will say that there's a police/ambulance station nearby the hotel so depending on what side you're on and which floor you're in, you might hear sirens during the night. I'm a pretty sound sleeper so this doesn't bother me at all. But if you have difficulty sleeping in a hotel, you may want to ask when you check in for a room on a higher floor and on the opposite side of the hotel from the sirens!

Room Tip: I will say that there's a police/ambulance station nearby the hotel so depending on what side yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMD126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear FMD126,

On behalf of the Team here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and took note to mention the location of the hotel, the food that was catered as part of your event and most of all the friendliness and helpfulness of the team here.
We do provide 24 hour access to low speed internet on a complimentary basis to all guests, this is more than sufficient for emails and simple web surfing, should guests wish to increase speed then we have very reasonable upgrade rates.

We are perhaps the safest hotel in Auckland as we are as you mention directly opposite the Police Station, and have less than two minutes away both the Central Fire and Ambulance Stations, should you be a light sleeper please mention this and our front desk team will always be able to assist with a room away from the potential street noise.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to New Zealand.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    1,774
    495
    153
    70
See reviews for
712
1,693
268
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

we stayed here before the new year, was in a very good location in relation to all the sites in auckland. walking distance to most things.
rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. loved the couch in the rooms!
the bathrooms were a bit dated, shower was very small, but there was a bathtub too.
hairdryers provided, much appreciated.
$10 overnight parking for guests in the multi-level attached to the hotel.
would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtan132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear jtan132,

Thank you for taking the time to write you review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you found the location central to Auckland’s attractions, our rooms were clean, with a comfortable bed and both shower and bath. Most of all we very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would definitely come back, on behalf of the team thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Featherston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

When Mum and I travelled to Auckland we wanted one room with two big beds - it was almost impossible to find but this hotel delivered and more.

The rooms were large, clean and of high quality. Staff were friendly and I loved the big-hotel service of the bag delivery to your room and having someone to call a taxi for you.

We saw a show at the Civic so the tunnel to the hotel was great - although it was annoying that the lift was out of operation.

There's also few things better after a day walking around Auckland than lying in your bed watched TV with your legs up on the bed bolsters.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmamccleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear emmamccleary,

Thank you very much for such a positive review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations with regard to value and were able to deliver everything that you required. As you state we are very well located to the Civic Theatre, The Aotea Centre and many of Auckland’s entertainment options.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our third stay at this property and very pleasant it is too. A lovely room, great location and friendly service. Topped off with a delicious breakfast in bed, who could ask for more.
Centrally located with all ammenities, I would certianly recommend if like us you are on a business trip.

Room Tip: We had a front city view this time - very interesting. Excellent ammenities in the room/bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynnFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear CarolynnFC,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following you recent stay with us. On behalf of the team I would like to also thank you for continuing to return to the hotel, we realise you have a choice and value you decision to stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and ensuring that you continue to receive the level of service and satisfaction that you describe in this review.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Paid a little higher price, but felt like a king when I saw the room and amenities. Enjoyed my stay and got some use out of the gym. They have a pool which looked like it was just for laps, but I didn't try it myself. Our room had a bathtub and shower and plenty of towels. Parking fee is required, but the parking is on-site and makes it easy considering you're downtown. The continental breakfast was pricey but convenient (NZ$21 per person).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwill4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear iwill4666,

We were delighted to read your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us. On behalf of the team here thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor, we appreciate this.
We pride ourselves on offering a value for money experience, it is pleasing to learn through your review that you feel you received this and made good use of our leisure facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Lovely Hotel, centrally based for center of City. The room and bathroom were very clean and the linen extremely good for, what was, a very reasonably priced Hotel. Parking could be an issue but if you are staying in the City a car is not essential as there is a very good public transport network.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay17Bron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Kay17Bron,

Thank you for taking the time to write you review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your comments with regard to the location of the hotel, the cleanliness and value for money, thank you. We do have our own car park which connects to the hotel the charge for this is $15.00 per night self-park or $25.00 valet parking.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times for work and always got good service and a good upgrade. However, my misfortune was getting a young north American lady at check in who would have to be the rudest customer service person I have ever had the misfortune of getting. I would recommend some training or relocating her to another job where people can be as rude as they like, I can't think of any I could suggest.

having said that, the hotel is nice. It is in a great part of town. The rooms are well appointed and the resturants are great. Some of the rooms I have stayed in needed a bit more maintence (light bulbs not working) but overall, it is a comfortable and convenient place to stay... if you can avoid a certain receptionist.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Allan F,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we were disappointed to read of your last experience here at the hotel and as all reviews are read by our team members they along with me would like to send you our sincerest apologies for the lack of courtesy by one of our fellow team members.
Thank you also for highlighting the maintenance issue regarding light bulbs, I will certainly raise this with our Engineer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland in the very near future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should I be of assistance to you.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing