We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely building and friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here on business in the city. It is a very spacious hotel, nice Japanese restaurant on-site and the staff are very happy to oblige with anything.

I did think some of the design features in the rooms were a bit odd - i.e., towel rail on the other side of the bathroom from the shower so you have to walk across slippery tiles to get them, and a phone hanging right above the toilet roll so the cord gets in the way.

Otherwise it's a nice place with eco-beauty products and great location for doing business or exploring the CBD. We enjoyed using the pretty much empty gym and the swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Tesh001,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed Katsura – our Signature Japanese Restaurant and that you enjoyed your stay.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    1,774
    495
    153
    70
See reviews for
712
1,693
268
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

From the very moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were friendly helpful and completely attentive. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious. The pool is lovely, the bathrooms well equipped. In room breakfast is easily ordered and actually very good and moderately priced. The best part is the hotel is centrally located - but far enough away from the busiest sections of Queen Street to be quiet and relaxed. K Road and the Aotea Centre are within walking distance. Each room looks out over the lobby and the street and Auckland are visibly from the giant picture windows that scan the entire front of the hotel. Having a permanent taxi stand out front is extremely convenient. My only complaint is that there are very few power outlets in the room and as we both had computers and cell-phones in need of charging... was a bit challenging.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor. It was quiet, good view, etc. Have nothing to compare it to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Margaret O,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We were delighted to read your comments with regard to our friendly welcome and through to our Central Location.

I would like to thank you for also bringing the power outlets to my attention, for the benefit of our other travellers and should you return we can provide multi-boxes upon request and a permanent solution is something that we will work on.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed overnight on business. Left brand new set of Clinque moisturisers on the vanity value $200. Rendezvous response is very disappointing, saying it was not left there, they have checked etc. The Super or the Cleaner are being dishonest along with their colleagues backing them up. Will not be visiting again in fact I will be telling everybody I know. Dishonesty is the worst!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Odette M,

I have spoken with your husband on the telephone and explained our process in detail with him, I note that this does not provide the return of your items and for this I would like to offer our sincerest apologies.

Our Security Manager, a Trained Detective has conducted a thorough investigation from reading the door lock to interviewing the team members that entered the room following your check-out to contacting our linen provider to check that it was not bundled within the linen.

Our team members are well briefed into our lost property policy of the hotel and after our investigation are satisfied that no member of our team has acted dishonestly. I would also note that the value you have advised and provided the receipt for was for $150.00 not $200.00 as you have listed above, we believe it is important in a case like this that we have all of the facts correct.

In summary, once again I would like to apologise that we are unable to locate the property you state was left in the room, it is a difficult situation for all concerned.

Should you wish to involve the Police as you have stated to our Security Manager, we would gladly provide them with every assistance in order to maintain our service, integrity and quality reputation that you have clearly brought into question.

Yours sincerely Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel during our stay in Auckland as part of our RTW-trip.
Upon arrival we were greeted and checked in very quickly. Staff was friendly and helpful from the first minute we walked in 'till the moment we left for Sydney.

Room was big enough, had all the amenities we required and above all, it was clean.
Since we went on several tours and daytrips during our stay we didn't spend much time in the room or in the hotel but all the facilities we did use were up to standard.

Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of the city, only 1 minute away from Queen Street, and there are plenty of possibilities for breakfast, lunch or dinner in the neighborhood. Because of this we decided not to eat in the hotel but just go out so no comments on the restaurants.

If you are looking for the best beef ever (at least the best I've ever tasted), ask the concierge to make a reservation at Tony's. We asked the on-duty manager to suggest a good restaurant for some NZ steak and this was his first choice (the man knows his world, that's for sure).
If you make a reservation through the hotel you also get a free glass of (sparkling) wine so don't hesitate to ask.

I'm terrible with remembering names but would especially like to thank the valet who, after it appeared the parking was full, offered to keep an eye on our rental car and park it as soon as a parking space became vacant without extra charge. And of course the on-duty manager for the great suggestions and effort to make the required reservations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Benjamin B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland during your recent visit to New Zealand. We were delighted to read your comments with regard to our recent renovation, the service from our team members and the extremely good value for money.

I will also ensure that I pass on your comments with regard to the service offered by the Concierge and our Duty Manager. We do look forward to welcoming you both back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our second return to the Rendezvous Grand, which shows we've found it convenient, reasonably priced and of a very acceptable standard. Convenient because it's handy to the things we want to do in Auckland; reasonably priced because I'm retired and can't pass the cost on to anyone else; vary acceptable because of the thought that's gone into the design of the rooms and facilities, the standard of cleanliness, and the courteous and efficient service.
I thought I'd stuffed up this time because we checked in late and were given a room low down and close to the road and we got very little sleep the first night. Not the hotel's fault - we live in the country and aren't used to city noises any more and I didn't specify that we wanted a quiet room. When I asked to be moved, however, they couldn't have been more helpful and they went to extra trouble to retrieve some items I had inadvertently left in the original room.
Now, it's not just that they responded to my request - it's the way they did it that impressed me - the readiness with which the staff saw things from our point of view and did what they could to ensure that our experience was a pleasant one.
It's when things go wrong that you see the real character of an organization. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Just remember that this is a very central location with a lot of local traffic and people heading ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Ross M,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and on behalf of the Team I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review following your recent stay with us.

I will ensure that I share you story with our team, it sets the benchmark for what we are trying to achieve here with our customer service and they as I was will be delighted to read that during your visit we were able to ensure your comfort and enjoyment of the hotel.
I would also like to thank you for continuing to return to the Hotel, we very much appreciate your loyalty.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Wonderful place to stay - such attentive, lovely people - always willing to help. Rooms are great, recently upgraded, everything one needs. Very close to Queen street but just off the main street, away from the hustle and bustle, making the experience very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santhuthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Santhuthi,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and found everything from the location, to our recently refurbished rooms and the attentive and well trained team members to your expectations.

Once again, Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, great parking, great staff, well priced, I would definitely recommend it to business travellers. I had lunch and it was great value. No complaints except the foyer air temperature was for me too cold

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis-Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Gateway-SA,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were pleased to read that you found the hotel to be well located and offer overall great value and you would recommend to other Business Travellers.

Once again thank you for you review and your comments with regard to improving the Foyer Temperature, we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing