We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maintains its Standards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Maintains its Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rendezvous do a great job in maintaining the standards of this lovely Hotel. Still the largest hotel in Auckland and right up the top for customer standards at all levels. I stayed last week for 3 nights and found the experience without any reason to comment, apart from another comfortable stay.

The Business Benefits package of breakfast, wi - fi and a drink coupon or shirt pressing at $27 is excellent value and remains a trend setter in the Auckland accommodation market.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear ManagerFreestyle,

On behalf of the team here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, thank you for taking the time to write your review and receive such a positive endorsement of the hotel.

We were delighted to read your comments and do look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland in the very near future.

Thank once again and regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    1,743
    487
    151
    70
See reviews for
703
1,661
264
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I booked a room for 3 nights directly from the Rendezvous Grand Hotels website. Throughout the booking process, I believed I was going to be charged approx $550, to my surprise, once the transaction was confirmed, it displayed a cost over $800. I immediately telephoned the hotel to inform what i wanted was not what they had taken money from my credit card for. They obliged and ensured i was to go into a cheaper room. At a later stage, i gave 36 hours notice that I will be staying only for two nights, not the three that was originally booked. I received an invoice for $402 when checking out. To my surprise Rendezvous Grand Hotel had $833 deducted from my credit card 5 days prior to check out (at the time of booking). I did not realise this until I returned to Australia. After 3 international phone calls, an email and 4 days, i received my refund. This series of events has definitely left a sour taste in my mouth.

Apart from that, I had limited need to deal with any staff during my stay, therefore can not comment on the service.

I chose to eat at the many nearby restaurants, which I found delicious and affordable. I did not eat at the Hotel.

The location was absolutely supurb, which is the no. 1. Reason I chose to stay at the Rendezvous Grand.

The floors and linen were clean, however there was a fair amount of dust on the bedside table.

The room facilities were average. Eg. Tv had limited channels unless you chose to pay for movies, and the only music available was that via the tv.

Wifi connection was strong and free.

Overall, i found the Rendezvous average. Next time I'd book earlier, and get a better hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Bill C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. Our website will provide you with our very best rate in the market, so you can reserve your accommodation with confidence, I am unsure as to the reason why the final price was more than you expected, you may have chosen an inclusion.

Your room rate would have changed given the fact that you had reduced your stay from 3 nights to 2 nights, we would have applied a discount when you had originally booked for 3 nights.

The additional money being held on your credit card was an authority to guarantee your incidentals, this is explained to you at check-in and is a standard practice within most hotels around the world. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island, NZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have stayed at the Rendezvous a number of times. It's the perfect full service hotel for anyone wanting a central city location within walking distance to the waterfront and attractions such as Sky City. You can amble down to Queen Street for shopping or a movie, or to many nearby restaurants ... or, stay in-house and order room service. There is a lot to like about this hotel: inclusive Internet, onsite parking, and affordable charges for meals, mini bar items, and other extras. For business travelers, you don't get gouged for services you need to stay productive when away from the office, while travelers will be pampered without the unwelcome shock of costly add-ons. The hotel has recently been refurbished and I like the central bar area and atrium; it was a perfect venue for several meetings with its quiet, luxurious ambience. For special occasions (or the well to do) the Rendezvous suites are comfy indeed! Watch for appealing offers that combine parking, breakfast, and other services for a tempting price. Our charitable trust has heard only good things about the Rendezvous from colleagues, which is becoming a popular conference and events venue; we're considering the hotel for our own functions next year.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with two double beds so we can stretch out. Or, splurge on one of the spacious sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Laurieandlily,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of the hotel.

We were thrilled to read your comments with regard to value for money, our especially of continued patronage, it would be a pleasure to assist you in any conference or function requirements you have in 2014.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked in for a one night stay as friends of ours had also booked as it was their 20th wedding anniversary. They were married in the same Hotel 20 years ago so thought it would be good to re-visit. They weren't disappointed. Once I let the staff know about their special celebration they went out of their way to make ours and their stay special. We were upgraded (the anniversary couple to a beautiful suite) and us to a club room. Mikey (the manager) even organised a cake which he delivered to their room accompanied by several other staff to congratulate them. The Hotel was very comfortable and the staff were all very helpful, friendly and professional. We will definately be back (won't leave it for twenty years this time!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Jude S,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you and your friends whom were celebrating their 20th Wedding Anniversary enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regard to our level of personal service delivered by Mikee and the Team.

We are thrilled to have your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Overall the experience was very good. It wasn't as good as previous occasions.
The concierge upon on arrival was not helpful in terms of carparking. We parked our car but were unable to park in the hotel allocated parks so went up a level. It would have been nice when advising the concierge they had offered to move the cars but given the attitude and not being asked for the keys to move the vehicle we did not bother and moved the car ourselves later on in the evening of our check in. The concierge on check out provided excellent service and was very helpful.

Dinner at Straits Cafe was a mixed bag. One meal was excellent and the other was burnt and had to be returned. Dinner at Katzura was excellent on our second night.

The room was clean and tidy. Loved the 12th floor and the view from that level.

Would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Maude T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We pride ourselves on the guest experience here so were very disappointed to read your comments with regard to the lack of service offered by the concierge and the varied meals in Straits Café. I will discuss your feedback with our Executive Chef and Chief Concierge and on their behalf would like to extend to you our apologies.

Thank you for your comments with regard to your room and your meal in our signature Japanese Restaurant, Katsura.

We do look forward to welcoming you back I do trust that you will notice a marked improvement from this experience.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Really nice stay at the rendezvous Auckland. The breakfast is worth the extra booking price. Central to town and the waterfront, Queen street is right there, great restaurants in the area. Service was great from the waiters and Saif was a big help on the front desk. Will stay again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear PaulD,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regard to our location, service and value for money breakfast.

We were thrilled to have your recommendation and do look forward to having you return soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Was booking via Wotif.com and got a very good deal , the location is a few hundred metres above the CBD, away from noise, unless the Police turns out with siren next door.
The hotel has a lot to offer, i mostly enjoyed as a business traveler, the park-house almost incorporated walking through the hotel direct to your car on entrance level, the hotel has a very good rate for parking.
I did not enjoy my bed, for whatever reason it was not helping me to sleep well.
When i arrived i took advantage of one of the package offers which was, breakfast/newspaper/full access internet and a drink at the very nice located Bar were out or inside seating is available.
The Gym is well equipped and maybe need to have some of the equipment replaced, but the pool has a good length. Enjoyed every morning.
The hotel has two good restaurants included, which one is a Japanese and quite good food what i can say. Breakfast is normal and should be enough for most, but go for the extra brewed coffee as the standard one reminded me on old bad times.
A just 5 to 10 minutes walk into the CBD with heaps of restaurants selections, makes it easy to access. All together a good stay.

Room Tip: Try to get up and away from the left side Police station
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Rudi844,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that all together you had a good stay and found the added convenience of our car-park to your liking along with our Business Benefits Package and Japanese Restaurant, Katsura.

I would like to apologise for the fact that the bed was not to your liking, should you return to the hotel please do let us know what sort of bed you prefer and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing