We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Over all experience was Fantastic,

Staff were helpful and professional. The room was spacious and clean along with spacious bathroom.The Breakfast waitress were friendly and the breakfast was yummy. Which kept us going all day.

Only dislike was a charge to c c.Which could take a few days to be refunded to cover any charges to the room eg mini bar.

Happy to give cc no: of course that's standard practice for Hotels and Car hire. But to charge a deposit of 200. Not to sure about that. However we would stay again.

Would recommend travellers to stay.

Thank you all, specially receptionist, and concierge

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear James M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland during your recent visit to New Zealand. We were delighted to read your comments with regard to the service from our team members, our room quality, breakfast, facilities and the extremely good value for money.

Unfortunately to guarantee payments the banks require us to charge a bond on your credit card and you are correct in that it can take 2-5 days to clear.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    1,775
    495
    153
    70
See reviews for
712
1,694
268
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel seems quite old, in the lobby, in the corridors, the doors and carpet, etc. are quite shabby; however, the room was spacious, there was free Wi-Fi though it was slow (256kb).
The gym was quite nice. It was unexpectedly spqacious - about 40-50 sq meters: a few treadmills, free weights - dumbbells, a few exercise machines, no benchpress of course, but one can do quite a few things... The sauna seems new and clean (despite towels lying around everywhere). The swimming pool area is alright as well. A bit of chlorine you can feel.
The parking is $15 per day. centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear SergeLeo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for your review following your stay with us. Overall we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found it comfortable and convenient.

Our complimentary WIFI is actually at 512kb, although we advertise it at 256kb.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I've been thinking about my stay there in order to write this review and there is absolutely nothing negative at all I can remember. This place is really nice and I strongly recommend travellers to stay there. The staff is very nice, from reception, to concierge, bar staff, housekeeping, there has not been a single person who's been less than very friendly!
The room is a great size, very comfortable, clean and pleasant. The bar area is really nice, specially the terrace, where you can relax with views to the Sky tower. The location is amazing!
I had breakfast in the hotel, plenty of choices, efficient waiters, fresh and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sissi2702,

On behalf of the team here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, thank you for taking the time to write your review and positive endorsement of the hotel.

We were delighted to read your comments and do look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland in the very near future.

Thank once again and regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt it was the staff that made our stay very enjoyable. We were welcomed and offered assistance the minute our van pulled up.

Henriette checked us in, we were quite early so no rms were available. Henriette was so pleasant, we were offered keys to the gym change room where we could shower and change. We left our bags with the concierge and went touring. When we returned our upgraded rm ( thanks Henriette ) was available and our bags in the rm waiting for us.

The room was very clean, king bed was very comfortable, large bathroom and free wifi ( all be it a little awkward to access at times ).

Concierge staff was very helpful re restaurants and especially loading our bags into the rental vehicle when we left. They were very appreciative of the tip we offered.

The only minor down side is there are very few places to eat in the area. You have to walk 10-15 min. The hotel restaurant is fairly pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regard to our level of service. I will pass on your comments to our team and also make a special mention of Henriette.

We are thrilled to have your recommendation and we do trust you enjoyed your visit to Auckland, New Zealand and hope you will have the chance to return soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A very central hotel with friendly helpfull staff . Clean spacious rooms and close to Skytower and waterfront.We had 2 separate stays here and both were very good.Restaurant was large and spacious and food was good.A quiet hotel considering the proximity to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Roy B,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regard to our friendly and professional service offered by the team.

We were thrilled to have your recommendation and we do hope you will have the chance to return very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Usually I prefer smaller, more intimate hotel experiences, but I got a good deal on a room at Rendezvous and thought I would try it out. The checkin procedure was one of the most professional I have every experienced. From the time you arrive at the front door to a smiling doorman to the time you have your electronic key in your hand, it's flawless. The room I had was also without fault; clean and modern with everything I needed. I was pleased to find they had free wifi, although it was too slow to do anything but simple emailing, and their prices for mini-bar items was surprisingly very good. I also made use of their in-house gym which was more than adequate. After my checkin, I really had very little to do with any of the staff. I had a drink in the bar (which was again very nice), but I didn't have any meals there since I was always meeting friends and family in the city. The location for the hotel is also so convenient to the city. If you want a dependable, 4 star experience where you'll have no complaints, I highly recommend it. If however, you want a bit more of a personal touch in your hotel choice, you may want to choose a smaller, less corporate hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatuvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear vatuvia,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a comprehensive review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us.

We were thrilled to read that despite your usual preference for a smaller more intimate hotel experience that we managed to deliver throughout your stay.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we do look forward to welcoming you back
very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The staff were so so helpful..the hotel spotless...excellent restuarant..and very reasonable rate..
We will always use this hotel for our Auckland visits...also very central
Rooms were very spacious with large modern bathrooms...we have been in the accommodation business ourselves for over 45 years

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room as we were leaving very early on departure...our room was very quiet .on 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazih W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Nazih W,

Thank you very much for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to complete your review.

The fact that you have been in our industry for over 45 years adds further meaning to your comments of which we were thrilled to read. I will ensure that I share this with the wider team whom will also be delighted.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing