We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a big hotel but watch out for the tunnel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for a big hotel but watch out for the tunnel!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We do not often stay at big city hotels, and this one was OK. The room was clean and amenities reasonable. We had little interaction with staff except on check in and check out. However, a lot was closed - cafe closed (I think - it never seemed to be open when we walked past), restaurant closed (definitely according to the sign), which seemed odd for a large city hotel. I must comment on the tunnel! There is an underground tunnel linking the hotel to the Aotea Centre across the road. It looks like (and feels like) a war bunker - dirty, leading to a plain unmarked door into the lowest floor of the basement carpark. It does not provide a welcoming introduction to the hotel. Clean it up or close it down!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear kpossum1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review following your stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We have a total of Three Restaurants here in the Hotel, Straits Café which is open for Breakfast and Dinner Daily, The Atrium Lounge which serves snacks and substantial meals from 10.30 – 2300 daily and Katsura our Japanese Restaurant. It is Katsura that we close over the early part of January as this is often the quietest time of the year for that team to take a short break.

Thank you also for your comments on the Tunnel of which we will try to improve.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,734
    1,799
    497
    154
    72
See reviews for
718
1,723
271
983
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Rendezvous for 3 nights in December, one of which there was a function for 900 people. We heard very little noise in our room. Excellent location of hotel. Breakfast was very good. Lovely room, service was great. In fact EVERYTHING was great:) Japanese Restaurant is excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Have stayed there before and will definitely stay again:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thankful4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear MandJ N,

Thank you for continued loyalty to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, it is especially pleasing to read reviews from regular and loyal guests, we would also like to thank you for your on-going support.

I will pass your comments on to the rest of our team and they as I was will be delighted to read them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the Rendezvous upon landing in Auckland after a 36-hour series of flights. It proved to be a very good choice. Its excellent location allowed us to make use of the airport express bus (the stop is very close). The 9th floor room we got afforded great views of Auckland and provided a very comfortable bed. The room was very clean (recently refurbished) and the bathroom was huge. There are several restaurants in the area as well as numerous shopping opportunities. It's a good base to explore Auckland. If there is one thing to complain about it is the price of the breakfast. If you don't want to pay (we didn't) there are however numerous cafes nearby that can provide a perfectly good (and reasonably priced) meal to start your day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Pr_review,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your comments and we were very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The Rendezvous grand Hotel is well located in downtown Auckland near. The aeoto theatre. Comfortable Modern rooms and good car parking facilities. Free wifi/LaN and good Japanese restaurant. Twenty. Minute walk to waterfront and lots of restaurants/bars/cafes within easy reach. Nice lobby area and friendly helpful staff. A good City choice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkeithpdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear drkeithpdawson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, I will share this with the wider team who will be delighted as I was to read your comments, this is certainly appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and thank you once again.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we were in Auckland for New Year's Eve and were very comfortable here. we didn't have breakfast so can;t comment on food, but service and room was excellent - the room was particularly quiet too - not much noise coming from elsewhere which is important to us. Comfy beds, nice big bathroom, nice atmosphere, would stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe double room, 5th floor. I would suggest staying on that floor or above as back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBreakers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear CityBreakers_12,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read your review and thank you for your recommendation of the hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Loved this hotel, room was great, comfortable beds, nice big bathroom with big bath, staff were all extremely helpful, happy & friendly. Early check-in was accommodated for as requested. Very happy, would stay again :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naiadjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Naiadjan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. I will share this with the wider team who will be delighted as I was to read your comments with regard to the service delivered by the team here, this is certainly appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and thank you once again.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights over New Years' we paid around £100 per night. Well equipped rooms, generally good service, found a Concierge who advised us to leave the City for New Years Eve!! Which seemed bizarre as were asking for advice on where to go in the city for New Years! Anyway other than that, short walk to the harbour, and shops, free, but limited WiFi, generally we were very pleased.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Ikorel,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read your comments with regard to the well-equipped rooms and generally good service.

I will follow up with our Chief Concierge on why they would be advising guests to leave the city for New Year’s Eve, as I also found this bizarre. May I extend to you on behalf of our team my sincerest apologies.

Once again thank you for your review and for making the long journey to New Zealand.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing