We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for one night before taking a cruise leaving from Auckland. This hotel was perfect - it's a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal. The rooms were beautiful and spacious, the staff were helpful in providing recommendations for things to do, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Would recommend this to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Dan1601,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we are delighted to have your recommendation and learn of your experience.

We trust that you have had an enjoyable cruise following your stay with us and we do look forward to one day welcoming you back.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    1,806
    499
    155
    72
See reviews for
723
1,732
273
991
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location was excellent. Within walking distance of the main shopping and entertainment areas. We had a deluxe double room with two double beds. The price was very reasonable and a great value for a four night stay (including New Year's Eve). The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The sleeping area was a little cramped but the bathroom was surprisingly large with separate shower and a large bathtub. Limited free wifi was a nice amenity. The television was of Chinese manufacture and frustrating to operate with the remote. Self parking at $15 per night was reasonable and convenient as there was easy access to the garage from the main public areas of the hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. One glitch was that we kept having to ask for extra bath towels as they only would leave two each day and they didn't replace the toiletries until we asked for more shampoo and conditioner along with bath gel. They don't have 24-hour housekeepers on call but the front desk promptly handled our requests in the evening. There's a very nice Japanese restaurant in the hotel but it closed for two weeks from January 1. I guess the chef must be from Japan and wasn't going to miss celebrating Oshogatsu. We enjoyed this property very much and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGuy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear IslandGuy2014,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be excellent along with our value for money and space within the Bathroom. Thank you also for bringing the issue with Housekeeping to our attention, this is something we will follow up but I was pleased to read that the Front Desk assisted you.

I would also like apologise for the fact that Katsura our Japanese Restaurant was closed during your stay, New Year’s Eve was the last day of trade and the Katsura Team will return on January 14th.

Thank you very much once again and we do look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Mahalo Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We do not often stay at big city hotels, and this one was OK. The room was clean and amenities reasonable. We had little interaction with staff except on check in and check out. However, a lot was closed - cafe closed (I think - it never seemed to be open when we walked past), restaurant closed (definitely according to the sign), which seemed odd for a large city hotel. I must comment on the tunnel! There is an underground tunnel linking the hotel to the Aotea Centre across the road. It looks like (and feels like) a war bunker - dirty, leading to a plain unmarked door into the lowest floor of the basement carpark. It does not provide a welcoming introduction to the hotel. Clean it up or close it down!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear kpossum1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review following your stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We have a total of Three Restaurants here in the Hotel, Straits Café which is open for Breakfast and Dinner Daily, The Atrium Lounge which serves snacks and substantial meals from 10.30 – 2300 daily and Katsura our Japanese Restaurant. It is Katsura that we close over the early part of January as this is often the quietest time of the year for that team to take a short break.

Thank you also for your comments on the Tunnel of which we will try to improve.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Rendezvous for 3 nights in December, one of which there was a function for 900 people. We heard very little noise in our room. Excellent location of hotel. Breakfast was very good. Lovely room, service was great. In fact EVERYTHING was great:) Japanese Restaurant is excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Have stayed there before and will definitely stay again:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thankful4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear MandJ N,

Thank you for continued loyalty to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, it is especially pleasing to read reviews from regular and loyal guests, we would also like to thank you for your on-going support.

I will pass your comments on to the rest of our team and they as I was will be delighted to read them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the Rendezvous upon landing in Auckland after a 36-hour series of flights. It proved to be a very good choice. Its excellent location allowed us to make use of the airport express bus (the stop is very close). The 9th floor room we got afforded great views of Auckland and provided a very comfortable bed. The room was very clean (recently refurbished) and the bathroom was huge. There are several restaurants in the area as well as numerous shopping opportunities. It's a good base to explore Auckland. If there is one thing to complain about it is the price of the breakfast. If you don't want to pay (we didn't) there are however numerous cafes nearby that can provide a perfectly good (and reasonably priced) meal to start your day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Pr_review,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your comments and we were very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The Rendezvous grand Hotel is well located in downtown Auckland near. The aeoto theatre. Comfortable Modern rooms and good car parking facilities. Free wifi/LaN and good Japanese restaurant. Twenty. Minute walk to waterfront and lots of restaurants/bars/cafes within easy reach. Nice lobby area and friendly helpful staff. A good City choice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkeithpdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear drkeithpdawson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, I will share this with the wider team who will be delighted as I was to read your comments, this is certainly appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and thank you once again.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we were in Auckland for New Year's Eve and were very comfortable here. we didn't have breakfast so can;t comment on food, but service and room was excellent - the room was particularly quiet too - not much noise coming from elsewhere which is important to us. Comfy beds, nice big bathroom, nice atmosphere, would stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe double room, 5th floor. I would suggest staying on that floor or above as back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBreakers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear CityBreakers_12,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read your review and thank you for your recommendation of the hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,494 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing