We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quiet convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
760 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Comfortable quiet convenient”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Across the street from the police HQ - short walk to Queen St theatre district and then down to the Quay. We stayed three nights. Arrived from Sydney late. We were able to find a restaurant on Queen to get a bite to eat. Breakfast can be a big buffet or pick from an a la carte menu. We walked to Ponsonby, Albert Park, Quay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear carpsenior,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we are delighted to receive your feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials and events.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,737
    1,800
    497
    154
    72
See reviews for
718
1,724
271
986
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Comparing to other places we stayed in NZ we were positively surprised by the price vs quality ratio. The hotel is good, comfortable and well located and at the same time reasonably priced. So… recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciem_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Ciem_ny,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review following your recent stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read your comments especially with regard to the value versus quality ratio.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

we had a lovely stay at the Rendezvous Grand. The hotel itself is quite aged but the rooms are beautifully renovated. What stands out most is the excellent customer service. Especially the staff at reception is exceptional. We have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and have hardly ever experienced such warm and personal professionalism. The only downside is the sauna which didn't function properly and looked quite neglected.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Annabelle C,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read your comments especially with regard to our exceptional reception team. I know they will be delighted when I share your comments with them at our regular weekly meeting.

Thank you very much also for bringing to our attention the Sauna area, we will ensure any problem is corrected.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we only had one night at this hotel. From the welcome to the room size, the cleanliness to location to food quality, we couldn't fault it. Tariff was very good compared to many other similar establishments and we have stayed at inferior quality for a lot higher price. We will definitely make a point of returning to this Hotel when we are next in Auckland.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KingyOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear KingyOE,

We were delighted to read your review and receive you endorsement of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. On behalf of the team I would like to extend our thanks and we certainly do look forward to having you stay with us in the very near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I enjoy travelling but often the downside can be the disappointing accommodation and service in a hotel. The Rendezvous Grand in Auckland recently stood out in terms of the friendliness and professionalism of staff on every level, from reception to room service to concierge - simply outstanding! whoever is in charge of training staff here is doing a brilliant job.
The location is a little further out from the waterfront than we expected but not more than a 15 minute walk. Proximity to shopping is excellent. The hotel is exceptionally quiet. Rooms are well designed and there is good insulation between walls to minimize noise.The rooms are modern and exceptionally clean.
If we return to Auckland we will not hesitate to book in again.
Michael (Perth).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Michael O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were thrilled to read your comments with regard to the friendliness and professionalism of our team.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Auckland.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Rendezvous provides me with outstanding service and seriously good comfort. The room was exceptional. I also dined in the restaurant and the menu is fantastic with friendly service.
I use this hotel frequently for business trips and the management and staff make sure everything is taken care of in a friendly and personal manner.

Room Tip: The views from the top floors are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce McEldowne... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Bryce McEldowne... M,

It is a pleasure to hear from one of our regular guests and on behalf of the team thank you for your continued loyalty to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.
We were delighted to read your comments especially with regard to delivering “outstanding service and seriously good comfort”, I will ensure that I pass these onto our wider team whom as the management team were will also be delighted to read.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We found the hotel convenient, staff helpful, room comfortable and roomy. Basic things like a good shower and tub, nice towels, good water pressure, spacious room, functioning internet, comfortable bed and pillows, good windows, a breakfast with choice -- all the necessities covered well and satisfactory. Is there more to need, really?

We had two rooms, and the one for our son smelled of cigarettes. Upon requesting other options, they offered to provide another room, as soon as it was available. They moved his luggage for us, as we were out at the time, and everyone ended up happy and comfortable. If staying in central Auckland again, I would without hesitation select this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Ann T,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We are delighted to read that you were pleased with our value for money and quality of your stay with us. Our Hotel is fully non-smoking so I would like to extend to you once again my sincerest apologies for your son’s room that did smell of smoke.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels bring you back to New Zealand one day.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing