We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIEVES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“THIEVES”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great location. Nice room. Good sleep quality. Terrible experience with hotel reservation and front desk.They basically stole our money. Long story short. Our flight was delayed and we informed both our booking agent Agoda and the hotel that we would be arriving one day late. Upon our arrival when we inquired if the new reservation request was processed we were told that the person with the authority to do so was absent. We kept asking every morning and evening until the day of our departure and were not able to speak to this all-mighty person. As we were busy trying to find somebody to talk to the hotel had advised our booking agent that we had checked into the hotel at 9 a.m. (We arrived in NZ at 13.00 hours) and they had charged the room as a result. The hotel was not fully booked at the time as I confirmed from other hotel employees and it wasn't as if they could not sell this room. They took our money, lied to us and the travel agent. When confronted with the facts we were offered a upgrade and buffet breakfast for our next stay. Both cost the hotel nothing and as if I could come back to Auckland ever again. THIEVES!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear hotelreview77,

I would like to thank you for making contact with me and answering some of the queries that I had with regard to your review.

For the benefit of our readers I would like to explain our side of your experience.

Your booking and payment was made through Agoda. The terms were expressly stated on the Agoda website, that the advance purchase booked required full payment to Agoda. This would have been debited to your card upon booking and their terms and conditions clearly state that no cancellations or changes can be made to the booking.

The Hotel once learning of your issue did follow up on your behalf with Agoda which would explain the delay in getting back to you during your stay.

On behalf of our team I would like to express our apologies for this inconvenience, I can also confirm that the Hotel was fully booked through the period of your stay and should you wish to claim through your travel insurance we will assist you also.

Best regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,726
    1,784
    495
    154
    72
See reviews for
715
1,708
268
981
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Check in was quick, within minutes of being greeted by the very friendly staff we were in our room on the 7th floor. A few minutes later our bags arrived, very impressed with the service.
Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Very nice huge bathroom, loved it!
Bed was very comfortable and room was very quite which made for a great nights sleep.
At all times contact with the staff was very friendly and courteous. could not wish for better.
Location is great as just a short stroll to down town and plenty of shops within only a short walk.
Stayed for 3 nights but wish it could have been more. Very impressed with the value this hotel offers though didn't use any of the other services, ie breakfast, mini bar etc as seemed a bit pricey but no doubt on par with other major hotels of it's kind.
Check out was quick and hassle free and staff assisted us with our hire car collection.
Overall can not fault this hotel and from our experience can highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niftynev_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear niftynev_8,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and especially with regards to our guest service and value for money.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night in Auckland in Jan, 2014. Good stay - nice spacious rooms, clean hotel, free wifi. The location was good too - ~20 kms from the airport with lots of streets around having nice restaurants and shops. Also, compared to hotels in other places where we stayed during our New Zealand trip (Taupo, Te Anau, Queenstown, Fox etc), this hotel was one of the cheapest but one of the better ones in terms of facilities. Pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gagandeep_tiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear gagandeep_tiet,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read your comments with regards to our location, spacious and clean rooms, or free WIFI and that we remained one of the better hotels on your journey through New Zealand.

Thank you once again we do look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Staff helpful
Clean hotel
Central location but a 20min walk to harbor
Indoor pool sauna and outdoor lounge area
Mikey was the best very accommodating

Cons
Waited extra long to check in although it seemed they were busy from night before
Ran out of power adapters
Heated indoor pool cold

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Weezereve6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Weezereve6,

Greetings from Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for providing us with your feedback following your recent stay.

We were pleased to read that our Team were helpful and you made special mention of Mikee whom I will be sure to congratulate.

I would like to apologise for the delay at check-in, our standard check in time is at 1400, so if the hotel was busy the night before it may very well take until 1400 to be able to check you in. I will also follow up with the respective departments regarding the pool which is heated to 29 degrees and adaptors.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed for one night early in January. The room has been renovated and was perfectly clean. There was a large bathroom with a shower and bath. The bedroom included a couch and desk. The Japanese restaurant was unfortunately closed, but the meals at the normal restaurant were good. Breakfast was excellent with a large range of hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenerCambridgeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear GardenerCambridgeNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay along with your meals in Straits Cafe.

Thank you once again and we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or Friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of our specials and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel was one of the nicest I have stayed in for a while. HUGE bathroom with full size bathtub... aaah.. Large room with sitting area. Nice pool and outdoor rooftop sitting area. Staff were very friendly and helpful on check in. Very clean and quiet. Not far from Queen st. We walked everywhere or took the red bus up and down queen so we thought it was convenient enough. We had a good pricefor the room. The restaurant was a bit expensive for us so we didn't try it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bisbeesedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear bisbeesedona,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review following your recent stay here with us at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay finding the hotel to be one of the nicest you have experienced for a while.

Thank you once again and we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or Friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of our specials and events.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Wonderful stay,affordable,good location,parking available on site,clean rooms,good customer service.
Concerns at our last stay were promptly addressed by management,quite impressed.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpepper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear patu7,

Greetings from Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for providing us with an opportunity to address the concerns you raised from your prior stay, we were pleased to learn that your latest stay was to your satisfaction.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing