We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always enjoy our stays here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always enjoy our stays here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

i regularly visit Auckland and always stay at the Rendezvous for a variety of reasons: its good value for money- I see some reviews complaining that it needs an upgrade - I'm not complaining, the staff are always extremely pleasant and helpful, its an easy walk to Queen St, it has good parking. My daughter and I stay here often and have got to the stage we call it our ' home away from home'

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors - it is situated across the road from the Police Station so sirens can be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Marvy2,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we are thrilled to read feedback from our special regular guests and I will ensure that I pass on your comments to the wider team. They will as I was delighted to learn of your experience with us and especially that you and your daughter refer to us as your “home away from home”

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of events and special offers.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    1,743
    487
    151
    70
See reviews for
703
1,661
264
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a grab one offer and to be honest the deal reflected the real value of the stay, Decor is exceptionally dated both in the public areas and in the accommodation rooms, currently the hotel struggles to warrant it's 4 star rating but definitely has the potential to deserve it.
Breakfast was fine, good variety and friendly staff though could with an egg station or at least an easier way to order something other than scrambled (both days).
Management looked proactive and professional, saw what looked like the GM talking to the F&B Manager in the restaurant during breakfast but the owners need to dig deep and pump some money into the old girl.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank uglygorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear uglygorilla,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

The Hotel has been recently upgraded through the Restaurants, Rooms, Lobby and Conference Rooms. I will pass on your comments to our Owners as we would always like to see more capital improvements.

I will keep a keen eye on your future reviews of Auckland Hotels to see how they measure up.


Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and didn't spend lots of time in the room but it was lovely to return to a comfortable bed and hot shower. I made use of the lap pool which was great. Gym is very well set out .Its conveniently situated only a short walk to the viaduct. We caught a taxi back which was only $9. Staff friendly. Foyer area has plenty of room for everyone and you don't feel you are being crowded which can happen in some inner city hotels.Although the hotel was busy it didn't feel as if it was. We slept well. We didn't have breakfast.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on floor 11. if you want to be close to swimming pool/gym choose floor 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murrbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear murrbren,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your comments and we were very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of events and special offers.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here with my kids and got an awesome 1 bedroom suite. it was very spacious, beautifully appointed and the bathroom was amazing. The kids loved watching tv while taking a bath! The price was very reasonable and the room-service food and breakfast in the restaurant was great! Also, the kids loved the indoor pool!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the top floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ijoymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear ijoymama,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to complete your review.

We were thrilled to read your comments and learn that you were pleased with your suite, the value for money along with excellent room service, pool and breakfast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of events and special offers.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had an amazing stay at the rendezvous! Absolute luxury. Will be back soon for sure. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Auckland. We got an amazing deal on Wotif as a mystery deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Maria C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland we were thrilled to read your comments and receive your recommendation.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of events and special offers.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I notice that the reviews list this property as 4 stars. I however would have to unfortunately disagree. We booked a deluxe room and requested to be away from the traffic and noise as we had an early start in the morning. We were given a room directly above the atrium and adjacent to the busy road. We called downstairs and asked to be moved to a quieter room as we could hear all the goings on in the bar/restaurant and the road noise was awful. We were told that all the rooms were fully booked and they could not accommodate our request.

My partner called up again and asked to speak to the manager who also told us they were fully booked and could not move us to another room. After telling them we wished to check out as the hotel could not accommodate our requests we were magically offered another room that was more to our specifications.

The decor is tired and the bar was loud and very dirty. Tables were left uncleaned and flies buzzed over empty plates and glasses which we found to be very off putting.

I would give this motel 3 stars at a stretch.

Room Tip: If you must stay here request/pay for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnitznSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear SnitznSunny,

On behalf of the Team here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland I would like to extend my apologies to you for the experience you outline in your review. Clearly this is not the impression we are striving to offer our guests.

Should you be travelling to Auckland in the near future I would respectfully request that you make contact with me and I will ensure that you experience the true Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed for 1 night on the 20th Jan , and was just amazed by the hotels hospitality. Upgraded to a club room on level 11, A great treat. Breakfast was amazing. Staff extremely helpful , and were very helpful for our family. Got our 2 year old sons milk warmed everytime with a smile and nothing was a hassle for the Front Office team. I highly recommend this hotel , our short stay in Auckland was truly a bliss , away from the Wellington Quakes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller14841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Traveller14841,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were thrilled to read that we were able to provide you with one night of bliss away from the Wellington Quakes. I will pass on your feedback to our wider team who as I was will be delighted to learn of your experience

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of events and special offers.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing