We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent would stay here again :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent would stay here again :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Checkin was very quick all ready for us to checkin. front desk staff very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to Club deluxe room. Not much different with deluxe room. We paid for Romance Package. NZD314.00 included Buffet breakfast for 2, Dinner for 2 and free glass of wine for 2, Free wine bottle upon checkin, late check out 1pm included valet parking. I loved the fact internet free 24hrs no problems with internet connection. Manager left yummy chocolates on the table when we arrived. :) Dinner was lovely enjoyed it :) Checking out no issue no extra charges.

The room was very clean and tidy. Very good size alot of space to walk around. View of the city beautiful. I loved the bathroom very spacious and clean.

Close to shopping, shops and restaurants. Close walking distance to IMAX (Movies)

Would definitly stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Lesley A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review following your recent stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend away on our Romance Package, we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Once again thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    1,745
    487
    151
    70
See reviews for
704
1,662
264
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was clean, service efficient and friendly. We dined at the Straits Cafe which is their dining room and had an outstanding dinner. the Chef-James Willemsen came out personally to discuss dining options (gluten free). He was extremely knowledgable and even baked us gluten free biscuits. The head concierge was very helpful. The lobby was staffed at all times, the Atrium lounge was wonderful for drinks and nibbles! I'd definitely go back to this hotel, even if only to dine.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Paul P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent visit to our shores.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our Executive Chef, James took the time personally ensure your dietary requirements were looked after, I will ensure that James and the team receive special mention at our next team briefing.

We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Only a 2 night stay, but this hotel is a gem, so close to the Auckland CBD. Our room was large, well equipped, immaculate, with a beautiful bathroom - space to burn!
The hotel lobby was impressive, and the room matched, which is great news for what was a very resonable cost.
My wife enjoyed the gym and indoor pool.
We'll be back to try their Japanese restaurant - and soon!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Geoff C,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

We were pleased to read your comments with regards to our central location, the large room and bathroom, the value for money and our pool & gymnasium.

We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Once again thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future to try Katsura our Japanese Restaurant.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
209 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really like the lobby of this hotel. It has real potential to be a great 5 star hotel given the right renovations and management. People in the reception has really been helpful indeed in answering our questions. The hotel does exudes a jaded atmosphere with somewhat dated carpeting. As said earlier, a few touches here and there would certainly make a huge difference.... but hey, the price might also get a huge boast. On its present state, i would highly recommend it for the price and location. Would not disappoint if you are not looking for a 5 star hotel or a super 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Godwin Dumagat Y,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

The Hotel is rated 4.5 star we trust that this is reflected in our value for money and quality of product, on our recent upgrade we focussed on the guest rooms rather than our corridor carpets which I agree whilst in excellent condition are dated.

We do hope to continue improving the hotel in the near future and do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland is a very nice place to stay. It‘s situated in the city centre, only a few minutes away from the most important sights, shops and the ferries to the surrounding islands.

The huge breakfast buffet was delicious, our room was spacious and clean, the service personnel was friendly and highly attentive all the time. Our very special thanks go to the honest concierge who prevented us from doing the boring things we wanted to do at first – and advised us to go to Devonport instead. We had a great and sunny day over there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veit_Klapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Veit_Klapp,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for talking the time to complete your review following your recent stay.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our location, the room and breakfast quality and our overall service. I will also pass your comments onto our Concierge Team who assisted you.

Thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and it did not dissapoint in any way.
Check in- and out was efficient and personel behind any desk in this hotel were very serviceminded.
A short 15 min. walk to the harbour and it's restaurants and bars.
But the bar at the hotel was good too..
So was the restaurant.
Very close to concert hall and cinemacentre.
We do not like floorcarpets in hotelrooms, and our room had just that, but it was a nice and big room.
We recommend you try this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Livsnyterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Livsnyterne,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled to read your comments especially with regard to our friendly and helpful team members.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Handy to town. Great room, lovely service. Staff on the desk were very obliging and local knowledge re restaurants very handy. Good layout of rooms, and the nice touches with robes much appreciated.
3:00 pm check in was a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McD433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear McD433,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regards to our friendly team and location.

We were thrilled to have your recommendation and Thank you once again for your review.

We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events, this should come in helpful when visiting you daughter.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing