We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was our third time staying at this hotel and found that things were not as good as our previous stay and the meals were definitely not as good. I will be looking for different accommodation for my next stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebTrendz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear WebLight,

Thank you for your review and bringing to our attention the fact that on this visit things were not as good as your pervious stays. We are very disappointed and I have also written to you offline to try and gather some more facts so we can ensure we sort any service shortfalls.

As I have stated in my personal message to you, please do contact me prior to your next stay in Auckland, I would like to assist in ensuring a great stay here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    1,800
    497
    154
    72
See reviews for
718
1,724
271
985
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

OK so here is the bottom line. Average quality room. Average quality restaurant with average service. Cute lobby bar but limited wine selection and average service. The bright spots include easy walking distance to Red line city loop bus, to Sky Tower, down to the harbor. So, the hotel location is convenient but not right at the harbor.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rvstraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Rvstraz,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of the property. We were disappointed to read that you found the hotel to be average in all aspects.

We do pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional guest experience, it is clear that we have not delivered with regards to your experience and for that I would like to extend to you our sincerest apologies.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a well appointed well located hotel in Auckland within walking distance of Sky Tower, the universities, and the harbor. The rooms are spacious, outfitted nicely, clean, with an excellent staff to serve you who are very accommodating and helpful. The food at the Straits Cafe was very good as well. The place has a very good ambiance. We were very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Whiskersr,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, our team will be delighted as I was to read your comments following your recent stay. The Team have worked very hard to ensure a welcoming environment and your feedback has let us know that at least on your experience we have been successful in our objective.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

An enjoyable experience overall. A spacious room, lovely bathroom with bath and shower, good room service food - the cheese platter was worth the $20. Has a lovely indoor swimming pool and gym. Excellent service with free wi-fi and very central to Queen St and Sky Tower. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear 5884,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regards to our value for money, facilities and excellent service. I will ensure that I pass on your comments to our wider team.

We are thrilled to have your recommendation and we do trust you enjoyed your visit to Auckland and hope you will have the chance to return soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The employees were always so kind and helpful regardless of what time we called. The cleaners did more then clean my room, they went to the extent to neatly organise my kids toys and our shoes. We had a flat tyre and only asked for assistant in locating a jack and Soli (employee) went the to the full extent to change the type for us.

The place itself was very clean, the rooms were spacious, the food was good and the price was reasonable. Will definitely be staying again. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhungamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Nhungamelia,

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay including rooms, the value for money and our overall guest service. Soli and the rest of the team staff are truly appreciative of your kind words recognizing their wonderful customer service.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at the Rendezvous Grand and it is generally a nice, well established hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is well positioned for getting into and around Auckland but it is quite expensive.
The hotel itself appeared 'tired' and in need of refurbishment and a good freshening up.
If I was to visit this lovely country again, I'd try somewhere else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Bob B,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you generally enjoyed the hotel, its location and the service we offered.

Thank you also for your comments on the refurbishment, we appreciate and value your feedback as it provides us the opportunity to review and ultimately improve our processes.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a coach/cruise holiday around New Zealand and return to Australia. The facilities offered by the hotel were totally outstanding. Just loved the bathroon mirrors that allowed you to see the back of the head as well as the front at the same time. The food was fabulous,so was the pool and sauna that was available to guests. The hotels location was very close to the theatre and large shopping centres. The staff were friendly and helpfull in every way and I would not hesitate a return visit in the future. I have found other same named hotels all to be of the same standard. Our group returned to the hotel for a second night a few nights later.

Room Tip: We only stayed in one room so not able to compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitenite_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear whitenite_10,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent 10 day visit to New Zealand. Our team will be delighted as I was to read your comments, The Team have worked very hard to ensure a welcoming environment and your feedback has let us know that at least based on your experience we have been successful in our objective.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing