We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had booked this hotel as a stopover from Santiago to Sydney for two nights. Our flight arrived at 4.30am Auckland airport and we were at the hotel at about 6am. Even though check in was not till the afternoon, the night manager appreciated our long flight and offered us access to our rooms immediately after completing the paperwork. The room and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor facing the street and the view was amazing both during the day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 217Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear 217Lena,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will be sure to pass your comments onto our wider team whom as I was will be delighted to read them especially with regards to our service.

Once again we thank you and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    1,783
    495
    154
    72
See reviews for
715
1,705
268
980
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came here for a weekend away in the big smoke and really liked the experience. Reception staff were friendly and fast, room was very clean and tidy and modern, elevators were prompt too. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear CameronKerr,

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to complete your review. We were delighted to read your comments with regard to your experience with us taking the time to note the guest service and our facilities.

Once again thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon and we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosman, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the Easter break. It was one of the best holidays we have had. Beautiful room, great buffet breakfast. Good facilities including gym and swimming pool and most importantly very friendly staff. It was a busy time but the staff were going out of their way to help you specially I have to thank Mr. T. Nishi who was extremely helpful with booking some activities for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcyApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear IcyApple

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Easter Break with us taking the time to note the beautiful room, great breakfast and facilities.

Taka and the rest of the team staff are truly appreciative of your kind words recognizing their wonderful customer service.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times, most recently April 2014. It always has good service, spacious rooms - great to have a bath. Reasonably comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. I had room service breakfast due to early start this last time and the waiter was the best service I have ever had - due to my error something missing but no worries he was off and back again with smiles and silver service professionalism. Anyhow back to hotel - great if you buy on an advance special but for 41/2 star rating its decor, gym, pool, stained carpet etc really needs updating. No way I would pay normal rack rate for current condition. Relatively central and parking available too. Can walk to theatre and many dining options. Would stay again if on a good deal :-)

Room Tip: Perhaps ask if there are any refurbished?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear latabi,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and learn that you have stayed with us a number of times.

We were pleased to read that you find the Hotel comfortable along with good service and especially that of our Room Service Team Member, I am guessing this is Alex one of our long standing team members. I will be sure to recognise his efforts in our next team meeting.

We have recently refurbished our Hotel Rooms, we are working with our owners on the Pool and Gym area although I would argue that they are superior to many of our competitors as they stand now.

Stained carpets are unacceptable and I will write to you offline to establish exactly where they were so we can address this issue. Thank you very much for bringing this to my attention.

Once again thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon and we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop


General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel because my flat was having it's front fixed and it was State of Origin time. I decided it would be my birthday treat.

This hotel is at the top end of town, but the 'free' bus (50c if you don't have a bus card) stops right outside it and goes all around town every 15mins or so. Saves you walking up that damn hill!

Check in was very easy and getting to my room made me feel like a kid in a maze - it's seriously a big hotel! The room is nice and spacious and everything works and OMG the bathroom! It's massive! The biggest 'standard' bathtub I have ever seen.

The bed was large, the couch was perfect and the TV was good. And I got to watch State of Origin right up until my eyes closed and missed us winning the only game we've won in forever...

View from the window was good considering it was a cheap room. I got to see the sunrise and could watch the council building slowly turning on it's lights. It looked like a deck of some sort below me, perhaps an outdoor eating area.

I didn't get to explore much as I checked in about 6pm and then had to leave around 8am the next day to go to work but it was a good time.

Checkout was easy and pleasant. I was happy with staff, none of them were jerks like you can get in these hotels.

I recommend it. It's pretty safe area too as the central police station is directly opposite ;) but you don't hear sirens.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamozbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear iamozbok,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review of the hotel.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be friendly and accommodating, the room and bathroom to be very clean and large, the location excellent and our rooms offering a nice view.

I was also pleased to read that despite you missing the end of the game your team won, as a fellow NSW Blues supporter I know your pain.

Once again thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon and we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianella, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed three nights.
Wonderfull service , staff extremely helpfull and friendly.
Central to everywhere.
Rooms and beds extremely comfortable.
Would not hesitate recommending this hotel.
My wife are extensive travellers and have experienced lots of hotels, this one is right up there.

Room Tip: My wife has a colapsible mobile scooter. No trouble getting it in and out of room or lifts, storage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egidio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Egidio R,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled and very proud to read your comments especially with regards to you and your wife being extensive travellers and that we are right up there as far as your experience goes.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in rendezvous just for one night. Upon arrival, the checkin staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We had a delux king room which was really spacious. The bathroom was generously sized too. We used the pool and gym facility which was fantastic :) The hotel was previously Carlton which was one of the best hotels in auckland...hence the grand foyer.

There only two things that was a little less than 100%. The tv remote battery was flat. The toilet was not flushing too well.

Overall great stay. Will stay with rendevous aucland again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iris X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Iris X,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you generally enjoyed the hotel, our friendly team along with pool and gym.

Thank you also for bringing to my attention the small things that impacted your stay, we appreciate and value your feedback as it provides us the opportunity to review and ultimately improve our processes.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing