We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location in Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great central location in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I usually choose hotels overlooking the harbour when in AKL but could not arrange one this time because of the rugby test. So I picked this one based on price and location and was extremely pleased. In fact I'll strongly consider it in future instead of the harbourside options.

Check-in was fast, rooms were large, comfortable, nicely equipped, and quiet.

Fitness centre is quite acceptable and the sauna works quite well (not always the case)

Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor has the fitness centre and might be more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear pcrosley,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we are delighted to have you with us and learn of your experience.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto our team who as I was will be equally pleased.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,700
    1,764
    493
    153
    70
See reviews for
709
1,685
267
966
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I booked this hotel online for an overnight business trip based on price, as I had never stayed here before. Upgraded to a club room though I doubt I would do this again as I didn't think the lounge offered this value in the evening, though the breakfast was a little more impressive.Good location in downtown Auckland. Bedroom was large enough and comfortable. All things taken into account this was a good choice for the cost so on this basis I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear alastair4

Thank you for your review and you continued patronage of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we are thrilled to have your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wow - we're never staying anywhere else now! The overall experience from booking on-line and then check-in, through to meals, room size, and the wonderfully attentive duty manager (thanks Mr Santos) was fabulous. I would really recommend the Rendezvous for not just its great proximity to the city, particularly the Civic where we saw James Blunt, and the free parking, but a wonderful overall experience. When you book somewhere online, you're never quite 100% sure of what you're going to get but here our expectations were well exceeded. We're never going to stay at the Langham (the old Sheraton) again now that we've discovered this. Our child-free weekends are going to be spent here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ninth floor - the floor before the concierge service floors - for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brainyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Brainyb,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled and very proud to read your comments especially with regards to the service offered by Mikee -- Our Guest Services Manager.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel over Queen's Birthday weekend. The trip was for my birthday and on booking we mentioned this to them and they put us in a great room with a good view (Thanks Michael!) The room was just as expected from the photo's, very comfy and not too small. We also opted for the buffet breakfast which was very nice. We had dinner in the Katsura Restaurant downstairs, although a tad overpriced the food was of good quality. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Auckland as it is very conveniently located

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyHargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear EmilyHargreaves,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read your positive feedback from your Queens Birthday weekend stay.

We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events

Thank you very and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

As said in the title, the hotel is conveniently located in Auckland, the rooms are of good quality and the prices good. However a mistake was made; I had paid for the room before arriving, however upon arrival my credit card was taken, and they were supposed to only block a certain amount, but they debited it. The following day they advised me, apologized and refunded me, but with the bank fees and the exchange rate of my French card, their mistake cost me about 20 NZD : this is not professional and a bit of a rip-off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNDALLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear TNDALLE,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we very much appreciate your feedback with regards to the quality and location.

I have also written to you offline and as I advised if you have been left out of pocket we will reimburse the difference, I am very sorry that this has occurred.

Thank you very and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently used this hotel for accommodation and a conference, whilst it is in a great location parking was a challenge and was full before half the team arrived. The food was great but the conference rooms were odd shaped, dark and small probably a function of being an older building. The bar and atrium are fantastic and the pool great but in terms of sitting all day in a room conferencing a little bit more light would help the sound was useless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Tonya T,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of the property. We were disappointed to read that you found the hotel to fall short of your expectations with regards to the conference room and parking, many of our rooms do have natural light, however these can full very quickly due to demand.

On a positive note we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed the quality of food, the atrium lounge and pool area.

We do pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional guest experience, it is clear that we have not delivered with regards to your experience and for that I would like to extend to you our sincerest apologies.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

At the upper end of the CBD, but still very handy to everything. Service is attentive and the rooms were clean and tidy and above average size. We have stayed there more than half a dozen times and will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Neill R,

It is a pleasure to hear from one of our regular guests here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and on behalf of the team would like to thank you for your continued loyalty and for taking the time to complete your review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoy our attentive service and good sized rooms, once again thank you for your recommendation and we do hope you will have the chance to return very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing