We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We (family of 4, kids aged 7 & 9) stayed here for 2 nights. Booked and got a "5 freebies deal", which was really good value.
From the time we drove in until the time we checked out we had excellent service from reception, porter and cleaning staff.
Room was really nice, separate bedroom. Kids slept on pull out couch which was made up ready when we arrived.
Kids loved the heated pool. Great location, we walked everywhere (vector arena, viaduct, sky tower). Restaurant/bar was good, yummy breakfast.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

we stayed on the 21st floor facing out towards queen st, wow! what a view! we almost didnt want to go out at night because we were enjoying just watching the city at night (the museum lit up blue was pretty cool)
from the moment we arrived we were impressed with the friendliness of the staff, they all seemed happy in thier jobs, from the valet guys to the reception, bar staff, even the cleaners the next morning, all smiling and relaxed, the opposite of what we found at the auckland herritage.
our one bedroom suite was nicer than the photos look, a large kitchen with everything you would ever need, good size bedroom with 2nd tv, i-pod dock/radio/alarm.
small bathroom with no bath, but the shower was good, being a slide shower ment i didnt have to wet my hair like often happens for me with fixed shower roses (i'm 5'2 but they are always catered for 7' giants)
the bed was the best we have stayed in, nice and soft, with plenty of puffy pillows

all in all we loved staying at citylife auckland, we realy cant fault it, best location in town and realy well priced compared to alot of other places we looked at.

we will definatley be going back, and soon

Room Tip: the higher up you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaeroaFishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The only place I stayed on a one night business trip and now have had bed bugs. House now has had to be fumigated. Cannot prove it was the hotel but other options, e.g. Air NZ or Avis, are not likely.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusinessTraveller097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

The Hotel was advised at the time of this guests concern and we responded to him separately. I do certainly sympathise with him and agree the bites must have been very uncomfortable and frustrating. However the hotel is confident that the bites were not an outcome of his stay with us, as only two weeks prior we had that specific room completely spring cleaned (as part of an annual spring cleaning program done by the hotel) which includes sanitising the bed mattress, base and headboard by a specialised company experienced in this area. This external company was also adamant the issue was not generated from the hotel.
Unfortunately bed bugs are becoming more and more common in New Zealand and not necessarily limited to accommodation providers but also in the home as they can be found in the mattress bed frame, behind wallpaper or in furniture. They can also be transferred on public transport like airline seats and from luggage to luggage.
Experts on bed bugs now say that New Zealand is at the verge of pandemic stages and as this gentleman states it is possible that he came in contact with the bed bugs from another source.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I have stayed many times at the Heritage Auckland but got a better rate at City Life so thought I would give it a go. It was perfectly adequate, staff at front desk were friendly and efficient. Our 2 bdrm suite was adequate although definitely not as spacious as the Heritage. Both bedrooms were noisy at night, it was impossible to shut out the noise of the pub on the street. However, it was clean and tidy. My biggest disappointment was actually breakfast....not worth the money, very limited choice, bread dry, fruit limited....staff very off hand.......overall, it was fine, but not as good value for money or pleasant as the Heritage, and will definetly not stay there again if I can get into the Heritage instead!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamespascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

After traveling for nearly 20 hours from the USA, we arrived at citylife at 8:30 in the morning. They generously accommodated us by granting us our room at that time, several hours prior to the designated check-in hour. The staff was helpful in steering us to restaurants and sites for our one-day stay prior to moving southward through New Zealand. They even opened the gym for us at 4:30 in the morning the next day and called a less expensive taxi to take us back to the airport for our flight to Wellington. There were many similar hotels in the downtown auckland area to choose from, but we got a great expedia rate at citylife and it was very clean and the staff was exceptionally accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereourkidsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed 1 night in a One bedroom suite, which is a good size and didn't feel cramped. The Queen Bed in the bedroom was very comfortable and the hotel offers the option of pillow menu which is a lovely touch. The sofa bed was comfortable for one person, would be o.k for 2 younger children.

Very clean and nicely furnished with kitchenette and dining table, the fridge was larger than you get in most hotel rooms, great if you are staying a few days and want to self cater. The bathroom had nice amenities and the shower was hot and the pressure was good.

We had drinks in the bar before going to our concert and although quiet it had a nice atmosphere and the staff were friendly and relaxed.

The breakfast buffet was provided as part of our hotel package and was pretty standard affair. Again the staff were very friendly and attentive.

Not problems on checking in or out which is always nice, the reception and the valet parking staff were efficient.

In regard to noise, yes we did here some sirens, noises etc but its right in the middle of the city so thats is the trade off. Can't say it disturbed us at all.

Would definitely stay here again if wanting inner Auckland hotel. It really is a great location for Waterfront or Vector arena (brisk 10 minutes walk, don't bother with a taxi unless you have mobility issues).

Room Tip: Ask for room with Sky tower view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My parnter and i have stayed here twice before and are again in June. Excellent facilities and rooms never disappoint. Always friendly staff and valet car service is superb. We woudl stay in no other place in Auckland City but here. Very central location off Queen Street

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexJesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing