We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Tassie
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a suite on the 22nd floor. Great views of harbour and Sky Tower. The only time we noticed noise was on the Saturday night and people yelling could be heard but wasn't a big problem. Great to have a washing machine and drier. Also glad that a variety of teas were provided. Very comfortable bed. The reception staff were very helpful. Only one exception - after the conference had a day staying on and were advised that the Hobiton movie set tour was closed for winter, which was incorrect. We checked it out for ourselves and found it to be open.
We used the airport bus to get back to the airport and it would have been helpful if someone could have helped me down the escalator with my case. They were quite prepared to help if we were going out the top door.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCHarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    509
    100
    41
    14
See reviews for
223
478
76
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed two nights at CityLife for a school holiday break with the family. The two bedroom apartment was spacious, modern and well appointed with a full kitchen. (actually a 1 brm apartment connected to a studio). Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel room was very clean and well serviced. There was a bit of late night street noise but I guess that is part of staying right in the city. Location is great for shopping, entertainment, restaurants and public transport.
The only disappointment was the buffet breakfast, a bit on the ordinary side and service a little lacking.
Overall a clean, friendly and modern place to stay in the heart of Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We (family of 4, kids aged 7 & 9) stayed here for 2 nights. Booked and got a "5 freebies deal", which was really good value.
From the time we drove in until the time we checked out we had excellent service from reception, porter and cleaning staff.
Room was really nice, separate bedroom. Kids slept on pull out couch which was made up ready when we arrived.
Kids loved the heated pool. Great location, we walked everywhere (vector arena, viaduct, sky tower). Restaurant/bar was good, yummy breakfast.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paeroa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

we stayed on the 21st floor facing out towards queen st, wow! what a view! we almost didnt want to go out at night because we were enjoying just watching the city at night (the museum lit up blue was pretty cool)
from the moment we arrived we were impressed with the friendliness of the staff, they all seemed happy in thier jobs, from the valet guys to the reception, bar staff, even the cleaners the next morning, all smiling and relaxed, the opposite of what we found at the auckland herritage.
our one bedroom suite was nicer than the photos look, a large kitchen with everything you would ever need, good size bedroom with 2nd tv, i-pod dock/radio/alarm.
small bathroom with no bath, but the shower was good, being a slide shower ment i didnt have to wet my hair like often happens for me with fixed shower roses (i'm 5'2 but they are always catered for 7' giants)
the bed was the best we have stayed in, nice and soft, with plenty of puffy pillows

all in all we loved staying at citylife auckland, we realy cant fault it, best location in town and realy well priced compared to alot of other places we looked at.

we will definatley be going back, and soon

Room Tip: the higher up you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaeroaFishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The only place I stayed on a one night business trip and now have had bed bugs. House now has had to be fumigated. Cannot prove it was the hotel but other options, e.g. Air NZ or Avis, are not likely.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessTraveller097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
The Hotel was advised at the time of this guests concern and we responded to him separately. I do certainly sympathise with him and agree the bites must have been very uncomfortable and frustrating. However the hotel is confident that the bites were not an outcome of his stay with us, as only two weeks prior we had that specific room completely spring cleaned (as part of an annual spring cleaning program done by the hotel) which includes sanitising the bed mattress, base and headboard by a specialised company experienced in this area. This external company was also adamant the issue was not generated from the hotel.
Unfortunately bed bugs are becoming more and more common in New Zealand and not necessarily limited to accommodation providers but also in the home as they can be found in the mattress bed frame, behind wallpaper or in furniture. They can also be transferred on public transport like airline seats and from luggage to luggage.
Experts on bed bugs now say that New Zealand is at the verge of pandemic stages and as this gentleman states it is possible that he came in contact with the bed bugs from another source.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I have stayed many times at the Heritage Auckland but got a better rate at City Life so thought I would give it a go. It was perfectly adequate, staff at front desk were friendly and efficient. Our 2 bdrm suite was adequate although definitely not as spacious as the Heritage. Both bedrooms were noisy at night, it was impossible to shut out the noise of the pub on the street. However, it was clean and tidy. My biggest disappointment was actually breakfast....not worth the money, very limited choice, bread dry, fruit limited....staff very off hand.......overall, it was fine, but not as good value for money or pleasant as the Heritage, and will definetly not stay there again if I can get into the Heritage instead!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamespascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

After traveling for nearly 20 hours from the USA, we arrived at citylife at 8:30 in the morning. They generously accommodated us by granting us our room at that time, several hours prior to the designated check-in hour. The staff was helpful in steering us to restaurants and sites for our one-day stay prior to moving southward through New Zealand. They even opened the gym for us at 4:30 in the morning the next day and called a less expensive taxi to take us back to the airport for our flight to Wellington. There were many similar hotels in the downtown auckland area to choose from, but we got a great expedia rate at citylife and it was very clean and the staff was exceptionally accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereourkidsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing