We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eight year old mattress takes 'Heritage' too far”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Auckland suffers from a distinct lack of quality accommodation anytime but at NZ$385 p/night for an Executive Suite (room 512) in a Heritage brand hotel, we didn't expect a sleepless night on a concaved mattress, a broken bedside table lamp and faulty airconditioning - but that's what we got. Stripping the bed back in the morning - including the poorly veiled attempt to extend the life of the mattress ie the padded mattress topper, I discovered the date on the mattress was July '04 (see photo). In February 2012 that makes it almost eight years old and it wasn't a quality mattress to begin with. The mattress was so bad, we had to hold ourselves in position on either side of the mattress or roll together in the middle and the pillows weren't much better. Don't even get me started about what creatures are living inside a mattress that's had over five years public use, I shudder at the thought! To explain the faulty air con would take more time that any of us have. We arrived late evening after a flight from Sydney. For the Chairman of an NZ public company, fronting the AGM the next day on no sleep was far from the ideal. We also did not expect this of a hotel recommended by the American Express Platinum Club, but I will contact them about the standard of this hotel. It also wasn't the standard expected by the lawyer from Westpac Auckland (who use this hotel for staff) when I recounted the experience to her at lunch time. We tried to bring the situation to the attention of management but that just compounded the disappointment by an overreaching duty manager out of his depth. Later in the day (Friday) we followed up with the front desk who referred the complaint to the General Manager who, rather than make a call, deemed a sufficient response to be an apologetic email on Monday, offering half off and explaining they're replacing their beds. Sadly the mattress we were asked to pay to sleep on was not replaced before we got there. This hotel is in a central city location, the accommodations are at best 3 star and if you have no reservations at being asked to use an eight year old mattress for $385 or even half that, you may find it satisfactory. We don't.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a new mattress and pillows, a functional airconditioning system an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding our beds, I do take these on board. I can reassure you that regardless of the age every mattress is sanitised every year.
We are in the process of rolling out a replacement bed program for the entire hotel. We have spent the past 12 months creating the new "Heritage bed" concept, our Heritage Auckland hotel has trialled several options last year and the company has agreed on the two models of Sleepyhead beds to progress along with a larger range of pillows to complement the new concept and we are confident guests are going to love these new beds.
Once again thank you; we certainly strive to achieve excellence in every aspect of our business and it is really only with feedback from guests such as you that we can improve and maintain the high standards in which we pride ourselves.
Kind regards
Nicole Lawson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed at Citylife on several occassions now. It is such a great location, so you can walk to anywhere with ease.

Great service, and clean comfortable rooms. Room service was prompt and friendly.

I didn't notice any noise, but then I was a few floors up.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Everything is just nice for any family vacation.
There is kitchen, as well as room services.
I just love the Location :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GladysCasati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the Citylife hotel for a weekend getaway. The facilities and services are good and it is right within the CBD which is handy to a lot of restaurants, bars and Skycity.

However the noise during the night outside of the hotel is constant. We heard a lot of screaming, yelling, rubbish truck emptying bottles during the night and both of us did not have a good night sleep at all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulianSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent there our weekend away and booked their two nights package that we saw on citylife website.that icluded free parking, upgrade to the suite, 30$ meal voucher. The best abou this hotel is of course location,right in the city centre. The room was very clean and spacious.can't critisize anything.definitely will be back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here the past two nights as a family of five with three children under 7. Every staff member we have encountered has been friendly and hospitable, cant fault the customer service one bit! The rooms are spacious and there is so much detail in the little things. Because we had three children they even made up the fold out couch anticipating the number of beds we would need which no other hotel we have stayed in has done (we were travelling with a port-a-cot so it wasn't necessary but the consideration for number of people vs beds was appreciated). Housekeeping even made up the port-a-cot bed which was beyond expectation.

The whole hotel is very clean, the beds are comfortable, the water pressure is good (usually hit and miss on that one in large hotels), there were plenty of pilllows and towels. We really cant fault it.

Room service meals were huge and delicious as was breakfast in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly.

Even waiting for the cars in the vallet parking was no issue, the waiting area was comfortable and the waiting time very short.

The only things that we would change is that we are on the 22nd floor with three ranch sliding doors that open with a standard glass balcony rail. Our youngest (2) is a climber and the doors dont lock so this made us very nervous however the staff did their best to help us by rigging up a lock and chain system and a cable tie on two of the three doors so the effort for this odd request was greatly appreciated though locks would go a long way to helping parents peace of mind here.

All in all, very impressed.

Room Tip: If you have young children and are nervous about young climbers, request a room that doesn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMRSLBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at Citylife, 171 Queen Street, Auckland and were delighted with the experience. Other people have commented as well, that it is on the site of the original His Majesty's Theatre and this position is so central to everything. The service was fine, as was the breakfast and we would certainly be happy to return.

Room Tip: A high placed room is good because there is more likely to be a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing