We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Auckland City”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for Auckland City”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We need to be in Queen Street for a Seminar each month. City Life has good valet parking, the check-in is always friendly and after only 2 visits we feel we are welcomed like a friend.
Clean tidy rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed - for $165 includes valet parking - good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bepaElivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    497
    97
    40
    13
See reviews for
218
468
75
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel was gorgeous the rooms lovely. The staff amazingly friendly. I've never felt so welcome in a hotel before. Would highly recommend it to anyone. Great location in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: HIgher up rooms away from the noise of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

2 friends and I stayed at CityLife Auckland for a girls weekend. Two days before we arrived I emailed and asked if we could change our room from 1 queen to twin beds and this was dealt with really promptly and with ease. The check in staff were very friendly. Our room was well appointed and so centrally located. The only negative was they offer plunger coffee refills but no actual coffee plunger. Also the chopping board was missing and it would have been nice to have one nice platter for cheeses etc. Part of our room package was 2 free drinks and when we advised the staff that there were 3 of us in our party they were only too happy to give us all a free drinks. All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Have stayed here several times before.From the reception staff to the valets to the room staff am always impressed with the way Citylife look after their guests . Well done.

One note of warning Citylife are now charging you to use your credit card. Disappointing!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jocway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in good central location for walking to all the sights. Nice to get a full kitchen with all the utensils etc if you want to cook at night or breakfast. Even has washing machine & dryer which was great. Bathroom a bit on the small side, but did have a good shower. Front desk staff were all very helpful. Free wifi in reception but we had difficulty connecting to this on both days of our stay, but could connect to the wifi with the option to pay. Rooms quiet at night & very clean.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stay here on a regular basis - and if you stay 12 times a year they give you a free upgrade so now always get a suite.
The staff here are excellent, friendly, helpful and have great customer service focus!
The suites and rooms are always clean and are well decorated with excellent toiletry range. A number of the rooms have baths and showers over the bath. Sliding doors open but the decks are so narrow they are not for standing on. The hotel is entirely non smoking. Minbars in rooms, good room service, on site restaurant and a house bar. Lap pool and gym on site and an elevator ride away from Queen Street.

Valet parking is available but does cost $35 which is getting up there.Dont eat breakfast here its over priced!

Reccomend this as the place to stay if you want to be in the heart pf the CBD

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I decided to try this hotel as it is so handy to The Civic and I was pleased I did. I was on the 10th floor so not too high up but there was no street noise. I had a 1 bedroom suite it was a bit tired and the bathroom could do with upgrading, however the bed was extremely comfortable and the complimentary toiletries are great. Very nice having a full kitchen as there is a New World Metro and a Countdown Metro not too far away so you can make your own meals if you want to. Only real downside in my opinion is that the late night room service menu is extremely limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyboysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing