We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Have stayed here several times. The hotel is handy to the motorways to enter and exit Auckland city ... And when you are there you can walk or cheap taxi most places. Generous rooms, comfy beds, clean! Quick, polite service. Thank you City Life Auckland.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karenza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback - we do appreciate it! It is wonderful to give ourselves a pat on the back for making your stays memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    477
    91
    39
    12
See reviews for
209
453
73
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Let's begin with location. Yes, the hotel is in down town Auckland and conveniently located but hotel fails to mention that they're in the darkest, coldest alley in the entire city. Sunlight has never touched the building and even with open windows, it produces instant depression.
The internet scheme for wifi in the rooms is a rip-off which forces you to buy and then rebuy and over again because of the ridiculously limited amount of data allowed. If you've ever been spoiled enough to have internet at home or at work, this absurd internet scheme will surely produce frustration on top of the depression.
Finally, they claim to use regular chemicals in the pool but after 15 minutes swimming my eyes began to burn like hellfire and I was forced to bed, crying in withering pain. So by the end of the week I was blind, frustrated and depressed.
Would I return to this hotel? Not if the Four Horsemen themselves chased me. Auckland it too lovely a city to waste time on this god-forsaken site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I do note you were on the 4th floor for your stay, whilst this is not the lowest floor we certainly do offer rooms right up to levels 24 which offer plenty of light and views over Auckland. We do take your comments on board however feel it is appropriate to clarify some of your points. Firstly internet - we are in line with other competitor hotels and offer several plans depending on the length of stay, these start from as little as $5 per day. We also offer FREE WIFI in the lobby and bar areas for 1 hour up to 100MB valid for multiple devices. Secondly, the Pool, our Pool is salt chlorinated, it meets all health regulations and is checked twice daily by staff to monitor the Ph Levels, chlorine, alkalinity as well as once per week by an independent Pool expert. We take all complaints seriously so the Pool was checked again after the day you departed by the Pool experts who reported all the levels were within regulations. A low Ph level is one of the possible causes for eye stinging, their reading for the Ph was right within recommended levels. They did mention if the pool has not been used for a while then a person may notice a higher level of salt in the water, but as people swims this dissipates. The hotel has since installed a sign recommending goggles are worn at all times as a precaution. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have stayed at Citylife with family on more than one occasion but will not stay again. There are good points; the apartments are central to Auckland restaurants and nightspots. Therein lays one of the problems. Soundproofing is poor so the rooms (staying on the 8th floor) are noisy, the sound of revellers not abating till around 3 am.

Generally they are clean, but one of the non smoking rooms reserved for my children reeked of cigarette smoke.

I booked because of a package offered for free breakfasts. This was confirmed upon booking and by 'phone the day before arrival. Unfortunately , reception staff then insisted that we pay for all breakfasts saying that the deal was only for children. This had not been conveyed to us at any time.. It left a taste worse than the sub par breakfasts themselves.

Room Tip: For sleep quality, a property with better soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 284Blatter284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family with the issues you encountered on your recent stay including the noise from the surrounding bars and clubs, I agree this is very frustrating. We are working with the council to try to make some headway with these bars and clubs - this is a long and arduous process and will not be resolved overnight. We have started the process of installing retro-fitted double glazing to our bedroom windows - we aim to have the entire hotel completed by the end of winter and we are confident this will drastically reduce the amount of noise and ensure a more restful nights sleep for our guests. We are a non smoking hotel, however some guests do chose to ignore this and we do insist on a extra cleaning fee for those guests who ignore our requests. Once again we appreciate your comments, we certainly strive to achieve excellence in every aspect of our business and it is really only with feedback from guests such as you that we can improve and maintain the high standards in which we pride ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this Hotel The service and food were 1st Class.

Tip: When booking look at the hotel website for specials including breakfast. In our case it was cheaper than using the internet hotel room booking websites

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback and comments - we certainly appreciate it! It is wonderful to give ourselves a pat on the back for making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland again in the near future - keep an eye on our website for some extra special deals coming up throughout winter. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The location of this Hotel is fantastic.Perfect if you are wanting to be near everything when in Auckland. Very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are nice and very spacious. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for your fabulous feedback and comments - it is appreciated! We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff who deliver exceptional service day in, day out - so it is great to give ourselves a big pat on the back for making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future - keep an eye out on our website for some fantastic Winter deals. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirongia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

When in Auckland we stay here with grandparents and kids - staff are always more than accommodating are very polite and friendly. They also have a great knowledge of sites to see, eating out places and local transport. The pool is great for the kids - love the free parking. Rooms are spacious (for a hotel), clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are staying for longer than one night I suggest not using the couch bed in the lounge for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments - it is appreciated! We agree that our rooms are the perfect set up for families, with 1, 2 and 3 bedroom options. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future - keep an eye out on our website for some fantastic Winter deals. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

A nice place for a business stay in a very convenient location. The counter staff and concierge were all very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean, bed comfortable. Restaurant good. Some items left behind were returned efficiently thank you! Will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankD883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments - it is appreciated! We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff who deliver exceptional service each and every day - so it is great to give ourselves a big pat on the back for making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future. Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing