We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We stayed in one of the basic rooms for several nights and our overall experience was very good. The location on Queen Street can't be beat, the room was nice and clean, and the staff were very helpful. We had just a few minor complaints. First, the temperature in the room was rather difficult to control, as the controls on the heating/AC system didn't seem to work very well. Second, the internet charges are very high (more than $30/day plus bandwidth charges), though they are similar to what we saw in other business hotels in NZ. Third, whereas the selection of television channels is generally pretty bad in NZ hotels, here it was just terrible; there were no news channels but four sports channels. Overall we would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lasocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    509
    100
    41
    14
See reviews for
223
478
76
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Stayed only 1 night at start of NZ tour. Was ideal from location, cost and functional point of view. Didn't really need the kitchenette but the value was pretty good, Had a separate bedroom and in quiet area without much of a view but only a short walk to most central areas. Clean with average wear and tear. reception fine, area was OK and a small grocery store nearby for bits and pieces. Overall a good start to our touring holiday.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

A good value for the money in the heart of Auckland downtown. Great location, very modern look and feel, good food and good service overall. We stayed 3 days, had no problems and the staff was friendly. The room (we stayed in the basic room) was small, but very smartly equipped. Everything looked new.

If you are staying for only a few days in Auckland this is a great place to stay. Everything is close - the bus station, SkyCity, parks, and all the entertainment.

  • Liked — Everything is new and modern
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dkulpinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We were a little over a week into our trip at this point and felt we should book something with laundry facilities. This was the best of both worlds. A great location in the heart of the action and yet plenty of room in our one-bedroom suite with kitchen and laundry facilities. The view was fine with a peek at the water and the ever-present construction site to the side. The staff was efficient and friendly.

It was an easy stroll down to the viaduct area for great restaurants (CinCin one night, Tahore Indain the next) as well as being handy to Sky Tower, Vulcan Lane and High Street shopping. There are always a few idiots around after dark, but at no time did we feel unsafe walking in the area at night

We were driving and, like most inner city locations, there are some gyrations you have to survive in order to drop the car for valet parking, but it was still easy to find for us first timers.

They do overcharge for internet and business services, but that seems rampant among the big hotels who specialize in expense account clientele. Overall we had a very good experience and felt the few extra dollars for the suite was well worth the price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Business Services
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Z_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

My family and I stayed for 3 nights in Feb, I'd booked a 2 bed exec suite. The suite was great, on a corner with lots of windows on the 8th floor, plenty of space and a lovely kitchen. It was so helpful to have laundry facilites in the suite, and due to being tucked away in a cupboard, they weren't noisy! Good value too I thought, at NZ$544 /night for 5 of us.
We did have to wait an hour past their advertised time to check in (despite requesting an early check in!), but they made it up by taking care of our luggage while we took an overnight trip to the Bay of Islands, and then upgrading us to the Penthouse on the 23rd floor for our final night! Now that's a good view.
The hotel is well located for the waterfront and Skycity.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cafitiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

I stayed here during my last night in New Zealand and was really surprised on how spacious the room was. I spent the little extra money to upgrade to a suite and it was well worth it. It had a full kitchen and washer and dryer. It was on the 12th floor with a great view of the city. For the price (I think right at $140 US) it was great.

  • Liked — Location, room, price
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLJ_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

Firstly, I would just like to say - that my profile photo is of my gorgeous cat Charlie who is alive and well and just likes to sleep under my car.

The service at City life hotel is wonderful. The people are lovely. I took my 'team' here for our Christmas function. You cannot beat this hotel for location, close to Sky City Casino, Queen Street and the waterfront, not to mention the free bus that takes around the sites of Auckland.

The hotel is very clean, the staff are lovely, breakfast if good and the suites are lovely with a nice view (get a high floor room - otherwise its not so good).

The hotel is not quite five star (no turn down service etc), but it is such a good location, with good service and clean rooms (which are extremely comforable) - good food and it has a pool (rare in the inner city) and good gym. Totally recommended as a good quality hotel with great location. My staff had a great time. By the way we booked through wotif.com - recommended for good special.s

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank uandtrademe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing