We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is exactly what I would expect from an apartment style accommodation. I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. The apartment was serviced daily, spotless clean and comfortable. Best of all, the beds and pillows are comfy! I had 4 nights of restful sleep in the room I was in, even though the street was noisy. The hotel is well-located with easy access to everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soonie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your Heritage Experience. We have recently replaced all our beds and we are excited to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed it, sleep is an essential part of any hotel experience and I am glad that you left our hotel rested. We are looking forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great Hotel to stay at. Excellent staff at all levels who make you feel very welcome.
Rooms a are a good size and clean.
Location location location. Short walk to restaurants and the harbour.
Thank you to all at City Life.
Rodney.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Rodney
Thank you for your kind review. It has been a pleasure having you as our guest over the last few years and we hope this continues for many years to come. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Kind Regards
Nicole Lawson
T.H.E General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is truly central to everything.Located on Queen Street not far from the wharf, it provides easy access to everything. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bed was magnificent in terms of comfort and the quality of the sheets. Even the free Manuka toiletries were great! The room was spotless as well as being beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and it was with pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We take great pride in the service and facilities we provide and it was great to read of your positive experiance. We certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Latu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband chose his hotel for its location, center and accessible to every thing. We were in room 911 from 27 nov to 1 dec. we had a suite de luxe room, with a kitchenette , quite spacious but many bed bugs! I was bitten from the first night while I was sitting on the coach, and then followed by other bites until our last evening. I have reported this to the reception who said they will spray the room and bed. But what they didn't clean was the pillows that may also been infested by bed bugs! I was bitten badly 3 terrible bites on my right leg and 2 on my left, and as I write this comment, am still suffering from the itchiness, which I can't seem to get rid off in spite of the cream I have been applying. The hotel duty officer said this is due to the change of season from the cold to dry season!!!!! Staff was friendly, the location perfect, but they should at all times make sure that all room are fumigated after each use to avoid such unpleasant stay!

Room Tip: Go to higher floors, the bar is quite noisy and can be heard on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback. I agree the bites you have must be very uncomfortable and frustrating. However I do not believe that bites were necessarily from bed bugs, more likely mosquitoes, the weather has been at high humidity levels recently. I would like to reassure you that we have a rigorous pest prevention program in place conducted by a professional specialised company ALPECO Ltd – industry leaders in the field of pests. The hotel also completes a thorough cleaning regime for every departing room. We have had ALPECO Ltd in to do two (2) seperate inspections of room 911 and they have confirmed that they could not locate any pest, bed bug (at any stage of life cycle)or otherwise in room 911, they guarantee this 100% and would welcome you to contact them directly should you wish to view a copy of their report.
I certainly sympathise with your situation, however I am confident that on this occassion your bites were not as a result from bed bugs. You have my reassurance that when it does happen (it can, and does, happen in even the best run establishments) that we take the matter very seriously and are using the best technology in the world to prevent and treat the problem.
Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

so well located at such a great price. friendly staff a great place to use as base camp for all city tours and walking tours...walk to the harbour bars , shops and restaurants with ease...enjoy New Zealand...it is so beautiful!

Room Tip: they do put covers on the bed,at firs it's a little shocking but get into it...it must be a mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are happy to hear that you had the opportunity to explore our beautiful country. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were just coming off a cruise with our friends and were spending two extra days in Auckland before heading back to the US. City Life had upgraded us to a suite on the 23 rd floor with our friends. What great facilities with great views and a great location to see and experience Auckland. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The perfect end to a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your upgrade to our lovely Directors Suite and we are were also glad to hear that we were the perfect end to your holiday. We certainly hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to your next visit to CityLife Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We went to Auckland to view the show Wicked and stayed at The City Life Auckland.
We found the staff very attentive and efficient and courteous.
Our room was ready at the time they said and was very clean.
We also booked in the resturant for an early tea which enabled us to get to the show on time. The meal was at reasonable cost and delivered to our table in sufficient time to get to the show.
The rooms were well furnished and comfortable.
The hotel was in Central point for the Main Street, Casino Tower , harbour.
We would stay at The City Life Auckland again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjpchristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review and we are most pleased to hear that you will stay at CityLife on your return to Auckland. We like to believe that we deliver a high level of service and also think the facilities we provide are satisfactory to all guests who stay with us so reading of your positive experience was most satisfying. T.H.E Heritage Experience you shared is one we take great enjoyment from and we would welcome the opportunity to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £86 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing