We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY TWO DAY BREAK”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVELY TWO DAY BREAK”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My self and my 12year grandaughter went to Auckland for a break the City Life was a great location in the center of town very clean the staff were extremely help full We stayed there last year and wouldnt hesitate to do so again.VERY GOOD THANKYOU

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Lynda H

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay here at CityLife Auckland. It was with great pride to hear that you and your grand-daughter had a wonderful time with us and we most certainly hope to host you again in the near future. Hope you have a safe trip back home to Christchurch and all the best for the new year.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    512
    100
    41
    14
See reviews for
227
479
77
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Right in the centre of Auckland within a 10 minute walk to the Quay/restaurants. Rooms clean and comfortable. Concierge knowledgeable and friendly. Parking is expensive at hotel ($35). Wi-Fi only free in lobby, chargeable in room which is somewhat archaeic. They also charge 1.5% on credit cards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Permatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for telling us about your Heritage Experience. We certainly believe in our product and we are most happy with the experience you had. With regards to the area's you pointed out, we will definitely have a look at the options we have for making improvements on this. We are looking forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights..on the way back to Auckland airport. Very good location but not so good view from our hotel room (it is okay since we stayed only 2 nights). Room is interconnect with superior twin. Large sitting and dining area with all the kitchen facilities including dryer and washer which would be great if you stay longer. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room facing Queen Street is great...- room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacardi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review and we very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We are most happy to hear that you will return to us in the future and we are certainly looking forward to it. Wishing you all the best for the New Year.

Kind Regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Thank you City Life hotel for a very comfortable and pleasant stay. This is our second time staying. The staff were top class and so helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. It is so convenient for the shops and public transport. We took the ferry to Waiheke Island on a beautiful summer day. The next time we go to Auckland we will be staying at City Life Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villaheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words they are appreciated very much. It is our mission to ensure every guest has an enriching experience. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future; Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the City Life on Thursday 5th and Friday 6th December. We stayed in room 1707 on the 17th Floor. The hotel was welcoming and provided all of the facilities expected for an inner city Hotel.
We used the Valet parking option for the car which was reasonably priced and efficiently arranged. The entrance to the road off which the Hotel parking is located is quite hard to find but all good once you do.
The room itself was clean and modern. Bed was comfortable and there is a 'pillow menu' if required. Our room was quiet in terms of outside noise but we could hear the "nocturnal activities" from the adjacent room!
The staff in this hotel deserve a particular mention. Every interaction with the staff over the 3 days was a great experience. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy and nothing was a problem. It is a testament to the Management of this Hotel that they have created an excellent culture among the staff.
Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to couples or business people visiting Auckland City who want to be well located in easy walking distance from the action in the city and waterfront.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be less noisy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words and recommendations for our hotel and staff – we certainly appreciate it. It is our mission to ensure every guest has an enriching experience. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future; Kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It was our first experience with staying at City Life and we were very impressed with our room.
The Zest restaurant offered a happy hour meal deal which was outstanding one of the best fillet steaks I think I ever had.
The pool was a big hit with our 7 year old daughter which was a real highlight.
The beds were so comfortable we slept in which is extremely rare for us!
Thank you City Life for a great stay in Auckland

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your Heritage Experience. We have recently replaced all our beds and we are excited to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed them, sleep is an essential part of any hotel experience and I am glad that you left our hotel rested.
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the beef fillet dish - I agree it something quite special - it comes from a local supplier Farm Cove Butchery - simply the best!
We are looking forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I've been staying at the CityLife regularly for the past 10 years - for both business and weekends away. Really great hotel, very comfortable and a nice vibe. Always really clean and great location. The staff are really top class and always go above and beyond to make a really comfortable stay. The apartment suites are really well appointed - so work really well for longer stays. I stay at lots of hotels around the world and it's always a great experience at the CityLife - which is why I keep going back. Thanks CityLife

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAKL, General Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you Sandra for sharing your Heritage Experience - we are delighted that you consider us your home away from home. We look forward to hosting you for many years to come, kind regards Nicole Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing