We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place !!”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I don't usually stay in hotels in New Zealand but highly recommended.
Great staff, great location, great rooms and great buffet breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful even in the early hours of the morning will defiantly be staying again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexiaEksiklioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear AlexiaEksiklioglu,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers and for your great recommedation. It is always pleasing to hear our guests having an all round great experience and we would like to thank you for the opporunity. We hope to host you again in the near future and all the best.

Kind Regards.

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
There are newer reviews for CityLife Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed on Sunday 26th , we had adjoining rooms on the 13th floor which gave us plenty of room and the kids aged 13 and 11 thought it was great especially our view of skytower at night.The pool was also a hit.Rooms were spotlessly clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.We will definitely stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Jenny S,

Thank you for taking the time to give CityLife Auckland your first ever review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great time with us and I have to say that our pool is certainly a facility we are proud of. Wish you all the best for the New Year and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We enjoyed two nights here in a comfortable room on the 15th floor. The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. We appreciated the views out from the room and that it was quiet. Breakfast choice is considerable and reasonably priced. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the quietness and the views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear David190343

Thank you for your recent review of CityLife Auckland. I have shared your comments about our service, rooms and breakfast with the team and we are glad to hear that you thorougly enjoyed your experience with us. Have a safe journey back to the UK and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

if you are moving thru auckland this downtown hotel is close to the business district and waterfront. Since we had a day to kill before our flight home we thought we'd stay downtown (airport express bus stops right in front of hotel stop #4). location was great for a stroll down to the docks/restaurants and then excellent for catching the ferry out to the islands for a day trip. we went for an upgraded room and had a large living room in addition to a decent sized bedroom. all clean and nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear GBB1968

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers and it was with great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We certainly look forward to your next "Heritage Experience" in the near future and wish you all the best for your travels.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights (27-31 December) in a 2 bedroom executive suite travelling with 3 kids while my mother stayed in Deluxe suite which she thought wonderful. We all enjoyed our stay here. Our room comprised of 1 bedroom suite with hotel room attached making up second bedroom and was perfect with kids having own bathroom and TV (3 Tv's all up) which was big hit. Lounge and kitchen area was spacious and beds were the most comfortable we slept on while in NZ! A la carte breakfasts were very nice and filled us up for day practically. Pool kids enjoyed and location of hotel was amazing. You are literally in hub of city. Would highly recommend and we will be coming back. Basini/O'Riley families.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank SharonBasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear SharonBasini

Thank you for taking the time to review CityLife Auckland and we are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We take great pride in the product and service we offer and your review has further solidified our belief in it. Thank you again for sharing you fantastic experience and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

In transit from a cruise around the Polynesian Islands, my husband and I stayed 4 nights at the City Life last week.
There is very little I could complain about and those I will are minor.
We had a 1 bedroomed apartment on the 21st floor and it was very comfortable. I requested a different pillow because of an ongoing neck problem and it was bought within 30 minutes. The bed was more than comfortable. The cleanliness of the apartment after a day touring was first class.
We used the dining room for breakfast and had a more than adequate Continental breakfast for $18.00 a head. One gripe was we thought the cooked breakfast as well at $28.00 each was steep. Also the dining room was closed every night we were there except New Years Eve. We took advantage of the Earlybird Special on New Year's Eve at $28.00 was good value with a choice between 6 different meats and between 4 different sauces, breads and olive oil to start and a glass of wine as well. Our meals were excellent, beautifully presented and cooked as requested. Saying that we did have a bar meal one night though which was available and it was also good value for money and the servings very generous. The surcharge of 20% on dining over the public holiday period was a bit much but as this surcharge seemed to apply everywhere.

The only other gripe was the air conditioning was a bit temperamental and we had difficulty regulating it,

The City Life is in walking distance of the harbour and very accessible to most of the tourist sites.

I would highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the aspect of your apartment if wanting a view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Gemmabel

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our readers and also for your recommendation. We were delighted to hear about your experience with regards to the room, facilities and cleanliness of the apartment as well as the meals which you enjoyed in our Bar and Zest Restaurant.

We were disappointed to hear of your difficulty with the air conditioning and will talk to our Maintenance team about this matter. We wish you all the best for the New Year and hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The suites are amazing, the facilities are great, the location is fantastic.... Best of all the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful!!! A must stay hotel in the heart of Auckland that I totally recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flister55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Flister55

Thank you for sharing your experience here at CityLife Auckland and our team was delighted to hear that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. We wish you all the best for the New Year and hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £91 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing