We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CityLife Auckland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Grand Windsor(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,357)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveller rating
638
552
109
42
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
552
109
42
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity lifequeen streetzest restaurantgreat locationsky towerdeluxe suitefull kitchenvalet parkingwasher and dryernew zealandseparate bedroomcentral locationferry terminalhigher floorwould definitely stay here againhome away from homecomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. We were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. There was a faint smoke smell when we arrived at our room but I didn't take any notice - this got worse at night which was a bit annoying as a asked for a non smoking. However it was my fault not to contact the hotel staff early despite the faint smell - must have stayed in the air con vent. Staff was helpful and very pleasant. Location was excellent!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bluegreenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Bluegreenred,

Thank you for your recent review and we were happy to read of your positive experience with us. With regards to the smoke smell you encountered in your room, this is something which should have been noted by our housekeeping team as we are a fully non smoking hotel. This is not acceptable by our standards and steps should have been taken to ensure this smell was removed, for this I apologise. As stated in your review you should have contacted the front desk as we would have rectified the issue immediately for you. Hopefully you will return to us in the near future so we can give you the complete "Heritage Experience".

Kind regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Wanted somewhere nice to stay in town for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, we had been to City Life before and enjoyed the stay, it is very central, although a bit of a walk to the viaduct (where we had dinner), but overall alway a great place to stay. Booked on line one of the specials, great value to get parking, a late checkout of 12pm and breakfast for the price most hotels charge for one night. The room was a suite with kitchen, lounge and separate bedroom, heaps of room for a couple. The only downside was no bath to relax in, although I did know this when booking. Breakfast is fantastic,.

Overall highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yendor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Yendor64,

Thank you for your recent review and congratulations on 25 years of marriage. We were very happy that you chose CityLife Auckland to celebrate this fantastic milestone and even happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that your review will encourage others to celebrate their special moments with us as well. Congratulations again on your Anniversary and we most certainly look forward to celebrating many many more with you in the future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a 3 bedroom SE corner suite on the 23rd floor. Spacious, fully equipt with extensive views of the Waitamata Harbour and the city. Lovely sunrises in the morning. Simple but tasteful decore, floor to ceiling windows and a small balcony. Felt relatively new and clean. Central location - 20 min walk to the Viaduct Basin, 5-10 min to the City centre. 10 min to Britomart train station. Has a swimming pool, qym and restaurant which we did'nt use. $550 per night, but has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Skin197,

Thank you for your recent review and it is always good to hear from Top Contibutors on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to one of our Directors Suite and that it was to your satisfaction. Our location and rooms are certainly a couple of our highlights and I am pleased that you enjoyed both. We certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards.

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is in a good location for those relying on foot or public transport. You can walk to any of the central city venues and sights, shopping is right outside on Queens Street. Clean and tidy, the price seemed a little high compared to other hotels - but that is expected for its location. Despite what was quoted by Air NZ booking staff, its actually $35 a night for valet parking - don't you wish the hotel websites would name the cost of parking on their websites?? - not $20 on weekends as advised by AirNZ - apparently the sister hotel Heritage is actually $20 a night so clearly they had it confused.
The valets were prompt at getting our vehicle and we had everything we needed there. But just a nice, serviceable hotel, nothing majorly exciting. Bed was extremely comfortable. TV reception was poor on some channels - a few seconds delay between sound and actual lips moving on the tv - quite annoying to watch so we gave up.
We did not use the restaurant or have the breakfasts. Friday night, make your way down to Silo Park at the Viaduct for some great food truck, relaxed market atmosphere - or the posher restaurants along the way.

Room Tip: We were forth floor, right next to elevators, but it was quiet and just fine. Our view was to a carpark, but we were only there to sleep anyway.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Junismum,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers and it is always pleasing to hear from the senior contributors on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you enjoyed our location, services and overall product offered at CityLife Auckland.

With regards to our valet service charge, our hotel as well as Heritage Auckland's is priced at $35 per night so we will contact the agent and ensure they have the right information, furthermore, I apologise for the confusion. The TV signal issue we are currently rectifying this and the slight delay was resolved as soon as we discovered this was happening.

Thank you again for your review and feedback and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards.

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned from spending 4 days at the city life hotel Auckland.We had a wonderful stay. We requested a 1 bedroom executive apartment which we found tone very clean and tidy and had wonderful views as it was a corner unit on the 21st floor. The staff were very friendly particularly the restaurant staff.the beds and pillows were really comfortable and we really enjoyed a good night sleep evert night. Another bonus was the proximity to Town with the airport bus right outside.Well done City life we will definitely be back when in Auckland again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Bernie A,

Thank you for your recent review and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location and staff are certainly one of our main attributes and I am glad that you had a positive experience with both. Thank you again for your kind comments and we certainly look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews