We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service, huge room, 5 star amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service, huge room, 5 star amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed overnight in late June 2014 as a couple.

Arrived here late, and booked the only free room available at the time within our price range. Our car was looked after for us as this is included in the room. The room itself is breathtaking. The staff go above and beyond.

We arrived late for breakfast, which was free with the room, yet the staff in the restaurant allowed us to still grab a meal and even offered to cook us more things.

The pool and gym was a floor beneath us, which was amazing. This place is central to everything in Auckland. Walking distance to the waterfront, Queen Street, Skycity, etc.

5 stars, will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Duncan E,

Thank you for your recent review and we certainly appreciate your feedback regarding the room and our great staff. We wish you all the best for your trip back home to Mackay and hope to welcome you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    488
    94
    40
    12
See reviews for
214
461
73
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in CityLife. The location was superb as it was in downtown area, with shops and restaurants nearby. Moreover, a further 10-15 mins walk to the Waterfront area was even better with a number of restaurants there. The Airport shuttle bus just stopped right in front of CityLife.
Our one bedroon apartment spacious, nicely furnished and equipped with laundry facilities.
Highly recommend this comfortable accommodation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear RonnieHongKong,

Thank you for your recent review and we certainly appreciate your wonderful feedback. We wish you all the best for your trip back home to Hong Kong.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was on transit in Auckland on two occasions and stayed at this hotel. The building seems dated but what made this a great hotel is the location - very much in the middle of Queen St with all the sights of the city within walking distance. It also offers an excellent location if you are taking the Airport Bus which is a convenient and cheap option to the taxis for airport transfers. The bus stop is just right infront of the hotel.

The size of the standard room is just right with an excellent bed - i think is 'memory foam' which needs some adjusting to as I am used to a more firm mattress. If possible, get a room on the higher floor as you would have a view of the sea. Breakfast selection is excellent with a wide choice of fruits and juices as well as hot/cooked food.

I thought the staff are attentive and eager to assist. I arrived early from a long trip from Asia and Jennifer checked me in right away. For my next stay, she also suggested the weekend packages that are cheaper, inclusive of bfast and internet.

Room Tip: Higher floor could give some view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear JPBKK,

Thank you for your recent review of CityLife Auckland and for sharing your experience with our readers. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and agree our location and breakfast selection is excellent. Thank you again for your kind comments and we certainly hope to host you in the near future, have a safe trip home to bangkok.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in CityLife Auckland for one night on a recent business trip. Had a hire car and it was a struggle to find the entrance (address in Queen Street is not the main hotel entrance). However the welcome was warm and the room was comfortable - not luxury standard but adequate). Room view was not great but that is the nature of city centre hotels - some rooms look out onto shabby neighbours. Not the most memorable hotel stay, but good value for the Grabone voucher used for the visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazysteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Crazysteveb,

Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is always good to hear from TripAdvisors Top Contributors. Thank you for your comments about finding the hotel entrance and rest assure we are currently looking at ways to improve vehicle traffic from Queen street. I am pleased to hear you made full use of our Grabone voucher and hope next time you try one of our Suites on a higher floor, this will make your stay much more memorable. Have a safe trip back to Havelock North.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Staff were excellent. Not just efficient but genuinely helpful and friendly. The deal we got was great value, very nice room with good atmosphere. Particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. .Thanks CityLife.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Kelly J,

Thank you for your recent review and we are grateful for your positive thoughts on our property. We are very pleased with your comments and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I needed a place to stay the night which was convenient to the Auckland CBD. The reception staff were polite as were the staff in the restaurant. I had an excellent meal. The suite consisted of a lounge/dining/kitchen with an attached bedroom. While my stay was short, arriving early evening and leaving early morning, the City Life was at least up to my expectations. I would certainly stay again - this time hopefully for a longer time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Phillip H,

Thank you for your recent review and choosing CityLife Auckland as your place of rest and relaxation. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased to know that you will be back. Thank you again for your positive review and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We recently stayed a Saturday night here. The staff were very welcoming. We had requested a room that was high up and were given a room on the 20th floor! We took the $25 upgrade and were very pleased with the corner room we got. It had a separate lounge and kitchen, the bed was lovely - one of the softest beds we have ever had! Our upgrade included free parking and WiFi and we had a lovely breakfast in the Zest restaurant downstairs. The proximity to shops and restaurants was fantastic. We had a really nice weekend away and will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: The $25 upgrade was worth the money for a much bigger room. Rooms that are higher up are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Terresa B,

Thank you for your recent review and choosing CityLife Auckland as your place of rest and relaxation. Thank you for your kind comments and I am please to say this was well received by our staff. Your decision to upgrade to a Suite is always a good choice because of added features you mentioned and I am pleased to hear you were pleased with your decision. Thank you again for your positive review and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing