We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value auckland accommodation”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Staff were extremely helpful, breakfast was superb, room was very clean and comfortable. We were very happy with our stay. It's not new, it's not the cheapest but I would say it is the best value. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Julie M,

Thank you for your recent review and rating us on your stay, I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Recently visited the City Life Hotel, Auckland for a work trip and had an extended stay of 1 month in this hotel. The overall service and support of the whole staff compliment was to an extremely high level of professionalism, which made my experience and stay a most enjoyable one. The room was well set out and maintained by the room service staff to a high level of cleanliness regarding all aspects of the room and linen changes.
The restaurant food experience was consistently at a extremely high standard of presentation and taste, this was also reflected in the room service meals as well.
It is excellent to have witnessed the team efforts by all staff and have to had the extreme pleasure of being able to stay in such a professional establishment that is well managed and operated.
The suggestions of sites to visit by the staff and management, as it was my first visit to New Zealand, was sincerely appreciated and all sites were outstanding tourist experiences.
My sincere thanks to all the staff and management for ensuring my long stay was an extremely pleasurable one and certainly would have no hesitation what so ever in recommending to anyone who wanted or required to stay in Auckland to experience this professional hotels service, accommodation and meals.
The rating I would personally give this hotel would be 6 star, as I have stayed in many hotels over the years, this one is certainly at the top.

Kind Regards Michael

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Enigma639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate your wonderful feedback with regards our staff and facilities and we are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the best for the future and hope your trip back home to Hobart was a safe one. Look forward to welcoming you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently visited CityLife for a work trip. Location was excellent hence the appeal of CityLife. To be honest I was a little disappointed with the room. It was small and felt somewhat dated.
Having said that it was very quiet, considering the location, and the pool was a great way to start my morning.
Felt slightly underwhelmed by the entrance, especially off Queen St. Did not feel that particularly safe entering from Queen Street at 10pm.
Generally good enough, though not sure I will return as feel I can get somewhere more homely/spacious for a similar price. ...(But maybe my expectations are too high??)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SKinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear SKinley,

Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel room and agree with your comments, in saying this, we are looking at a refurbishment plan very soon which I hope will bring our lead in room type in line with your expectations, I would also suggest to book our Deluxe or Executive Suites which I am sure will account for any expectations you have with our hotel rooms.

Regarding our entrance on Queen street, I really think this is a well lit area which creates a homely atmosphere as well as the rest of Queen street so we will look into your comments in more detail.

Thank you again for taking the time and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

had an overnight in Auckand between connecting flights. The service was excellent from the reception to to the porters. Our car was taken to the car park and our bags delivered to our room. The room was clean spacious and the bed was so comfy! breakfast was amazing and an excellent choice including smoothie shots, The staff are all very friendly courteous and nothing is too much trouble. I would defnitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joey340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Joey340,

Thank you for your recent review and we certainly appreciate your wonderful feedback. I agree our service and facilities are excellent and thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay. We wish you all the best for your trip back home to Blenheim.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff were excellent the rooms were perfect.We went for a couple of days for our anniversary, when we entered the apartment there was a card and chocolates from the hotel wishing us a happy aniversary. Then on Saturday there was another gift a plate with fruit and chocolates.They went the extra mile to make our stay one to remember.We would recommend the city life to all, great staff, great location. Thank you City life management and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear sjpips,

Thank you for your recent review and we certainly appreciate you sharing your experience with our readers. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope you cherish the memories created at CityLife Auckland. Thank you again for your fantastic review and we hope to welcome you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is my hotel of choice if I have to stay in Auckland for business. Comfy bed, warm pool, just enough gym equipment for me, and consistently good service from staff. (I also like the breakfast smoothie 'shots')

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Lynley H,

Thank you for your recent review and we certainly appreciate you sharing your experience with our readers. It is very pleasing to hear that we have created an environment which you can call "home" as this is exactly is the ultimate achievement our hotel. Thank you again for your fantastic review and we hope to welcome you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed overnight in late June 2014 as a couple.

Arrived here late, and booked the only free room available at the time within our price range. Our car was looked after for us as this is included in the room. The room itself is breathtaking. The staff go above and beyond.

We arrived late for breakfast, which was free with the room, yet the staff in the restaurant allowed us to still grab a meal and even offered to cook us more things.

The pool and gym was a floor beneath us, which was amazing. This place is central to everything in Auckland. Walking distance to the waterfront, Queen Street, Skycity, etc.

5 stars, will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duncan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Front Office Manager at CityLife Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Duncan E,

Thank you for your recent review and we certainly appreciate your feedback regarding the room and our great staff. We wish you all the best for your trip back home to Mackay and hope to welcome you back to CityLife Auckland in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,629 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £121 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing