We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic location”
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Citylife was the perfect hotel in Auckland for me and my husband. It's excellent location, clean spacious well appointed rooms, and value for money made it one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
We arrived early in the morning from french polynesia and the people at the check in desk were very friendly, helpful, and quick in getting us and our luggage to our suite.
The room had a good size kitchen with washing machine and dryer which we were very pleased about and there was a nice size table to have a sit down proper meal. There was a tv in the main room as well as the bedroom and the bed itself was large and comfortable. The separate air conditioning in both rooms were excellent.
We were lucky to be able to see the top of the tower from out of our window and this was an added bonus.
The location of the hotel was extremely central and so it was very easy to find everything we wanted. The tower was a 5 minute walk and there were lots of shops, restaurants and bars in walking distance including the ferry dock area.
We had a problem with Hertz on our trip and so had to have some faxes of vouchers sent to us from the UK. They arrived without a problem and were put in envelopes under our door. We also used the business centre to print out a few emails free of charge.
The internet was quite expensive sadly and it was based on the bandwidth that you used instead of the amount of time. This was the only disapointment we had with the hotel, however, we found the same problem in most hotels we stayed in in Australasia.
If we visit Auckland again we would definately stay at this hotel. It felt like a home away from home and after travelling for 6 months through south america and the pacific it was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2009

Best location you can ask for as long as you're willing to hang with the weekend party people flowing to Vulcan Lane and coming from K Road. The rooms are fully loaded with all the appliances you'll need, but expect to pay on the high side for broadband internet. The hotel staff will let you use the business center to do simple tasks like checking email and printing documents free of charge though. Reception, concierge and housekeeping are some of the friendliest people I've met. You'll be in good hands with those guys.

One caveat: the elevator swiping system can be a bit tricky, but If you're staying a few days, you'll find that you can use it as a great way to break the ice and bond with other fellow hotel guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karnevore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed at the City Life Auckland for 2 nights in late Feb 09.
The Sky City hotel was my first choice but due to some conference at the time, it was unavailable. Due to business reasons, I needed to be in the heart of CBD and was recommended the City Life.
After checkin the hotel website and the decent reviews on tripadvisor we booked a twin room.

Check in was smooth and efficient. I was anticipating a package from a local contact. They had all my messages and parcels waiting with the room number printed on the envelopes.
We stayed on the 22nd floor.

The room itself was very standard. Nothing special, but nothing bad either.The bathroom was tidy, and spacious.
Only thing i found a bit awkward is the positioning of the tv.I think they have recently installed flat screen LCDs and they had placed the tv in our room in the cupboard and not facing the beds. Ofcourse you could swivel it but it still made for awkward viewing if you are in the habit of dozing off to sleep with the TV on, like I am! :-)

The airconditioning was good. They have the usual tea/ coffee making kit, safe in the closet, hair dryer in the bathroom.

The location is superb. One entrance of the hotel opens up on Queen street . The hotel is within walking distance to Sky Tower and Casino.

Overall it was a satisfactory stay .
Although next time we still be pushing for Sky City or Rydges, we wouldent mind staying at the City Life if our initial choices are not available.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skytrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Good thing is the location, the rooms are very dated and a bit scruffy. stayed in a low floor 2 bedroom unit with room overlooking the entrance to a nearby bar where on the Friday night there were people outside shouting and screaming until about 3am. So beware. It was OK on the Thursday night, I think maybe its where office workers go at the end of week.
The gym was poorly equipped and the pool made us itch! Probably too much chlorine,
It was reasonable value I suppose but no more than a 3 star hotel and by far the worst place we stayed in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We spent 5 nights at this property early March. The best part of CityLife is its prime location in Auckland's CBD. It is close to everything. Parking is reasonable ($30 NZD) but be aware that parking on the street is free after 6 pm. The staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) are efficient and helpful. Our only issue was with the actual unit. We were in #909 and it was obviously very dated. The TVs were ancient and the dark carpets were frayed in spots. The bath tub was a challenge to get in and out of. Despite this, I feel the location and value makes up for the units shortcomings.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

A good hotel in an excellant location. We had no adverse comments.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

I spent a long weekend at Citylife in December 2008 and a Saturday night in January 2009. On both stays I had a two bedroom apartment which was clean, spacious and well equipped, with the exception of a rather ancient tv in the living area. Avoid looking out of the windows unless your idea of scenery is a car park or the rear of a building and the lower floors suffer from noise from the air conditioning units. But then you do not stay in a city centre for the views and being able to step out on to Queen Street is compensation enough. The staff were delightful and dealt promptly and efficiently with tumble dryer which refused to start. Great to be able to catch up on the laundry. Weekend deals are good value. Ideal for two couples on a trip to the city or to catch up on sleep after a long flight.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJock_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,832 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland Central, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £86 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing