We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CityLife Auckland
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$160
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$309
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$196
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$286
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$218
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$171
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,357)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveller rating
638
552
109
42
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
552
109
42
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity lifequeen streetzest restaurantgreat locationsky towerdeluxe suitefull kitchenvalet parkingwasher and dryernew zealandseparate bedroomcentral locationferry terminalhigher floorwould definitely stay here againhome away from homecomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,229 - 1,234 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Good quality place to land or before you travel home, check prices as there are some great rates and you are near all Aukland has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zacaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We arrived at the CityLife after a short three hour flight from Sydney.
The reception was very efficient, the concierge run by Jacky was super efficient and also proved to be very helpful when we needed help and advice.
We had a two bed room suite that was very comfortable and my wife fell in love with the big bed.
The position is fantastic as it is right on Queen Street the main shopping road in Auckland and is just a short walk from the Sky City Tower.
There is not a lot to say about the hotel, there was nothing I could complain about, the lifts were efficient, the food on room service was nice and when we had finished our two weeks running around the North Island in a camper van we chose to spend our last night in New Zealand back at the CityLife where we all had hots baths and a great nights sleep in a comfy bed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acerockolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Citylife was the perfect hotel in Auckland for me and my husband. It's excellent location, clean spacious well appointed rooms, and value for money made it one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
We arrived early in the morning from french polynesia and the people at the check in desk were very friendly, helpful, and quick in getting us and our luggage to our suite.
The room had a good size kitchen with washing machine and dryer which we were very pleased about and there was a nice size table to have a sit down proper meal. There was a tv in the main room as well as the bedroom and the bed itself was large and comfortable. The separate air conditioning in both rooms were excellent.
We were lucky to be able to see the top of the tower from out of our window and this was an added bonus.
The location of the hotel was extremely central and so it was very easy to find everything we wanted. The tower was a 5 minute walk and there were lots of shops, restaurants and bars in walking distance including the ferry dock area.
We had a problem with Hertz on our trip and so had to have some faxes of vouchers sent to us from the UK. They arrived without a problem and were put in envelopes under our door. We also used the business centre to print out a few emails free of charge.
The internet was quite expensive sadly and it was based on the bandwidth that you used instead of the amount of time. This was the only disapointment we had with the hotel, however, we found the same problem in most hotels we stayed in in Australasia.
If we visit Auckland again we would definately stay at this hotel. It felt like a home away from home and after travelling for 6 months through south america and the pacific it was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Best location you can ask for as long as you're willing to hang with the weekend party people flowing to Vulcan Lane and coming from K Road. The rooms are fully loaded with all the appliances you'll need, but expect to pay on the high side for broadband internet. The hotel staff will let you use the business center to do simple tasks like checking email and printing documents free of charge though. Reception, concierge and housekeeping are some of the friendliest people I've met. You'll be in good hands with those guys.

One caveat: the elevator swiping system can be a bit tricky, but If you're staying a few days, you'll find that you can use it as a great way to break the ice and bond with other fellow hotel guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karnevore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed at the City Life Auckland for 2 nights in late Feb 09.
The Sky City hotel was my first choice but due to some conference at the time, it was unavailable. Due to business reasons, I needed to be in the heart of CBD and was recommended the City Life.
After checkin the hotel website and the decent reviews on tripadvisor we booked a twin room.

Check in was smooth and efficient. I was anticipating a package from a local contact. They had all my messages and parcels waiting with the room number printed on the envelopes.
We stayed on the 22nd floor.

The room itself was very standard. Nothing special, but nothing bad either.The bathroom was tidy, and spacious.
Only thing i found a bit awkward is the positioning of the tv.I think they have recently installed flat screen LCDs and they had placed the tv in our room in the cupboard and not facing the beds. Ofcourse you could swivel it but it still made for awkward viewing if you are in the habit of dozing off to sleep with the TV on, like I am! :-)

The airconditioning was good. They have the usual tea/ coffee making kit, safe in the closet, hair dryer in the bathroom.

The location is superb. One entrance of the hotel opens up on Queen street . The hotel is within walking distance to Sky Tower and Casino.

Overall it was a satisfactory stay .
Although next time we still be pushing for Sky City or Rydges, we wouldent mind staying at the City Life if our initial choices are not available.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skytrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews