We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal start to the New Zealand adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityLife Auckland
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal start to the New Zealand adventure”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Stayed here for one night before undertaking a self-drive tour of NZ.

Was a little difficult to find, as the entrance is off Queen Street, but got there eventually - part of the adventure!

The room was fine, clean, all expected conveniences and facilities, not much of a view but didn't expect much in the city centre and at such a reasonable price.

However, the staff are worth a special mention. We arrived on an early flight, and got to the hotel at about 10.30ish, not expecting to be able to check in, just wanting to confirm our room and see if we could leave the car.

The concierge wouldn't hear of it, and said we should at least try to check in. The woman behind the desk said (with a smile!) "of course, just let me check if there's a room ready", and within 10 minutes we were in, and ready to shower after the long trip from the UK. The person that helped us with our bags wouldn't even take a tip, even tho in my jet-lagged state I tried to force it upon him.

Top marks all round for service.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    485
    92
    40
    12
See reviews for
212
460
73
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We've stayed at Citylife Hotel a number of times with young kids (6, 4 and 9mths old) Great location, rooms always very clean, and often have good deals (via their own website) Usually we stay in a one bedroom executive suite which can include parking and breakfast - 2 older kids sleep in lounge on foldout couch and we sleep with young one in our room in a portacot - this time we stayed in a 2 bedroom executive suite which is a one bedroom executive suite with an interconnecting standard room - well worth it for us (no need to share a room with baby!!), older kids could watch TV in "their" room.

We always make use of the indoor heated swimming pool, again very good. Staff are excellent. Breakfast is average, we sometimes just bring our own cereals etc given the rooms are well kitted out. You do see a lot of other hotels on special, but Citylife for us is consistently good all round.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizzyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

ck in was great ,staff was great , but would not stay there again due to the carpets just like a truck stop maybe a little worse.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aks472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We have just been to Auckland for Pearl Jam (fantastic) and stayed at CityLife in a 3-bedroom apartment on level 12 - which was actually 3 x interconnected rooms (2 x 1 bedroom & 1 x king studio) so was really spacious. Valet parking was included in our rate, and the location is great as a quick walk to Britomart for the train.
Only negatives would be understaffed at reception resulted in delays both checking in and out and the Pool was very disappointing - it was quite cool (chilly) and in a room with no ventilation so quite stuffy/chlorinated.
Pros - clean, great location, quiet (on the 12th floor there was no noise from the street), space, nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Stayed 7 nights. First suite was on side of hotel with a noisy bar below -- loud music well into small hours. But, moved to suite on other side of hotel - living room, kitchen, bathroom. excellent bed -- and quiet. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Small gym, with three exercise machines. Small hotel pool. Room was very clean. Overall, good stay, and good value for price. Only issue: Internet access was way too expensive. The solution: walk 100 m to nearby Starbucks and get a cheap 7-day wireless access pass.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frecuente-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertinoro, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Beautiful stay in Auckland at the Citylife Hotel. They gave us the executive suite because we were in honeymoon! The room has the kitchen, a large bedroom, the sitting room, washing machine and tumble-drier. The holet is located only 10 minutes from the Skycity and it is directly on Queen Street, one of the main shopping street of Auckland! It is perfect!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EnricoCantarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Hotel is on Queen Street - a quick walk to the Sky Tower, the harbour and lots of shops. We were able to check in early which was fantastic. Had a room on an upper floor, so there was minimal noise. Kitchen area in the suite was in need of a good scrubbing though the rest of the room was ok. Didn't park a car, but valet was $30...and hotel internet was something like $27 a day.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Property: CityLife Auckland
Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-326, Auckland 1143, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing