We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Arrived after a long day of travelling and were greeted with smiling faces and a nice cold cider in the hotel bar. Room was pretty basic but had an awesome view of the water front. Staff were excellent. Can't say anything bad about this place, was a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Hi Kristie

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement, I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel, found the staff friendly and views good.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    162
    215
    102
    41
See reviews for
88
236
49
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We found the room pleasant, and beds comfortable. Bathroom spotless and lovely white thick towels Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in our room rate which was a plus, good selection of cold and hot food and plenty of it,so much so we didn't need lunch. Parking is limited,but we did locate a space (at $10 this is reasonable compared to $25 at some other hotels in the area, we then used taxis to and from our function. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only small problem was noisy people in corridor slamming doors early in the morning.

Room Tip: rooms on the harbour side have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Hills50
Thank you for the glowing review about the hotel and staff. I am also very pleased to hear you found the breakfast appealing. We have placed a large emphasis on fresh produce for our guests. I do apologise you were woken up due to banging doors, I hope this did impede on your stay too much. If you are returning please contact me and I will be happy to ensure you are placed on a high floor and ensure we try our best to ensure you are not woken up again.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We live in Auckland and stayed here one night for a friend's birthday "night out". I must admit, I was expecting the worst. But the price was right and the parking was free, so what the heck.

I was pleasantly surprised. The staff at reception were really friendly and helpful. We'd asked in advance for a DVD player (one of our birthday gifts was a photo DVD) and it was waiting for us at the front desk.

The rooms are a little old but very clean and totally adequate for a night or two. The shower was big but had some older tiles that could use a re-grout. But nothing dirty, just age. The balconies are a nice touch. My husband appreciated the thickness of the glass - he's a real stickler for those things and commented on how quiet it was.

We had a drink at the bar, which was totally fine and had a nice area with some comfy seats and a TV. We didn't eat but the restaurant looked nice enough.

If it's romance and luxury you're after, head up the street to the Langham (and be prepared to pay for it), but if you need a reliable and clean place for a few nights on business or with family, this is a great option.

It's also a quick cab ride away from Britomart bars and restaurants, and the Viaduct.

Room Tip: We got a room on the opposite side - facing Parnell. It was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Tamablue
Thanks for your comments. I am happy to hear you had a good nights sleep and that the hush glass blocked out all the noise as well as pleased the view over Parnell and harbour appealed to you. I am delighted to hear the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is poor value for money. We purchased a deal which included parking, a two for one meal voucher and 2 free drinks as well as a late check out.
Parking is on a first come first served basis which is fine, but the hotel staff give out more parking vouchers than they have spaces for i.e. they do not moitor in any way whether the car park is full. We were told one we had a voucher we were OK to come and go as the voucher meant we had a space. Later that day (when we returned to no parking spaces) we were told that the staff did not monitor how may token they had given out and that if there wasn't a space then that was tough. If you had paid the $15 per night for a space this would be exrememly annoying. as it was we returned at half 12 at night to find we were then expected to try and find another car park.
Don't get the breakfast, even with a 2 for 1 voucher it is not worth the money. Plenty of local cafes do a much better deal. The breakfast in the hotel was luke warm at best and mostly over cooked. Plus if you do get the 2 for 1 vouchers we got you can only use the free drink vouchers if you get an evening meal. None of this was clear on the vouchers.

Rooms were average, bathroom had obviously been refurbished reently though it looks as if the cleaners felt this was justification to not clean them as they needed a really good scrub (mould growing in the grout).

In all there are other hotels within the vicinity that offer much better value and I would only visit this hotel again as a last resort.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachelKillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Rachel
Thank you for taking the time to write and inform me of your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear you left the hotel feeling you had not received what you had been expecting or paid for. We do try and ensure all of our guests leave recommending us. Our parking is on a first in basis, however we do not sell more tickets than we have spaces. We do monitor the car park regularly, however there are on occassions illegally parked car owners do not inform us. On these occassions we do place a letter informing the guest that their car will be clamped if infringement repeated. I am sorry if it was not made clear or explained correctly to you. I will ensure we use this as a tool to retrain and ensure consistency with information we are handing out to our guests. Our Car Parking is $10.00 a day and not $15.00 which is very reasonable when comparing with other hotels in the area, most charge between $25.00 and $34.00 per day. We do have various promotions, one being a 2 for 1 main meal and 2 free drinks when dining in the Restaurant. This promotion has been designed to generate more dinner covers, I am sorry if you felt this was unreasonable, it was not our intention to leave you feeling that way. We have discussed your comments about housekeeping and will endeavour to ensure our standards are not compromised and consistent for all our guests. We do pride ourselves on our service and standards within the hotel. I apologise if this was not up to your expectations for your stay with us. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to conatct me as I would really enjoy the challenge of turning you into a customer for life.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Spent the night here to attend a family wedding in the city. Got a deal direct with the hotel website, including parking and breakfast for just over $100 from memory. Could not fault the service or the room, breakfast was fine. Parking was a little tight, but we managed to find enough space for our 2 cars without waiting.(there were 3 families in our party). Cheap taxi to anywhere in the cbd. Would stay here again any time - cheaper than a cab home from the city!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shazdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Shazdon,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I trust you had an enjoyable wedding and we sincerely hope the happy couple share a long and fulfilled life together. If you are planning another stay in the city, please feel free to get in touch as we would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I found this place friendly and helpful Location great but very noisy and parking expensive. The restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: small rooms and rather old
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yippeimgoinngonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback about the restaurant and hotel staff. I am sorry you found the car parking expensive, we do only charge $10.00 compared with other hotels ranging between $24.00 and $35.00. We also have hush glass in all rooms which blocks out the noise from the road. Are you sure you stayed at Copthorne Hotel Auckland city and not Copthorne Hotel Harbour city on the viaduct?

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Overall this stay was very good value. Bathrooms had been upgraded and were fresh and clean. Staff were incredibly helpful both in advance of and during our stay. Balconies provided a fresh breeze, but outside noise was minimal once windows closed (phew!). A pleasant short walk to the Vector Arena, even with child in the dark. I'd stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Bec
I am delighted to hear that you have noticed the positive changes in the hotel, including the hush glass which blocks out the noise and the bathrooms. We are the closest hotel to vector so an easy choice for concert goers but good to hear that you found the staff friendly and efficient during your stay too. Hopefully we will have another opportunity to welcome you back. If you decide to come back and there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyabloe, please feel free to contact me.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing