We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow to upgrade/refurbish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Slow to upgrade/refurbish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at Copthorne City Hotel in Auckland for 5 days and this Hotel was our 3rd stop on our 5 weeks trip of New Zealand's North Island. Check-in is easy as along as there are no tour groups check-in which we were very lucky to be ahead of one.

The hotel is old but still nice and it is part of the Millenium Group of Hotels. We were given room 402 which was no bigger than our accomodation at Quest Albany. We were told that this is an upgraded room because it was booked by Auckland Uni for us. The room is on the corner and is facing UniLodge accomodation on the left side and Beach Street in front, it is clean and this time there are 2 very small bedside drawers to put our undies but not enough. Toilet also don't have bath tub and small. Internet also is a premium but there is free 20 minutes wireless internet access per 24 hour at the lobby but no pc like Quest and Ibis for free access. The things I didn't like in this hotel are: they're still using keys accessing your room! which you need to return to reception everytime you leave the hotel and the in room tv is a 19" crt tv! (this hotel has been left behind by the time, its like you're staying at the 80's hotel)!

The hotel's restaurant, Zoe's, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner which serves buffet and a la carte. We had a dinner here and the food is good, we took advantage of a 2 for 1 offer of main meal. It is around 15 minutes walk to city centre and the viaduct.

We will be coming back to this hotel after our Coromandel and the Bay of Island trip and I will rate the return stay.

Room Tip: Get rooms facing Beach street and not Anzac Avenue for good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. I hope you are enjoying your second stay with us and that the Beach Road facing room is suitable for you. You will note the room you are in this time has a shower over the bath, this is the case for our rooms on levels 1, 2 & 3, we have shower only on levels 4, 5 & 6. We do still operate a key system as opposed to a card system however you are able to take the key out with you while you are staying, we simply recommend you leave the key with us if you wish. Flat screen TVs will be installed throughout the hotel in coming months so the current CRT TVs will be removed. Our top 3 floors, of which you were allocated on your last stay, had a refurbishment last year and we plan to do the bottom 3 floors soon.
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences with us.
I hope you are having a pleasant second stay with us and that you had a lovely time in the Coromandel and Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    156
    196
    98
    41
See reviews for
83
224
47
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel is extremely old and in desperate need of renovation. The rooms have actual keys instead of electronic swipe cards. The carpet in our room had a sunspot near the sliding glass door along with several stains. Our bathroom also didn't have a fan, which was inconvenient. The room also had an old tube TV instead of a flatscreen. Be advised that the parking lot is small (maybe 15 spaces) and they also charge $10.00 per day to park. If you check-in late then all the spaces may be gone. But our biggest gripe was with the overpriced breakfast buffet. $20.00 for continental or $25.00 for full breakfast, and the food was terrible. I recommend walking a few blocks to one of the local mini-marts instead to buy yogurt, bread and fruit and then store these items in your room refrigerator overnight for the next day. On the bright side, the hotel is well situated within the downtown Auckland area. It's an easy walk to the harbor and many local restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room that faces Anzac Avenue. We stayed on the 1st and 4th floors, and the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD_Who6614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Good morning, thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. Please note our bottom 3 floors are due for refurbishment in the next couple of months, our top 3 floors were refurbished last year. This will include the installation of flat screen TVs to all rooms. Our carparking is very limited and is advertised as subject to availability. We offer some of the cheapest parking in the central city and we do make every effort to get as many guests parked as possible. I'm really sorry to read your comments about the restaurant and I will be sure to pass this feedback onto the appropriate staff members. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We got given a night in this hotel as one of our wedding gifts. We combined it with other activities in Auckland city. It was gifted as a 'Romantic package' which included wine (2 small bottles of bubbly), 'premium chocolates' (Roses) and breakfast. Overall the room was small but comfortable. The decor and bathroom a little tired, but clean. The breakfast was ok, a buffet style. The staff seemed friendly and helpful, and if you are there early enough the free parking is an added bonus. This is a very convinient hotel if you want to do something in central Auckland, but I wouldn't really class it as a great place to go for a Romantic weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room up high and we could hardly hear the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you very much for providing feedback. I'm pleased to hear that overall you had a good stay with us on the romantic package and made the most of our central location and carparking. I hope you had an enjoyable time in Auckland, thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived at the Copthorne very early in the morning and were greeted by a somewhat frosty receptionist who informed us that 'we had a full house last night, you can't check in yet' or words to that effect. No problem, we just stored our bags and wandered into town for a coffee, but her tone was a little offputting to say the least.

Once in the room later in the day, on the 6th floor, things looked ok. A little dated (no flat screen tv), but the little balcony overlooking a massive tree right outside provided a nice green view. Despite Anzac Avenue being right below, with the doors shut you could still hear the traffic, but not intrusively so.

The bathroom proved to be the piece de resistance of this hotel. The sliding door from the bedroom didn't stay shut and we had to resort to wedging a piece of folded paper under it to keep it closed. The shower was tiny and leaked everywhere. The floor was pretty much flooded after every shower, and we needed to lay hand towels down to soak up the excess water. Crappy hairdryer with no nozzle too. Take your own!

We got a 2 for 1 main meal dinner voucher and 2 free drinks with our booking, so we decided to eat in the restaurant on Saturday night. This was a good decision. I chose lamb wellington which was absolutely perfect - very good quality lamb. My partner had the sirloin steak which was also beautifully cooked and tender. The sides (not included in the deal) were lovely - just the right amount of crunch in the green beans; and creamy horseradish mashed potato. The waitress was friendly and let us have a wine that wasn't on the 'free drinks' list as neither of us liked the wine they were flogging on that.

I can't really say too much more about this place. We booked a little late in the piece for the Auckland marathon, so were a little too far out of town for our purposes, as it's nice to be able to go back to your room during the day and rest up if you want to, but that's totally our fault. We checked out about half an hour later than our 12 noon checkout, but they didn't charge us extra, which is what they said they would do when we asked for a later 'late' check out.

Overall, an 'ok' hotel - reasonable value for money at $135/night with 2 for 1 dinner and 2 drinks included; variable levels of friendliness depending who was on the desk, but lovely food!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good afternoon, thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear of the issues you faced in regards to the check in service and the bathroom. Without knowing which room you are referring to, I will get all the rooms on the 6th floor checked to ensure the shower does not leak and the bathroom door shut properly. Please note levels 4, 5 & 6 were refurbished last year and flat screen TVs will be installed in all rooms in the coming months.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals & service in the restaurant, the Lamb Wellington is certainly a favourite of our guests so I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed it too.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback, this is always appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and i stayed for 2 nights. Good area central to Auckland , friendly staff. Great value for money. Food a little expensive but very nice. Room decor a little dated , room smaller than advertised on website

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schultzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I , and our 12 Year Old Son stayed at the Copthorne Hotel for 2 nights last weekend . We enjoyed our stay and the staff were friendly and attentive and happy to help !

We experienced two different rooms, as our first night, the room had problems with the toilet and bath " randomly gurgling " during the night , and the door had fallen off the TV Cabinet . The first night we were in the "200" floor .

The second night our room was way better , we were on the " 300 " floor and the room was nicer and also had been , better equipped with cups and blankets etc .

Both rooms were REALLY CLEAN and I like that half of the rooms had tiles on the floors which makes it seem cleaner .

We had breakfast at the Hotel both days and the breakfast was really nice, one of the better breakfasts we have had at a Hotel for sure !

We found the parking was "hit and miss " , you had to be there early to get a park otherwise you had to park elsewhere away from the Hotel , and the Hotel doesnt have enough parking for all guests .

The Coin laundry has one washing machine and one drier .

The Hotel is within walking distance to the Vectra Arena .

We would definatly stay here again , and what made our stay was the friendliness of all staff we encountered .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Good morning, thank you very much for the great feedback and I'm really pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. It's always pleasing to receive such a great feedback and I will be sure to pass this onto the staff. We look forward to having you back to stay in the future, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights over the weekend as we were up running the Auckland Marathon. The Hotel was good value for money and it was great that the hotel transported runners to the ferry at 04:30am!!! Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawktoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you very much for the great feedback, I'm really pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and that you made the most of the free transport for the marathon. We look forward to having you back to stay again in the future and well done on running the marathon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.8 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing