We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #51 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My friend and I stayed at the hotel from the 17/10/13-19/10/13 during the Beyonce concert. The 2 ladies at reception were very helpful and friendly. They were very quick at checking us into our room. The room was clean and tidy, but very stuffy and hot.

My friend and I dined in at Zoe's restuarant on our first night. The staff were friendly and our meals were delicious.

We also ordered room service on the friday night. It took over an hour before we recieved our order. By then we were very hungry and tired by the time we recieved our order. I wasn't given a reason for the delay. Room service was very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm really pleased to hear the great comments about the staff and the restaurant food. I'm sorry to read of the issue you had with your room service meal, I know there were a lot of orders being a concert night at Vector however I apologise if this impeded on your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    162
    216
    103
    41
See reviews for
88
237
49
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed on night en route overseas.
Check in was fast and smooth. Room clean and tidy with a view overlooking part of the harbour.
If you have a vehicle parking can be a bit tight - get in early!!
Breakfast was pretty basic, but ok.
Overall...not bad but probably better around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback, this is always appreciated. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay recently and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed the night on 5th Sept and had birthday dinner for my daughter at Zoe's. The staff from our checkin right through to the restaurant were extremely helpful and informative with our waitress (an indian lady) being very friendly. Food was amazing and exceptional value and delicious, rooms are basic but clean and well maintained and we had a great view over the ports and harbour. Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback, we really do appreciate this. I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently had our third stay at the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City. It's the only hotel I book us into when staying overnight in Auckland now. They have regular special deals, which make for a very affordable stay. The rooms are always well-appointed and each time we have had lovely views from our deck. The beds are always super comfy too! The meals at Zoe's are delicious and, if ordering off the specials menu, great value for money also. I note that some people are banging on about some rooms being on the small size, but when booking online, it clearly states the size of the rooms, thus avoiding any disappointment. Thanks guys, see you next time we're planning to stay overnight in Auckland. 8-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback, that is really pleasing to hear and we certainly look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Family of four traveling with my elderly (but very fit) parents to New Zealand for a sports event at vector arena. For starters, the location was great as it is only a 5 minute walk. We stayed in their king suites which were equipped with fridge, microwave,sink and small kitchen table with chairs. We stayed 6 nights so this came in quite handy after we located a nearby grocery store. The rooms seem recently updated with two large screen t.v.'s although,the channels are lacking. The bathroom was large with an awesome shower but not a lot of counter space (there is storage underneath). Also, the tile floors are quite slippery when wet. We loved the balconies overlooking Parnell and the view to the harbor and vector arena. It was very comfortable but the walls talked (plumbing) whenever someone ran water . We got use to it. It was actually a very quiet and very clean room overall. Our gripe is the charge for wi fi. You're allowed minimal time for free and is only accessible in their lobby, or you can pay. The lobby/staff are very courteous. The laundry facility was handy. They offer a nice but very expensive breakfast. Food prices are through the roof and good food at a fair price is hard to find (relatively speaking) compared to the states. Of course there is no pool which is often hard to find in a downtown hotel but there are plenty of sights to see within walking distance. It worked out well for us but wouldn't rule out trying somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing Parnell St.,King suite.(rollaways fit easily too).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmxm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback, this is always appreciated. I'm pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay with us recently and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Got this on a deal and enjoyed it - once we worked out which Copthorne we were staying at! There are two in Auckland city. This one overlooks Parnell, not the inner city waterfront. Very friendly, professional reception staff made for a great welcome. The bed and flat screen TV were enormous which didn't leave much room for anything else, but it suited our needs. Good views from the balcony. Slightly tired but spotlessly clean bathroom. As an added bonus we were given free overnight parking. While not especially memorable, I'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: Check beforehand which Copthorne Hotel you're staying at in Auckland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback, I'm pleased to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night and can only rate the hotel as excellent. Check in literally only took 3 minutes, on site parking was available overnight for only $10, very reasonable. Room was on the 6th floor and was clean and well appointed, large flat screen tv, great bed, large clean shower, no complaints at all. Easy walk to Queen St and city centre, low traffic flow on Anzac Ave meant for a good nights sleep as well. The two main courses we had for dinner, chicken and steak, were simply outstanding, breakfast buffet the next morning was also very good, staff very quick to top up food trays, everything hot and well presented. I used to work in the hotel industry, so can be a little critical at times, but well done Copthorne, this a clean, efficient and well run hotel, certainly ticked all the boxes, compared to a recent hotel experience in Surfers, this was way ahead, great value, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldFellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for such great feedback, this is really pleasing to read and I have passed your comments onto all the staff. I'm pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing