We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was staying at the hotel to meet up with a friend from Australia.
I was upgraded to a suite, the room was lovely and it was clean. Lovely View.
The Meals and Service was superb. I cannot fault them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback, this is always appreciated. I'm very pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    162
    215
    102
    41
See reviews for
88
236
49
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel rooms were good, service was okay and rooms were clean. But..... The only big buzz kill was the $50 deposit i paid (to cover additional services) Copthorne is the worst for giving your deposits. This has happened twice to me. I am still waiting to get it back and it has been one month until my stay. If you are going to stay at Copthorne make sure you get yoir deposit back (if you haven't used additional services). To me they are hungry for money and i wont stay there ever again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piriham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is company policy that a $50 bond is taken per night at all our hotels - this covers the use of minibar, phone calls, internet and other incidentals. This is only ever a hold and not a purchase. If you do not use this card to pay for any balance on checkout, this hold will be released within 7-10 working days, depending on your bank's policy. If you have a balance to pay on check out and choose to pay with the same card we took the hold on, we will do a completion which means the balance you owe will incorporate your $50 bond. Please note the $50 bond will show as a "pending transaction" on your statement however as this is not a purchase you will not see the $50 reappear as a refund on your statement. If you have any concerns please contact your bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because they had a special rate for people taking part in the Auckland half marathon, which meant we got value for money.

It is uphill from the waterfront, so get a taxi if you aren't keen on hills. Personally, I liked being a little out of the way and the location was good for our stay. It took around ten minutes to amble down to the Britomart area. K road area is around a twenty minute uphill walk.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The room itself wasn't huge, but had everything we needed. It was well cleaned and the bed was huge, which was great! There was a nice little balcony, which was an added bonus. Bathroom was clean and had complimentary toiletries. There was only a shower in our room, but some friends, who had got the same deal as us, had a bath in theirs. Maybe something to request when booking, particularly if you have small children, or aching limbs as we did!

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't give any advice on the restaurant. I did notice they had a set menu for around $40 which looked quite good.

Overall, a good place, simple yet effective. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback, this is always appreciated. I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay recently, and as you suggest, if a bath is a priority for you during your stay this can be requested at the time of booking as our bottom 3 floors have baths. I'm glad to hear that you would return again, we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I and my wife while undertaking a world trip stopped off in Auckland New Zealand where we stayed in the Copthorne Hotel, for a number of nights, this Hotel is approx a 15 minute gentle stroll from the harbour area where all the best restaurants and the Sky tower is located. The hotel is staffed by some excellent staff and they made our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the Hotel where we could look from our balcony out over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griff888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback, this is very pleasing to hear. I'm glad to read you had such a great stay with us recently and I hope you enjoy the rest of your world trip. We look forward to welcoming you back again and I thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the marathon. Room was smallish but bed was comfy, TV was good, shower was great and the rate was very reasonable. Could have done with a bath to rest the legs (this was a marathon partner hotel so this was a little surprising). Location is pretty good for city centre and very good for Vector Arena.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback, this is always appreciated. I'm glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay. Please note the rooms on our bottom 3 floors have baths so if this is a priority for you this can be advised at the time of booking so we can allocate a room accordingly. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We use this Hotel when attending events at the Aotea cetre which is just a short walk. Generally Hotel services are fine and we've always thought the rooms were acceptable. Car parking can be a challenge so try to check in earlier in the day to ensure a chance of getting one. Last time we had a East facing room on the 6th floor which was really good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, this is always appreciated. Because our parking is limited, we do offer guests the option of parking at the Wilsons building on Anzac Ave at a discounted rate which is always a good option. I'm pleased to hear you stay with us when you come up for events and we look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohakune, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were in one of the many groups that booked months ago to attend the Andre Rieu Concert at Vector.Arena. The hotel offered a special concert menu which sounded very nice. Such a pity some of us never got to eat it, as the service in the Dinning Room would be one of the worst experiences I've ever encountered in years We were in a group of six and had booked well in advance as had the other 30 or so guests who were in the in the dinning room at the same time .Some of us only got an entrees while some of us were lucky enough to get a main. .
Admittedly what was served was very nice and when a compliant was made next morning there was an apology and a discount given but what should have been a relaxing meal before the show became a somewhat tense and rushed meal for many of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourofuss66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback, this is always appreciated. I have received a lot of feedback regarding dinner service on the night you are referring to and this has allowed us to relook at our operations to ensure this is not repeated. I'm very sorry if the issue you had with dinner impeded in any way on what was meant to be an enjoyable time in Auckland but I do hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing