We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting on several accounts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Are we the only people who’ve been caught out booking the wrong place on TripAdvisor because a hotel chain uses almost identical names for its two big city venues?

As we discovered on arrival at our accommodation, there are not one but two Copthorne hotels in the city of Auckland, New Zealand. And to our dismay we'd accidentally booked into the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City under the mistaken belief that we’d booked the Copthorne Hotel AucklandHarbourCity.

We’d come across AucklandHarbourCity on TripAdvisor in early December, and although it was older style and had some late night reveler noise complaints, we decided to book it because of its locality.

It offered comparatively good value for a big city, was right in the heart of things in Quay Street adjacent to Princes Wharf, and its rooms offered ‘awesome’ close up views of Auckland’s working harbour. Being close to Princes Wharf mattered as one of us had a leg injury and we didn’t want to pay extra for taxis.

I have no idea how we managed to accidentally book the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City on Anzac Avenue, up the hill and quite a walk from the central city hotels and restaurants, let alone Prince’s Wharf. Presumably I googled ‘Copthorne Auckland’ after looking at other hotels and sites, and landed on the Anzac Avenue Copthorne by mistake without realizing that there were two similarly named hotels in the city.

Our room was billed as ‘Superior Double Room with Harbour View’. And regardless of our disappointment about not being next to the harbour (our problem), the room itself did not live up to its 'Superior' description. The Copthorne Hotel Auckland City may be billed as 4 star (3.5 on some sites), but contrary to our expectations, the room was small rather than ‘spacious’ as advertised.

The view we had paid extra for, thinking we’d be right on the harbour, looked out over inner city high rise accommodation, main roads, parking lots and the police station. Way off in the distance, we could indeed see Auckland Harbour from the balcony that was too small for a chair or table.

We were surprised that we had to pay for wifi in our rooms, though we later discovered we could get 20 minutes free in the lobby, which wasn't very convenient. The hotel had limited car parking at the cost of $10 a night and the last spots available were down the bottom of the property with an uphill walk to reception, dragging one’s belongings.

There only one power point in the bathroom and it didn’t work. We later found out that it was for electric razors, with no warning to guests wanting to boil the jug or use the hair dryer to plug them into a power point in the main room! Our bathroom sink was cracked, there was a heat stain on the writing desk and the iron was too badly stained to use on anything light-coloured.

Contrary to the advertised ‘Room Details’, there was no mini bar (although it was apparently available on request), no bottle opener and instead of the green or blue milk cartons we’d been offered elsewhere, the milk came in one cup individual sachets.

We ordered room service after a hectic day and found the mains at $39.50 very basic, entrée sized and quite unsatisfying.

The best thing going for this hotel was that it was quiet with the balcony doors closed, despite being located above a busy main road. And going by TripAdvisor comments, it is well located for anyone going to concerts at the nearby Vector Arena, which didn’t happen to be us.

The staff were trying hard but there was confusion over our bill which clearly stated that we had been charged for four nights at the bed and breakfast package when in fact our rate was for the bed only.

Room Tip: Not really worth paying for a harbour view as it is way off in the distance. If you do want a water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraCSmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, this is always appreciated. I'm sorry to hear about the confusion in booking your accommodation initially and it is disappointing to read your feedback about the certain aspects of your stay however we do appreciate the honest feedback. I do hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at copthorne Auckland city with our 2 kids. We found it to be OK. There are not that many choices available in Auckland city for a family. It is a bit out of town, but we put out walking shoes on and just walked every where. It would be nice if the beds were a bit firmer. It would also be great if there were some family friendly Cafes nearby - obviously that is not the hotels fault. All in all a good place to stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, this is much appreciated. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night before we flew back to London. The reception staff were very friendly, however the bar staff were extremely miserable. The breakfast which was included was awful - i would advise you to walk into town and get something else! Very poor food considering the price we paid to stay there. At least the rooms were quite nice and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay with us and I am sorry to read the comments regarding the food and the service but appreciate your honest feedback and I will pass this onto the relevant staff members. Thank you again for taking the time to give feedback, this is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay, friendly staff, great location and great food (although not cheap). Would recommend a stay if you want to be right in the centre :) was here in Christmas Day and had a nice meal, although the choices were limited (one starter and one pudding only) although the chef did kindly make us a fruit salad as we didn't like the pudding choice. Overall, lovely stay.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Livi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback, this is appreciated. I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I actually stayed at the hotel last year in May, and unfortunately got food poisoning. The room I stayed in was pretty good, balcony overlooking the service station across the road though I had to pay full price for everything, as well as an extra night as I could only move from the bed to the bathroom, and was meant to be there on business. All in all, it was not a great experience, though hopefully this has improved - I just will not be chancing it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rochelleandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear of the unfortunate situation you encountered during your stay with us but would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, this is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My friend and I stayed for the Alicia Keys concert. Only a 5min walk to the Vector arena. Nice comfy beds and breakfast was delicious the next morning. Only downfall was having to go down the road for parking. No biggie but not very convenient as we had already driven for 4 hours we would have liked to just relax before our concert. Customer service was outstanding.

Room Tip: stayed in room 414 and perfect view of the vector so we knew when the crowd had died down and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarrie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us, this is really pleasing to hear and we look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at Motel as we were going to a show at Vector Arena which was a 5 minute walk away. Motel was clean, tidy and a good price. Found the room hot but slept with our door open. Enjoyed our view. I recommend this motel if you don’t mind walking hills. Had a lovely meal at the restaurant which offered a special priced menu for the Michael Jackson cirque du. We will defiantly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you very much for providing feedback on our hotel, this is appreciated. I'm glad to hear that you made the most of our central location which is certainly very handy to the Vector Arena. We look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £64 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing