We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The good and the bad.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently spent a night at Copthorne prior to taking a New Zealand cruise. The great thing was that we were literally across the road from where our cruise liner was berthed.
The hotel was in need of refurbishment. While clean, it was showing signs of past glory. The room, though small was comfortable and quite adequate for an overnight stay.
Now for the down side, breakfast was included so we went down for breakfast. The episode was reminiscent of Faulty Towers. We were down about 8.00am. There was no coffee in the urn, a shortage of cutlery, and some food items had been consumed and not restocked. I recommend that if you are preparing for a cruise the convenience of the location is next to none, but for a longer stay look for someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieandy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    162
    214
    101
    41
See reviews for
86
236
49
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Copthorne while visiting for a holiday. It was close enough to the central city to walk to everything but enough away to avoid the city noise. The hotel was surprisingly quiet at night. The room was very clean, the staff were really helpful, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Having car parking was really helpful as we left our car there most of our stay and just walked to everything. On the day we checked out a staff member offered us to leave our car there for the day while we did some morning sightseeing,. Staff checked if we had any questions about the city on arrival. Nice touches like these make the hotel a good place to stay. Would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainKattaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woy Woy, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived 17/3/14 and were given a room on 4th floor. Upon entering room 408 a very musty smell was evident. Approached reception and we were given another room with no drama.Room 401 was much better although facing the main street.
No free wifi or internet. Room was adequate, clean & tidy, bathroom was satisfactory with fittings all in good order.

Room Tip: Upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 464Pents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We wouldn't normally stay in hotels being backpackers; however we decided to stay in a hotel in Auckland for my birthday. We booked the hotel as part of a deal, and although slightly out of the main city, we found this hotel to be worth the money we paid. It wasn't cheap for a double room for several nights - but by Auckland's prices, it was certainly reasonable.

The room was spacious and offered a modest view of the city. Housekeeping services were great, with the option of having your room cleaned everyday or 'being green' aka opting out of having your room cleaned (in which you received a free drink in the hotel's cafe). Staff were friendly and helpful, printing documents and explaining directions around the city.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to couples wanting to stay somewhere nice in Auckland on a budget.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maddieimogenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Tired needs decoration, in a very big was. The room was appalling smell of damp. The fan was not working, the shower hopeless. Meals not worth having. I can only suggest you try another hotel unless your that desperate

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Tauranga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed one night while passing through town. Nice and central, good parking, clean rooms and staff were pleasant.
Rooms were fine, great water pressure on the shower!
Buffet breakfast was good, lots of selection.
Was slightly worried when I saw how close the train tracks were, but I didnt get woken once.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London ontario
Level Contributor
177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were dropped at this hotel for our final night of out New Zealand tour. The lobby looked modern and clean that is where it ended. My room on the third floor was at the end of the hall and I noticed right away the hall carpet desperately needed a good cleaning. The doors to the room were very much in need of clean up. In the room the chair was very badly cracked vinyl with chunks missing on the arm and then a bedside table the particle board top was badly chipped and swelled. Filth behind toilet. A hotel to be avoided it is also not city central it is several miles or a 15 dollar cab fare to downtown the bus though is only a dollar.
.

Room Tip: A west facing room is in the sun all afternoon and a busy commuter train line passes below opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atravelingsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing