We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Enjoyed our stay, a nice clean and tidy room with a great view. Air conditioning a wee bit noisy and the toilet bowl is very low down for a big person. $7-50 is a bit on the steep side for a can of beer I feel. Stall were all very pleasant and polite. Good breakfast. Yes, we will stay again next we are in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nudenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    157
    201
    101
    41
See reviews for
84
230
48
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

A constant flow of tourist buses and noisy guests. When I asked a group leader to stop shouting in the corridoor outside my room she was dismissive and rude. Consequently I checked out the next mornig after 2 nights of hell. Rooms are OK but lifts and corridoors dirty. Fruit at breakfast is tinned, cooked breakfast was inedible.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

This was my second stay at the Copthorne Auckland, this time for a concert at the Vector Arena, and it suited our purposes perfectly. It's not flash, but at around $135 for a room and breakfast for two, we were pretty pleased with the value. Nice to have a room on the harbour side which catches the morning sun - if you can get higher, the view would be better.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

I like this hotel and its perfect for a business overnight stay. We are a small company with modest budgets, so I find this hotel really suits my needs. The staff are exemplary, the showers are great. Beds comfy. I do find the air conditioning noisy, and showers running in other rooms are also noisy, but I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel where I couldn't hear these things. The rooms are small - but what else do you need if you are on your own and just need a bed for the night? They have great internet deals if you book with the hotel directly (don't bother with a "middle man") and I've decided not to even look elsewhere for Auckland stays in future as it really does suit my needs, its easy to book, and I really like the friendly service. Definitely recommend for a business stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hangaroundgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Checkin 2.00pm but room not ready untill 2.45pm.
Air conditioning unusually loud , could not sleep with it on. So an uncomfortably hot night.
Tour party arrived at around 2.30am and sound insulation so poor seemed they all showered in our bathroom.
Ten minutes of internet cost 15NZD
164NZD per night was way over the top for a room that was also basic and a little tired.
Redeeming feature was the very pleasant and efficient girl on reception when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

This is an older hotel--possibly the first of the major hotels in the area. As such, the rooms have renovated toilet/shower areas while the bedroom areas remain with the decor they originally had. This is heavy curtains and dark furniture. And, yes, there are scuff marks in places. This hotel will not appeal to people wanting a new hotel with clean lines and modern decor. However, it is smaller than the more recent hotels and has great, friendly service. It is very close to the university--I was there for a conference and the venue was five minutes walk. There is a convenience store two minutes away and a 24hour supermarket between five and ten minutes walk. The beds are pretty average but the cost is reasonable. I was a bit disappointed when I arrived but, once I got past the 1950s look of the rooms I realised that, for my purposes, the hotel was more suited than the more modern, and larger, hotels. And it has 24hour room service.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

I spent a couple of nights here while attending a conference at Auckland University, which is very close by. The hotel is in a nice leafy area on the fringes of the CBD, good for wandering around and close enough to walk down to Queen Street or Britomart. My room was large with a comfortable bed and good linen, although the bathroom was small and showing its age a bit. The breakfasts were pretty average.
I'd definitely recommend this to someone looking for a reasonable priced stay close to the University or Vector Arena (which is very close).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneD_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing