We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not so great”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

this was a sad stay. The rooms are just depressing. Old and broken ugly furniture... i was freezing... bad balnkaets and pillows..... Bathroomw as teh only thing that was really good. The walls are like paper... i woke up all night... but the windows are therfore well noisproofing...Old TV with jsut 3 chanels.... fridge very noisy.... all in all the roomes are just ugly and dark.
Roomservice was ok... all food it tolay overpriced. Havent got any new towles on thes econd day..... i really dont know how to dicibe it... it was just depression...

Breakfirts was a disaster... bad service. bad food... no fresh fruit... no soja products.... totaly overpricesd for 20$

Some people at the reception are nice and some are just terribel.
I felt not safe in the hotel. They have actual keys for the room.. and nice with the number and the hotel name on it.... so that veryone with teh key knows which room to go! This is not up to standart....



if i compare the hotel to the Wellington one of the same group it si like being in diffrent worlds.

TIME FOR RENOVATUIONS AND BETTER BUFFET AND SERVICE.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    162
    216
    103
    41
See reviews for
88
237
49
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This hotel is ok if you are after a quick break away, but don't want to pay the higher rates other hotels charge. The rooms are pretty good. Nice to have a king size bed. Nothing flash but everything you need. TV reception is poor for a lot of channels, but they did come and fix it when we told them about it, and it did improve it. It was also good to receive a complimentary paper in the morning. Breakfast was good, pretty much the same as all the other hotels in Auckland, so no complaints. The major major problem is the parking or lack there of. There are about 17 or 18 carparks available for guests. Four of these are impossible to use unless you have a tiny car. They also let conference attendees use these parks. So if you want to stay here you will probably be paying a lot extra for parking. So if there is no parking when you get back at night you have to pay a 12 hour rate for overnight then by the hour. During the day you would be paying by the hour. It is a long walk from the carpark to the hotel as well. This was enough of a hassle that we will not go back to this hotel because of this.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daznik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Good to book this hotel during promotion rates, value for money. The checkin process is relatively ok. The room is quite big, but there was only 1 chair available in the room and I have to sit on the bed
The toilet was clean and the beds were also comfortable. However, there is a very limited parking lots, as it were almost full when we checkin at 3pm. We did not drive and walk to the CBD within 10 minutes and it was close to the university too.
Overall, we have a good experience with the hotel, we will come back if we visit Auckland again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oita, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My friend and I stay here for 1 night, we got a special rate otherwise we would have been very dissapointed with the quality for the price.

It was an average hotel, rooms were fine but they didn't live up to what we were expecting. The hotel is clean and much nicer than the Harbour Copthorne! Staff were friendly.

This hotel is nice enough but quite expensive for what you get. This is my sole reason for not recommending it. You can get better hotels for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate83UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Possibly understaffed at the time of our overnight visit and dinner/breakfast at the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRMEJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Enjoyed our stay, a nice clean and tidy room with a great view. Air conditioning a wee bit noisy and the toilet bowl is very low down for a big person. $7-50 is a bit on the steep side for a can of beer I feel. Stall were all very pleasant and polite. Good breakfast. Yes, we will stay again next we are in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nudenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

A constant flow of tourist buses and noisy guests. When I asked a group leader to stop shouting in the corridoor outside my room she was dismissive and rude. Consequently I checked out the next mornig after 2 nights of hell. Rooms are OK but lifts and corridoors dirty. Fruit at breakfast is tinned, cooked breakfast was inedible.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing