We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #53 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yuk”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Booked this hotel for proximity to viaduct, but can assure you it was the first and last time we will stay there. We found the female on reception rude and arrogant. Absolutely no customer service at all! Thought she must have been having a bad day and was prepared to shrug it off, until my husband had to go downstairs 30 minutes later to identify our suitcases. The concierge claimed he didn’t have our room number. Oh what a mixup! The room was extremely old, bathroom very dated and the cover on the bed was not clean. We could hear the lift going up and down, (lucky we were on a higher floor). Breakfast was part of the deal. Nothing to write complimentary about here either. Stand well back from the revolting scrambled eggs. We didn’t try them, but there were several people just looking, asking out loud what the yellow runny mass was. This is definitely one hotel we won’t be returning to. Next month when we return to Auckland, we will be choosing much wiser.

Room Tip: Additional tip, oh yes.. don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kaatje3798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    317
    160
    92
See reviews for
137
360
75
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Super Location. Excellent views from front of Waitemata Harbour. ( multi storey car park at rear). Near "everything"..5 minutes walk to Ferry Building, AirBus stop for airport, Britomart Transport Centre, CBD and "downtown".
Restaurant not bad and reasonable price for breakfast and daily "specials" for dinner. Lots of cafes nearby.
Viaduct and Fish Market resraurants within a 10 to 15 minute walk.Staff helpful. Public rooms and Guest Laundry neat and tidy. Rooms ok, but could do with some up-dating .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franciscan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Take a Break package. Great situation, in walking distance of ferries PT and local eateries. Enjoy the great harbour atmosphere every evening to escape from this hotel. Outdated rooms, worn carpet, black mould on tiles in dimly lit bathroom. Comfortable king bed and fine part view of harbour (somewhat built out by front buildings). Whining noise from air conditioning system directly above the 11th floor meant a sleepless first night followed by slightly better night with a room change. (Still at the noisy end of the single corridor hotel.) Wireless access in lounge area only with twenty minutes free and then NZ$15 for two and half hours. Had to dispute the bill at checkout, where attendant came up with three different totals on our prepaid(!) stay which included a $50 voucher to cover food and drinks which could not be simply used and accounted for at the breakfast bar. This hotel is in no way the four star rating it claims to be.

Room Tip: Check the noise levels before taking up residence in any high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Royston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed at this Hotel for two nights whilst on business.The hotel is set in a good central location within easy walking distance to restaurants,bars and shops. However I was let down by the state of the room which had noisy air conditioning, and the bathroom had plumbing problems it also needed a better cleaning service. Would stay again if only for one night if on business, but would not pick it for a vacation stop.

Room Tip: Higher Floor maybe quieter less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsLassNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel is in a great location - 1 minute walk to the viaduct and an easy walk to Skycity and shopping in Queen St. Asked for a room higher than 8th floor as others have advised due to noise and views - given one on the 11th floor and great views of the harbour and noise was not a problem . Great comfortable king size bed and pillows. Bathroom is showing its age and the showers are not the best as they have a large but light spray but the water temperature was good. The room only has a small TV but has a clear picture. Breakfast was a disappointment - with some items running out and taking quite a while to replenish but otherwise there was a reasonable selection to choose from. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nthcoastjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Copthorne Harbour City is centrally located amidst all the activity. Great views of the harbour. Most of the shopping destinations, restaurants, pubs are just a stone's throw away. Limited food options available in the hotel restaurant but nearby places offers cuisines from across the world in varying ambiences. Though the hotel facilities and room amneties are limited, the location is a big advantage. Rooms with the harbour view make up for any of the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer_Shah_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Soundproofing has always been and continues to be an issue at is property but the central location and price of the room makes this less of a complaint. The rooms are very dated with a tiny old CRT TV, cracked and stained (though clean) vanity and bathtub, a slightly moldy shower curtain and spongy mattresses. The service at reception was excellent and all staff were very friendly throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi04NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#23 of 67 in Auckland
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing