We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Overwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #53 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Not Overwhelming”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived at the Hotel and were greeted by a none too enthusiastic young lady. The Hotel itself is in need of a refurb, our room (although with a harbour view) was tired and dated. I am not sure if this Hotel is suitable for wheelchairs (we didn't see a ramp anywhere), we were offered no assistance with our luggage. I have stayed in other Hotels in Auckland which were of a higher standard with a much more reasonable rate than the NZ180 we paid (b'fast not included). I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Harbour - may be an idea to ask for a room on a higher floor as the AMP building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    92
See reviews for
137
360
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I arrived late, after midnight, but had forewarned the hotel in my booking. The guy on reception stared at his computer for about 15 minutes then told me that they'd sold my room even though I had a confirmed booking. Needless to say I was not happy. They only had one room left, he told me, which was a small twin on a lower level. I had wanted, and paid for, a deluxe king size room with a view.

The room i got, at 12:45am, was a shabby shoebox. There were water stains in the bath, the tv was something out of the 1980's and the whole thing was way under par. the only consolation is that next morning, they only charged me 50% of my original room rate.

What had happened, they said, was that someone else with my name had booked in that previous evening, and even though he had booked in under another travel agent, the hotel had thought it was a duplicate booking, cancelled my reservation and sold my room.

I had wanted to stay at the Copthorne because it was close to the Waiheke Island ferry which I had to take the next morning. In other words, the location was convenient. But the hotel is way sub-standard.

nd small things, like internet access is nearly $30 per day - outrageous - yet there's free wi-fi in the lobby but only for 20 minutes. Also the breakfast is nearly $30 and for what you get, again it's outrageous.

Would I stay there again? No.

The one good thing is that the people on reception were very sweet and good natured. It's just that the hotel is a two star at best.

Room Tip: Make sure they haven't sold your room before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billbennettoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hamilton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

180 degree view over the BEAUTIFUL Auckland harbour. Short stroll to restaurants, ferries and CBD. Tarif was cheap. Bed large and comfortable. clean

Room Tip: higher has a better view and less noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raewynjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Location fantastic- very close to waterfront. Found the staff very friendly, and had done a great job of cleaning the room. Breakfast was good- and much cheaper than other places we had looked at.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JME92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We disembarked from our 12 night Sydney to Auckland cruise on the Celebrity Century and walked the 200 meters to the Copthorne Auckland Harbourcity Hotel, the proximity to the International Cruise Terminal was what had us book an overnight stay here before getting our lunchtime flight back to Perth.

It was also the reason many of our fellow cruises passengers from the USA also chose the Harbourcity, and boy were we all in for a surprise after the five star cruise we ended up in a half star hotel.

We did not expect to be able to get into our room at 9am when we disembarked, but were assured that we should be able to get in by 12 noon their advertised time, so dropping off our cases we caught the inner circle bus and spent time touring Auckland hopping off and on when we found somewhere of interest.

Having lunch at a wharf side café we returned at about 1.30pm only to be told our room would not be ready until after 2pm, so off we went and did some shopping, it was in one store talking with a nice lady shop assistant, who lived in Auckland for many years, and when told of where we were staying she profoundly apologised to us on behalf of Auckland and the whole of New Zealand for the Copthorne Harbourcity Hotel!

We returned just after 2pm and then sat in the foyer for another 45 minutes before eventually getting into our 9th floor room at about 3pm.

The room was small dingy and in need of a major overhaul as does the rest of the hotel, better still demolish it and start from scratch would be better, our outlook, as is the case for all rooms, was directly to the 10 story building across the street, and for us directly into a two story high neon sign which shone through the drawn curtains all night!

It has to be said that the New Zealand inventor of Bungy Jumping got the idea after traveling in the Copthorne’s lifts, they would have to be the scariest lifts we have ever been in, for having dropped like a stone from the 9th floor, they bounce about two foot up and down when they reach the ground floor, what a ride.

The next morning we checked out at 10am and the queue at the desk was long and the mood was sombre however we managed to get the bill sorted just in time to catch our 10.30 transfer to the airport, along with two other American couples from the ship, who were simply gobsmacked.

All we can collectively say is don’t be taken by its proximity to the Cruise Terminal, catch a cab, bus, train or walk for miles to any other hotel it will be worth your while.

Room Tip: No rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Have stayed here many times. Recommend it highly for good sized rooms with guaranteed views of waterfront, excellent breakfasts and handy location to transport. Consistently reasonable tariffs with occasional excellent deals on internet. Have stayed at other cbd hotels but this one tends to be my favourite.

Room Tip: Rooms close to lifts can be a little noisy. Double glazed windows need to be aligned accurately to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed one night and it was great for what I wanted, the very best location in Auck. Close to the Viaduct, ferry, bus/train terminals and Downtown Auck. Service was good and facilities very good for the money I paid. Any more and the review would take a slant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocfisshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing