We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don't mind bed bugs/mites and an old fashioned hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you don't mind bed bugs/mites and an old fashioned hotel...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Came to stay here for our wedding celebration, and discovered that the beds had bed bugs which bit my wife all over and gave her spots on her body just before our wedding celebration day. The staff were useless when I complained and were very slow and unsympathetic to the whole situation. Never have I received such bad service after forking out so much money to stay there.

The hotel really needs a huge upgrade to the building entrance, lobby, hotel rooms, and everything else. You have to drag your luggage up some steps into the lobby which is not easy if you have a lot to bring.

I think there are much better hotels around the area than this place.

Room Tip: Ask if the rooms are clean and also make sure to pull off the blankets and check thoroughly before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirinlager007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    91
See reviews for
137
360
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We chose this hotle because of its location. We prebooked and paid for 3 nights. The hotel is old and desperately in need of refurbishing. When we checked in and went to the room it was extremely hot, but thought it would cool when the air-conditioning was turned on. We went out for dinner, and still found on our return the room to be uncomfortably hot. We asked the front desk to check it for us, and they said they would turn it down. Sleeping with not even a sheet was unpleasant!! Again we complained to the front desk. It was cool in the corridors, and I was tempted to take a doona out there to sleep! Several other guests were also complaining. We were later told that as it was winter the thermostat was set to a particular temperature, and couldn't be adjusted. They placed two fans in our room which did nothing.
We had no choice but to check out and find another hotel. We saw two or three other couples at reception in other hotels trying to check in. A lot of the hotels were booked out, but eventually we found a beautiful hotel, and enjoyed the rest of our stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great location for Auckland harbour & city centre. Very, very old and tired. Horrible breakfast. Renovate or detonate!
TV not working, no free wi-fi, carpark expensive, squeaky room door, noisy cleaners. noisy air-conditioner, Old old old!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed 2 nights early October 2012. The Hotel is in an excellent location with great views over the harbour and a short walk to the upmarket waterfront bars , restaurents and the Maritime Museum.
My room was clean and comfortable, good value for the money and the staff friendly and effecient. The only negative was the cost of guest car parking under the building, some 18 % of the room price.
On a very positive note I accidently left some shirts and a folder behind and was extremely pleased to have these returned to me in a post pack when I arrived home to Perth. Well done Copthorne. I will stay again and recommend to anyone.
Jayeles
Jayeles

Room Tip: All rooms have a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel around 7am on a Monday after flying red-eye from the US. The hotel checked us into our room immediately which was amazing since it was so early. The room was average, nothing spectacular, but it was just a place for us to sleep. The views were great of the harbor and the hotel was in a great central location for walking to restaurants, the skytower, and downtown. There was free wifi in the lobby and bar, but only 20min a day. If you walk out of the hotel and go to the right towards the ferry building you can get free wifi with purchase at Esquires Cafe/Coffee. The bar in the hotel wasn't great at all. Service was mediocre there. We never ate at the restaurant onsite. We didn't hear much as to the noise outside at night, but we only stayed two nights, Monday-Wednesday. If we ever return to Auckland we would probably consider staying here again because of the location.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We a party of four had a wonderful weekend it was supported by arriving at our hotel and being greeted by very helpful and pleasent staff the odd occassion I needed to contact with the desk pleasant and helpful. Our rooms were all that we asked for, adjoining doors, clean and comfortable and the veiw wonderful. We partook of the buffet breakfast saturday and sunday mornings very nice and filling the sunday we had invited guests that joined us for breakfast they were impressed too. Our package included late check-out and car parking we were able to leave parked while we enjoyed a wonderful day on the harbour cruising before we left for home by early evening sunday. I have too mention the noise of the city was no louder than other hotels I have stayed at in the CBD and at least this noise was an outside noise not inside noise that has been the case eleswhere. All in all will stay again

Room Tip: all the rooms are facing the harbour in some form we had rooms 104-5 so I'd say go higher if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel is definitely no more than a 3 star hotel. The room we had, had a lovely view over the harbour, but was seriously in need of a makeover. I am pleased we got twin beds as I am sure we would never have got any sleep together on a queen bed.Even if they just replaced the beds it would go a long way to making it a better place to stay. The bathrooms were very shoddy, but did have good pressure in the shower.
If you are a light sleeper I would suggest ear plugs as there is a lot of noise from passer's by and traffic.
Our price included parking and breakfast, which made it a very cheap place to stay. Would stay there again if it was only for one night, as location is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing