We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
newcastle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We asked friends to recommend a hotel near the viaduct because we only had one night in Auckland before we flew back to Oz. They suggested the Copthorne with the proviso that it's due for an upgrade but it's in a great spot. I got a WOTIF deal for $99 which included free cocktail for 2, 20 min free wifi, king bed & harbour views. We paid $24 for parking but considering the price being charged by surrounding hotels that was fine.
Yes the Copthorne is a bit tired and could do with a facelift, yes there's no lift from the garage so leave your bags in the reception area, yes you have to use a key instead of a swipe card, yes the aircondititioning was struggling with the heat (there was a note in the room explaining this).
But... we were on the 11th floor with a fabulous view of the harbour - we walked directly across the road to explore the viaduct for dinner that night. In the morning it was 3min up the road to Vulcan Lane for a great breakfast & some upmarket souvenir shopping at the Vault. The shower was fantastic after a two weeks at bachs on tank water, the bed was big, the cocktails were ok (note: you won't get a choice, there's just one everyone gets but you could have wine or beer) and the price was BUDGET for that part of Auckland. We also drove straight out of the hotel and were on the road heading to the airport which is great for map retarded travellers.
We'd stay again.

Room Tip: High floor = better view? We were on 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaspirals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    91
See reviews for
137
360
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We paid $109 for a Sunday nights stay. We have stayed at this hotel a few times as the location is spot on for the Viaduct night life. We were lucky this time with getting a room with a view. The bed seemed huge too! We had a few drinks in the bar which were normal hotel prices. Overall a good stay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you're after the above features plus pleasant service and understand that for the very affordable price (NZD99 per night in our case) by local and world standards, it should be expected that the carpet might be tired, the bathroom dated, and you actually might have to use a metal key (gasp) to open your room door.

On the occasions that I'd like a little more luxury, I'll look elsewhere but at the same time adjust my buget upward by at least 100%.

In the meantime, I would definitley stay at this hotel again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DougW781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Had a very pleasant stay, the staff were always helpful and approachable and the room very comfortable.
Wonderful Auckland location, very near to Queen Street for shopping, and right on the waterfront. If you request a room overlooking the harbour, you can often see cruise ships berthing and departing.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the waterfront, and make sure it is not obscured by the big ANZ skyscrpaer, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buglechicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel is in a Great venue and was tremendous value for money at $99 a night. The hotel however is very tired and needs urgent attention. The service of the staff was superb! Very noisy and air con didn't work ! The carpets was very old and worn. The food was very good as was the service in the restaurant. The waiter went out of his way to help out our young son as his choice was not on the menu and he managed to arrange with the chef to get his buttered chicken which was superb!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocolocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Given the cost of one night at this hotel, I expected someone to show us to our room and take our baggage up but no, even though there appeared to be spare staff in the foyer. This is a tired old bird that needs a facelift desperately. I was definitely not impressed with the fresh blood stain in the lift that was not removed for 12 hours!
Will not be going again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel in November 2012 for 3 nights.1st night was on 8th floor very comfy etc but a bit noisy and the `double ` bed was actually 2 singles pushed together. The ridge between us was annoying,when you request a double ded I expect one! When we complained there was no hesitation in moving us to a room on the 10th which was an improvement.We did enjoy our stay,staff were very friendly(although the receptionist was not too happy for some reason...we arrived as advised at 1230AM) and room service excellent as well as the resturarant staff.
Good harbour views with only a very short walk to ferry,Queen St.waterfront.Buses and info centre across the road. We have stayed before and will stay again when visiting Auckland.
When staying in an hotel make sure the sheets are fresh on your bed.

Room Tip: It may be quieter on a higher floor,although guests we spoke to said their lower rooms were quite qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#38 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing