We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Read the reviews and saw the location on the map and thought we would try it out for a few days. The hotel is right on the harbour, walk to everything.
Staff we helpful and friendly, weekends can get noisy as there are a few bars and clubs nearby.

Room Tip: go for a room on the 6th floor, these have been recently renovated and you are a little higher up so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    91
See reviews for
137
360
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We booked three rooms in this hotel for two nights over the new year. My husband and I paid extra for a superior room, unlike my other relatives who just went for the standard. On arrival we checked in and found nothing superior about our room, the harbour views were mostly blocked by the building opposite. When visiting the rooms of our relatives we were astounded to see that theirs was no different to ours, just cheaper! In actual fact one had better views of the harbour! What a joke!

The weather was hot and, just like another review written here, we were given a ridiculous excuse for the poor air conditioning. Ours was actually make a really terrible clanging noise, so we couldn't even put it on. We left a maintenance request at the front desk and were given an electric fan. Of course once the fan was plugged in there was no other power points in the room! Not one! So if we wanted to charge our phones or iPads, listen to music, iron, blow dry hair or straighten hair we had to unplug the fan.

On return from shopping on our second day we came back to a note stating that due to high use of the air conditioning it takes time to cool the rooms. The letter provided a list of insulting tips, such as leaving the windows closed. We do not believe for one second that they actually checked our a/c outlet. The loud clanging was still there. Little did they know that my husband is actually a plumber who works in commercial air conditioning! This was one couple their lame excuse could not fool! The excuse they gave was absolute rubbish, if you stay here don't believe what you are told.

On the positive side, this hotel is in an excellent location to see all of Auckland. The hotel bar is lovely and has great air conditioning, as does the hotel corridors (it seems they are not affected by overuse). Overall a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieMC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel is in prime position for the harbour and it's views. Stayed only 1 night in early January.

Staff were polite and friendly on check in. Was issued with an old style key for the room - not even a electronic card for entry. It would seem the hotel is stuck in the 80's??

Room was large and adequate without being spectacular. Bathroom was in need of refurbishment along with the rest of the room probably. View from the room was the best part really.

We ate in the restaurant mainly due to it being paid for by my company. Restaurant was mostly deserted probably due to the fact there are alot of close by restaurant and bars that looked fantastic as I found from a walk around the area later on. The meal in the restaurant was good and the seafood tasting plate for entree was fantastic. The price for a main course was a little steep at either $36 or $39 for the majority of meals. Not sure if this is standard prices for Auckland or not but luckily I wasnt paying for it.

Overall a 3-3.5 star hotel but mainly for the location and view

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonefarandwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stay here, even thou the hotel is old, room was very clean and tidy, staff polite and helpful and breakfast was included in the price.
Close to everthing in Auckand, so can walk around the inner city and opnly a small stones throw from the Ferry Terminal

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJD-469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Fantastic views of city and harbour. Air conditioning very noisy and not effective. Very tired and run down but exceptional value for money. One of the best location in Auckland we have ever stayed. If you can put up with the dated fixtures it's worth staying. Very limited mini bar and the mini bar could do with a good clean! We got a happy holidays deal which gave us free parking! (Normally around 15-25 a night elsewhere) two free drinks with dinner, two free breakfasts plus a 12pm checkout all for $99.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neatsKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Auckland, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Great views, handy location to Downtown Auckland, ferries, trains, buses.

Requires a little more attention to bathroom cleanliness. This would be appreciated.

Definitely value for money for such a central situation. Counter staff, friendly and helpful.

Air-conditioning noise a little bit of an annoyance on 5th floor

R R

Room Tip: Definitely one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We asked friends to recommend a hotel near the viaduct because we only had one night in Auckland before we flew back to Oz. They suggested the Copthorne with the proviso that it's due for an upgrade but it's in a great spot. I got a WOTIF deal for $99 which included free cocktail for 2, 20 min free wifi, king bed & harbour views. We paid $24 for parking but considering the price being charged by surrounding hotels that was fine.
Yes the Copthorne is a bit tired and could do with a facelift, yes there's no lift from the garage so leave your bags in the reception area, yes you have to use a key instead of a swipe card, yes the aircondititioning was struggling with the heat (there was a note in the room explaining this).
But... we were on the 11th floor with a fabulous view of the harbour - we walked directly across the road to explore the viaduct for dinner that night. In the morning it was 3min up the road to Vulcan Lane for a great breakfast & some upmarket souvenir shopping at the Vault. The shower was fantastic after a two weeks at bachs on tank water, the bed was big, the cocktails were ok (note: you won't get a choice, there's just one everyone gets but you could have wine or beer) and the price was BUDGET for that part of Auckland. We also drove straight out of the hotel and were on the road heading to the airport which is great for map retarded travellers.
We'd stay again.

Room Tip: High floor = better view? We were on 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaspirals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing