We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, shabby rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, shabby rooms”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed one night for a business trip and chose the hotel for its central location. The location is indeed excellent with great views of Viaduct Basin and walking distance to many business and recreational locations. However, for a hotel in such a prime spot, the rooms are very poor. The rooms have a spartan, institutional feel to them. The carpets seemed dirty, and my room spelt of cigarette smoke despite being non-smoking. The decor is dated and damaged. It is shocking to think a first time visitor to New Zealand might spend their first night here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    229
    318
    160
    91
See reviews for
137
360
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The heading says it all, this hotel is very tired and apart from it's location has little else to impress. The rooms are simply very poor and dated and simply uninviting. The bathrooms are even worse and for the money you pay you can do much better. Expensive Internet charges a breakfast room which is a 100% self service all added to a disappointing stay. Reception staff were helpful, but the restaurant staff were like robots and not there to service the guests but simply to service the buffet.

In general the condition of this hotel is below par, 5 star location, but a property in desperate need of a serious cash injection and a new lease of life and enthusiasm. There are much better accommodation options in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Berry, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Recently had a three-day trip to Auckland with my octogenarian mother. On the plus side meals in the restaurant were beautiful, room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful and the location was wonderfully central. The accommodation is looking rather tired however the desk staff advised us that a big renovation or demolition is planned soon. Shower over the bath is unsafe for older guests and on our second morning no room service took place. On the fourth floor we were aware of noise from the street however this was much reduced after closing a second lot of sliding windows. Would definitely recommend to travellers requiring simple accommodation and central location.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to be further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacucinaitaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed at the Copthorne on a weekend recently.
Basically, the rooms/property is dated. Drastically in need of a makeover.
Beds are hard and linen is of poor quality, only had blankets - not doona's/dooves
Air conditioner didnt work.
Showers are average at best. I found either pubes or hair in the shower from the previous guests.
The breakfast wasn't fit to eat.
Internet was good, reasonable speed, but only 20 minutes free each day.
The location was the best feature, right next to the Viaduct many bars and restaurants nearby.

The staff were friendly, but not exceptional at customer service.

Overall, property needs a serious makeover.

Room Tip: Dont get a room with a low value number i.e 502 over the weekend there is alot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Great location by the harbour and the Wynyard Quarter. Sadly, like a few of the Copthorne hotels, it was only average, with the exception of breakfast, which was awful. We had quite a good deal through wotif.com so I can't complain about the price but I've stayed in better chain hotels, nothing stood out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markoffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

At first was a little worried about our stay after reading all the reviews. We received incredible service... We arrived at 1am to the hotel we checked in didnt like the connecting doors in the room, went down to reception they upgraded us to level 11 for free!! Location is central and close to everything.. very entertaining as u can see everything happening in the streets... Provided us late check out of 12 at no extra cost this was great!!! Darryn, Andrew and Panshita (i think that was his name) provided a great service and we very much enjoyed our stay! Resturants around the corner, skycity up the road, harbour views are amazing!!

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors, also i wasnt a fan of the connecting doors- if thats the case for u also m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanadi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My partner and I stayed at this Hotel during the recent V8 Supercar racing weekend held at Pukekohe. This was our second stay. The location is excellent due to being close to the harbour, CBD and viaduct which has a good selection of bars and restaurants.

The accommodation price is moderate and the $16 buffet breakfast a nice thing to look forward to in the morning.

Dissappointing things include:
- additional daily costs for underground car parking (not suitable for large vehicles - the parking is quite tight). And there is no internal lift access to the carpark.
- The hotel is due for a face lift in parts with paint peeling in places.
- Despite 2 layers of glass, the noise of the city (party animals and noisy cars) particularly on Friday and Saturday nights, means light sleepers can suffer. Still, it was nice that the hotel staff were able to provide ear plugs upon request which certainly helped.

Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Has a total of 13 floors - all facing out to the harbour. Some are adjoining if that is required. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#38 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Property: Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing